Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2008, 12:40 AM   #1
rpenguin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 22
Default E8400 temp problems

Hey,

I just built my new system Saturday.

E8400 stock
Big Typhoon Cooler
Antec 900 Case
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L (with newest bios)
2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1066
BFG 880gt

I had the stock cooler on my e8400 until today. I removed the included heatpad and applied arctic silver 5 instead. I was getting temp's in the bios of 70C.

I check in Core temp and I was getting 70-75 in there as well, and when I run prime95, it would go past 100C to where i would shut it off.

Today I installed the big typhoon expecting a HUGE drop in temps, but I didnt get what I expected. Core temp and bios still reads 70, except now it hardly changes. even while being fully used in prime95, it stays at 69-71. I checked Everest and I was getting the same temps as all my other programs.
~70 core1 and core2
but then the "CPU Temp" was around 22c-25c.


I don't know what else to do. My case has excellent ventilation. My 8800gt runs around 51c under load. Do I have a faulty chip, or should I really believe these ratings. My main purpose in buying this chip was overclocking, but I want to know what my actual temperatures are.

Please help... Thanks!
rpenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 12:47 AM   #2
Tempered81
Diamond Member
 
Tempered81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,351
Default E8400 temp problems

if cpu temp says 22-25 the cores are probably 12 to 18 degrees Celcius higher. At least thats what everest says for me. when cpu temp says 30 core0 core 1 will say 44-45

I keep hearing about a lot of problems reading temps for some people with these chips. As more bioses and coretemp/cpuz/everest/TAT/orthos updates are released, we should see some steady readings. I doubt intel released a huge batch of faulty chips.... I don't ever recall them doing that in the past. (and the push back of the q9xxx series was hardly due to a bug or anything, rather a marketing strategy & rumor hurt competitor sales. The qx9650 has been out for a while problem free.)
My temps i guess read correctly. the only thing i dont like is that i feel the cores are idling higher than they should. 44 to 48 range. core0 & core 1 stay relatively the same (IHS & HSF are lapped) within 1 degree of each other, and they only rise about 15-20C going from idle to 100%load both cores. But i still figured it would idle in the low 30's. but im talking 4000mhz+ here, so maybe if i put it back to 333x9, enabled TM2 Eist and C1e, it would idle at 30C.


Tempered81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 12:57 AM   #3
rpenguin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 22
Default E8400 temp problems

thanks for the reply. here's a SS of everest.
http://img251.imageshack.us/my.php?image=everestzz0.png
rpenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 01:01 AM   #4
Tempered81
Diamond Member
 
Tempered81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,351
Default E8400 temp problems

k, let me show you one of mine

http://picasaweb.google.com/ja...to#5160791171079964418

I happened to be multi tasking at that second i snapped the SS
Tempered81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 02:32 AM   #5
lopri
Elite Member
 
lopri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 9,655
Default E8400 temp problems

Quote:
Originally posted by: rpenguin
thanks for the reply. here's a SS of everest.
http://img251.imageshack.us/my.php?image=everestzz0.png
That doesn't look right. What's the build # of the Everest?
lopri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 02:35 AM   #6
rpenguin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 22
Default E8400 temp problems

version 4.20.1170
rpenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 02:59 AM   #7
lopri
Elite Member
 
lopri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 9,655
Default E8400 temp problems

Have you tried touching the stock Intel HSF? I know it's crap but it should handle the CPU fine at its normal frequency. If your HSF is mounted correctly, it should feel warm-to-hot when the CPU burns like that. To make sure, you could try using a thermal sensor or a thermo-gun. If any of the reading around the CPU goes above 70C with no overclocking, I'd RMA the CPU.
lopri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 03:12 AM   #8
rpenguin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 22
Default E8400 temp problems

I had the intel hsf for 2 days, until the big typhoon came in. I dont have access to a thermal sensor or a gun
rpenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 11:35 AM   #9
rpenguin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 22
Default E8400 temp problems

quick bump since i posted this at 3am
rpenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 01:25 PM   #10
aussiestilgar
Senior Member
 
aussiestilgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 245
Default E8400 temp problems

My E8400 is running warm too. At stock speed with a big NV120 cooler and the fan on max, I was getting 40-45c idle. I OC to 3.6, and under load its getting to 60c. I reseated my cooler thinking it was a bad install, but no change. Its running great though I'm just worried about the temps... I wanna hit 4.0!
aussiestilgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 02:30 PM   #11
bka4u2c
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 551
Default E8400 temp problems

Add me to the list also. I thought something was wrong with my Monsoon II TEC cooler, which it turned out is was(burnt cable). I was getting like 50 idle and 60 under load. So I replaced the TEC cooler with a Tuniq Tower and while my temps did go down, they aren't as low as I thought they would be. Currently at stock FSB/Voltage, I get 45 idle and 52 load. This is on a P5N-T deluxe. I'm not going to worry about it, since it looks like I'm not the only one. Like someone else mentioned its probably the way the temps are being read for these e8400's. I'll just hold off on my overclocking for now.
bka4u2c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 03:08 PM   #12
Xvys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202
Default E8400 temp problems

It seems that many, if not most Wolfdales have flawed core sensor diodes which give false temp. readings, especially at idle and low temps. Many E8400 have "stuck" cores which show much higher idle temps in one core than the other core. That stuck core temp reading only becomes "unstuck" when temps exceed that frozen mark.

