Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-24-2004, 03:14 PM   #1
TungFree
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,619
Default how to change from overwrite to insert mode in a text editor

I type 2 fingered, and on occasion I unwitingly hit wrong keys and get into overwrite mode. That is to say, I try to inset text but instead it overwrites the text that follows it rather than insert it.
what causes that and how do I get out of that mode.
__________________
Intel Pentium III Xeon 3166 Mhz
Gigabyte Motherboard GA-EP45-UD3L
3.582 gig Kingston Ram 800Mhz
Antec EA500 EarthWatts series 500W Power Supply
SAMSUNG HD501LJ 500GB SATA 7200 RPM
ZEROtherm BTF90 Copper CPU Cooler
SAMSUNG SH-S203B/BEBN 20X SATA DVD Burner
Raptor WD740ADFD 74GB
Gigabyte GZ-FA1CA-ASB 3D Aurora 570 Aluminum Full Tower Case
TungFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2004, 03:16 PM   #2
MrChad
Lifer
 
MrChad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 13,497
Default RE: how to change from overwrite to insert mode in a text editor

Usually it's the INSERT key on the keyboard.
MrChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2004, 03:52 PM   #3
TungFree
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,619
Default how to change from overwrite to insert mode in a text editor

ooooo
yep yep yep that is exactly what was needed )
Mahalo Plenty ( thanks very much -hawaiian style
__________________
Intel Pentium III Xeon 3166 Mhz
Gigabyte Motherboard GA-EP45-UD3L
3.582 gig Kingston Ram 800Mhz
Antec EA500 EarthWatts series 500W Power Supply
SAMSUNG HD501LJ 500GB SATA 7200 RPM
ZEROtherm BTF90 Copper CPU Cooler
SAMSUNG SH-S203B/BEBN 20X SATA DVD Burner
Raptor WD740ADFD 74GB
Gigabyte GZ-FA1CA-ASB 3D Aurora 570 Aluminum Full Tower Case
TungFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.