· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Old 10-07-2004, 06:40 AM   #1
Arkitech
Diamond Member

Default YACT: What would cause an automatic transmission of a car to jerk when shifting gears?

Lately I've noticed that sometimes my car (Dodge Intrepid) jerks a bit when I change from reverse to drive. Any idea of what this means? Does my transmission just need maintenance or trans fluid? Or is it something worse?

Also what does it mean if you hear a grinding noise when shifting gears? (This has'nt happened to me yet but I've heard other cars with that problem)
Arkitech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 07:40 AM   #2
Arkitech
Diamond Member

Default YACT: What would cause an automatic transmission of a car to jerk when shifting gears?

any mechanics out there
Old 10-07-2004, 07:44 AM   #3
MaxFusion16
Golden Member

i'm no mechanic, but the samething happened to my dad's taurus, the car would jerk with a thump, 2 years later, the car's tranny blew on the road.
So i'd say get it checked out ASAP.
MaxFusion16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 08:00 AM   #4
dennisjai215
Banned

it happens when you buy a american car
dennisjai215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 08:03 AM   #5
BW86
Lifer

happened to me, i felt a big jerk everytimg i shifted and i heard grinding gears. i drained the fliud out of my tranny and to my suprise it was running very low. I bought some new fluid pumped it in and it was gone.

BW86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 08:03 AM   #6

Do the standard transmission maintenance.
Old 10-07-2004, 08:06 AM   #7
NuclearNed
Raconteur

recent thread

Check out the link above for more info. A lot of people in that thread had good advice for me.
Old 10-07-2004, 08:15 AM   #8
T2T III
Lifer