Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2008, 06:40 PM   #1
BlahBlahYouToo
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12,055
Default HDMI port on panasonic plasma dead??

tried my ps3, tried my upconverting philips dvd player, and finally tried outputting from PC to the plasma. none worked, but they all work on the other HDMI port.
i guess it's warranty time

how does warranty work? it's been under 1 year.
do i call circuit city or panasonic?
will panasonic send a service tech over or do i have to ship?

panasonic th-42px60u
has this ever happened to any other owners?
__________________
3429
BlahBlahYouToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 07:05 PM   #2
Jumpem
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 9,843
Default HDMI port on panasonic plasma dead??

Looks like one year at home service for their current plasmas. Didn't see yours on their site. Check the papers that came with the tv.
Jumpem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 02:35 AM   #3
PurdueRy
Lifer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,831
Default HDMI port on panasonic plasma dead??

If you did not buy the store warranty, then call Panasonic first. If you bought an extended warranty, call the store.

Stores contract out their repair work. They will be able to set you up with the right people to get it fixed.

Panasonic will likely be more difficult to get results out of. They may, at their discretion, tell you to bring it to the store you bought it at for a replacement, have you take it to a service center, or send out a repairman. I have heard of companies doing each of these cases so you won't know for sure until you reach them. Good luck!
PurdueRy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 06:21 AM   #4
Muadib
Lifer
 
Muadib's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: North NJ
Posts: 14,516
Default HDMI port on panasonic plasma dead??

You have in home service on that model for a year. Call 888-843-9788 to make an appointment.
Muadib is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 04:51 PM   #5
BlahBlahYouToo
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12,055
Default HDMI port on panasonic plasma dead??

so apparently, the tech said too much plugging and unplugging of the hdmi cable will cause some of the pins on the board to get damaged.
__________________
3429
BlahBlahYouToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 06:07 AM   #6
s44
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,921
Default HDMI port on panasonic plasma dead??

ahem
s44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 06:38 AM   #7
Muadib
Lifer
 
Muadib's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: North NJ
Posts: 14,516
Default HDMI port on panasonic plasma dead??

Quote:
Originally posted by: BlahBlahYouToo
so apparently, the tech said too much plugging and unplugging of the hdmi cable will cause some of the pins on the board to get damaged.
So what did he do? Did he replace the board?

Muadib is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 02:27 PM   #8
BlahBlahYouToo
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12,055
Default HDMI port on panasonic plasma dead??

Quote:
Originally posted by: Muadib
Quote:
Originally posted by: BlahBlahYouToo
so apparently, the tech said too much plugging and unplugging of the hdmi cable will cause some of the pins on the board to get damaged.
So what did he do? Did he replace the board?
yes, took him 15 minutes to replace.

he said half his service calls are replacing hdmi boards on various plasma/lcd's of all makes.
players are immune to this breakage because they have more "support". didn't make sense to me either but who am i to doubt him. he does this for a living.
__________________
3429
BlahBlahYouToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 11:43 AM   #9
SlickSnake
Diamond Member
 
SlickSnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The Tree Of Knowledge
Posts: 4,744
Default HDMI port on panasonic plasma dead??

SVHS jacks have the same problem as HDMI jacks on TVs. They get lose or bent and stop working.
__________________
"All that we see or seem, is but a dream within a dream."
Edgar Allan Poe


SlickSnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 12:40 PM   #10
Modelworks
Lifer
 
Modelworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 16,237
Default HDMI port on panasonic plasma dead??

Quote:
Originally posted by: BlahBlahYouToo
Quote:
Originally posted by: Muadib
Quote:
Originally posted by: BlahBlahYouToo
so apparently, the tech said too much plugging and unplugging of the hdmi cable will cause some of the pins on the board to get damaged.
So what did he do? Did he replace the board?
yes, took him 15 minutes to replace.

he said half his service calls are replacing hdmi boards on various plasma/lcd's of all makes.
players are immune to this breakage because they have more "support". didn't make sense to me either but who am i to doubt him. he does this for a living.
HDMI is really a poorly designed jack.
I was just leaving the consumer electronics industry when it was being tested.
We had a few cables and interface shipped to us to familiarize us with the design.
I laughed when I plugged in a cable and it almost pulled the interface board sideways.

Its typically a heavy cable with not much to anchor it to the interface, the jack has no real support on the board.
Some of us suggested they use the same connector that vga monitors used DB15 with the screws on each side, but were over ruled because then it wouldn't be 'hot plug' and would be too hard for consumers to use. Their words not mine.


sigh
Modelworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 01:27 PM   #11
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 54,022
Default HDMI port on panasonic plasma dead??

Never understood the need for signal cables to be hot pluggable.
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 02:08 PM   #12
erwos
Diamond Member
 
erwos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4,779
Default HDMI port on panasonic plasma dead??

Quote:
Originally posted by: sdifox
Never understood the need for signal cables to be hot pluggable.
If it's easy to take out, it's easy to put in. And, yeah, it's lame. They should have adapter the four analog pins on the DVI-I connector for audio or something.
__________________
Desktop: Core i7 920, 6gb RAM, Geforce 660, 2x 600gb RAID1
Laptop: Alienware M11x: 1.73ghz, 4gb RAM, Momentus XT 500gb
Consoles: Xbox One, PS4, Xbox 360 Elite, PS3 60gb w/ 160gb HDD, Wii, Gamecube (w/ GBA Player)
Handhelds: PSP Go, PS Vita, 3DS XL, GBA-SP, SGS3, iPhone 4
erwos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 02:26 PM   #13
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 54,022
Default HDMI port on panasonic plasma dead??

Quote:
Originally posted by: erwos
Quote:
Originally posted by: sdifox
Never understood the need for signal cables to be hot pluggable.
If it's easy to take out, it's easy to put in. And, yeah, it's lame. They should have adapter the four analog pins on the DVI-I connector for audio or something.
Last thing I want is connectors that come off easy.
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 12:01 PM   #14
Oyeve
Lifer
 
Oyeve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NYC
Posts: 16,822
Default HDMI port on panasonic plasma dead??

Quote:
Originally posted by: sdifox
Quote:
Originally posted by: erwos
Quote:
Originally posted by: sdifox
Never understood the need for signal cables to be hot pluggable.
If it's easy to take out, it's easy to put in. And, yeah, it's lame. They should have adapter the four analog pins on the DVI-I connector for audio or something.
Last thing I want is connectors that come off easy.
Like SATA connectors? I lost count on how many I broke. I wish they would make new tech connectors stronger.
__________________
My Heat
Oyeve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 02:07 PM   #15
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 54,022
Default HDMI port on panasonic plasma dead??

Quote:
Originally posted by: Oyeve
Quote:
Originally posted by: sdifox
Quote:
Originally posted by: erwos
Quote:
Originally posted by: sdifox
Never understood the need for signal cables to be hot pluggable.
If it's easy to take out, it's easy to put in. And, yeah, it's lame. They should have adapter the four analog pins on the DVI-I connector for audio or something.
Last thing I want is connectors that come off easy.
Like SATA connectors? I lost count on how many I broke. I wish they would make new tech connectors stronger.
SATA is sad, but at least you don't expect to disconnect it all the time and it is supposed to be inside a computer case... HDMI on the other hand...
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.