Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-28-2004, 08:25 PM   #1
RudeBoie
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,017
Default Client Lease Time

I'm configuring my Linksys WRT54GS and I was wondering what I should set my Client Lease time (using DHCP) to.
Right now, it's at 0 (0 is for a day, and I think that's the maximum).

What happens when the lease time is up?

"The Client Lease Time is the amount of time a network user will be allowed connection to the Router with their current dynamic IP address. Enter the amount of time, in minutes, that the user will be "leased" this dynamic IP address."

I guess this means that when time's up, my connection will be given a new Dynamic IP? Will that affect my connection at all?

Like if I'm playing a game, and the lease is "up", will my connection die for a little bit and kill me out of my game?

If so, is the only way to avoid problems is to use static IP's?
RudeBoie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 08:39 PM   #2
spidey07
No Lifer
 
spidey07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 65,476
Default Client Lease Time

the DHCP server says "you can have this IP address for <lease time>"

If the DHCP server doesn't hear back from the client during the lease time it will hand out that address to another computer.

in your case the client renews its IP address at half the lease time - so if lease time is a day at 12 hours the client will say - "hey! I'm still using this address and I'd like to keep it for <lease time>

and so on and so forth.

nothing to worry about.
__________________
___
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
spidey07 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 09:16 PM   #3
RudeBoie
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,017
Default Client Lease Time

Thanks!
RudeBoie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.