Some Wolfdale's are also giving false core LOAD temperatures, which is troubling, especially if you have a temp controlled fan setup. These processors are flawed and probably should be returned (unless it's a great o/c'er). The cpus which have only the "idle temp bug" are probably not warranted a replacement. E8400 owners have been told by some retailers to ignore their core temperature readings as only the cpu temps are accurate.

I don't believe this is a motherboard issue and can be be fixed by an bios update. CoreTemp reads the temp readings right from these core diodes, regardless of the bios.

My first E8400 had 17/34C core temps. Under load, the lower core would increase in temp to match the other core, then they would both go up in unison from there. But what were the real temp readings? I really doubt that one core was 17C (7C below room temp?)

I took that cpu back to my local retailer and he exchanged it without question...with another cpu from the exact same batch! The good news is my new cpu reads 38/36C at idle (4.0GHz) with 47/52C load temps, which I can only assume are more accurate.
Xvys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 03:11 PM   #13
Tempered81
Diamond Member
 
Tempered81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,351
Default E8400 temp problems

I know for a fact at the same 4.0ghz and Vcore I get different coretemp readings for load/idle temps with bios 13,14b05, and 15

So for me, i believe it to be bios... Unless you can link to somewhere showing intel released a faulty batch of processors, I wouldnt speculate so much as to put the blame on intel & start a rumor like that.

Tempered81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 03:20 PM   #14
theclap
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Default E8400 temp problems

I have the EXACT same issues. Last week I replaced an e6600 cooled by a Freezer 7 Pro that idled at 30 degrees celsius and 42 under load, with a e8400 that idles at 52 degrees celsius and is 63 under load... at least this is what coretemp says. The readings from asus probe say it idles at 28 and is 39 under load....

I have replaced heatsink and fan with the stock cooler, applied AS5, replaced again without AS5 and the temperatures are within 2 degrees of the above stated.

I have also experienced some system instability with this processor. With the previous (e6600) my machine would run for weeks of general usage and gaming (CoD4) without a reboot (and it was Oc'd to 3.0GHZ) and now, randomly it will lock up (it's done it 3 times since install of this processor).


I have seen this same thing discussed in numerous forums.

Just saw Xvys post above mine, thanks for the info.


I guess I'll be RMA'ing mine and hopefully get a better one, unless there is some hope of fixing this some other way.


P5N-E SLI (803)
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
8GB A-Data DDR2-800
2x EVGA 8800GT (SLI)
FSP 700W Power Supply (SLI Certified)
theclap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 03:29 PM   #15
Xvys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202
Default E8400 temp problems

I don't claim to be a computer expert, but dozens and dozens of E8400 owners are reporting wonky core temperature readings. If it was just one line of m/b's, say P35's, for instance, that was exhibiting false core readings, then it could be a mb/bios issue. But this issue seems to affect E8400's installed in a wide variety of m/b's.

This bug does not seem to affect cpu performance any, as cpu's with false core temp readings can probably o/c just as fast as other E8400's.

A poster on another site claimed these core diodes were never intended by Intel to be used as thermometers, but were designed to recognize extreme core temps to know when to throttle-down the cpu.
Xvys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 03:36 PM   #16
Tempered81
Diamond Member
 
Tempered81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,351
Default E8400 temp problems

interesting, link?
Tempered81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 03:39 PM   #17
phexac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 266
Default E8400 temp problems

I actually have the same issue with E8400. With the Tuniq Tower attached, it idles at 35 (44 in CoreTemp) and is at 47(58 in CoreTemp) at full load. It runs perfectly fine however OCed to 3.6GHz and completed overnight PRIME95 test. These temperatures are higher than some reported in the reviews, but as long as everything is stable, I see no reason to worry.
__________________
Cooler Master Stacker 830 w/ 2 added side fans
E8400 3.0GHz at 3.6GHz with Tuniq Tower
ASUS P5E X38
Corsair XMS2 2x2GB & 2x1GB (6GB total) DDR1066 5-5-5-18
Power Color ATI HD6970
Western Digital 640GB SATA 3.0
LG 30" W3000H and 20" 204B
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
phexac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 04:26 PM   #18
bka4u2c
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 551
Default E8400 temp problems

I haven't experienced and lock ups or reboots with my e8400 and I've been gaming/benching/working since I put everything together. The only thing I'm concerned about is when I want to start overclocking. I also haven't loaded ASUS probe to check out the temps, I've just been using core temp and CPUID HWM.
bka4u2c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 04:26 PM   #19
rpenguin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 22
Default E8400 temp problems

this is so weird. I actually did a small OC on stock voltage to 3.2 and I was receiving lower core temperatures. instead of the usual constant ~70, it now stays at ~65C idle and under full load. (in coretemp and everest)

I have the lastest bios for the board. F8a. I think it's weird that overclocking it lowered the core temp, but it would still never change more than 1 degree under idle or load.

right now I have it back at stock settings, still idling and loading at 70-71 on both cores, but the "cpu temperature" is at 20 idle 34 load.
rpenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 04:33 PM   #20
Tempered81
Diamond Member
 
Tempered81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,351
Default E8400 temp problems

i've noticed that i can run 4.2ghz load with 1.26 actual vcore and it be at 63C with 1.38 actual vcore it goes above 72C sometimes in dual orthos. But i need the overall higher vcore when testing for stability. the 1.26 causes crashes in Prime95 and 3dmark 06. Eitherway im not as worried about high temps as i am about buggy idle/load temperature readings.

Tempered81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 04:36 PM   #21
lopri
Elite Member
 
lopri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 9,655
Default E8400 temp problems

Well, since the discussion is slightly going off-topic, I'll add mine in this anecdotal database.

According to CoreTemp, my E8400 idle temps are 37/38 on core #0 and core #1, respectively, @3.6GHz. Under load, CoreTemp reading is something like 55/45C. Granted my temps are low because the system is not in a case yet, but what I'm not understanding is 1) the huge difference between the two readings, 2) core 1's idle-load delta is only 7~8C?! At 3.6GHz?

I've checked the mounting a couple times and the contact between the IHS and HSF looks fine. Weird, indeed.
lopri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 04:50 PM   #22
Riverhound777
Platinum Member
 
Riverhound777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,768
Default E8400 temp problems

Quote:
Originally posted by: rpenguin
this is so weird. I actually did a small OC on stock voltage to 3.2 and I was receiving lower core temperatures. instead of the usual constant ~70, it now stays at ~65C idle and under full load. (in coretemp and everest)

I have the lastest bios for the board. F8a. I think it's weird that overclocking it lowered the core temp, but it would still never change more than 1 degree under idle or load.

right now I have it back at stock settings, still idling and loading at 70-71 on both cores, but the "cpu temperature" is at 20 idle 34 load.
Hmmm you may be right. Purhaps we shouldn't even bother looking at core temps on these chips and just look at the CPU temp instead. My CPU temps of 26C idle, 52C load at 4050Mhz would make me feel much better if they were true.
__________________
Case: Antec P182
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
CPU: E8400 at 4050MHz (450x9) 1.296v
RAM: G.Skill 2x2gb DDR2-1000 at 900Mhz 1.9v
Vid Card: EVGA 8800GT
Power Supply: Corsair 520HX
Riverhound777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 04:51 PM   #23
bka4u2c
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 551
Default E8400 temp problems

What is the default voltage for these chips? I think I remember the box saying something like 1.25 or something like that. But leaving my vcore on [auto] reads1.10 in bios and CPUID HWM.
bka4u2c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 04:55 PM   #24
Tempered81
Diamond Member
 
Tempered81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,351
Default E8400 temp problems

I believe load temps on these things at 4000-4200mhz with above avg aftermarket cooling should fall directly into where our results are...

50ish cpu temps and 60-70 core temps.

This is about what everyone is achieving at load, unless they get a wierd "174C temp" or "8C below ambient" reading.

@lopri = your temps look good, except for the 54 45 reading at load for core0 core1

@rpenguin = your temps showing that they went down when you overclocked are obvious signs that it is incorrectly reading the actual core temperatures.

On a side note, Does anyone ever see coretemp reporting different VID's when they flash bioses?

Tempered81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 05:17 PM   #25
Xvys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202
Default E8400 temp problems

I'm sure I read this on several sites, but UncleWebb had some comments about the core temp bug in this thread, (started by a very wise fellow :wink

http://www.xtremesystems.org/f...howthread.php?t=173909

I am getting similar temps to you, lopri, but at 4.05GHz. I'm using the Ultra120 Extreme. 38/36C idle; 51/55 Orthos load; in both CoreTemp and CPUID Hardware Monitor, while SpeedFan reads 5C lower. Intel has not bothered updating their Thermal Analysis Tool for the Wolfdales (TAT), yet. Maybe they can't get it to work either.

While programs like SuperPi will load only one core, it is unusual for there to be a 10C discrepancy in the core temps if both cores are being loaded (Orthos, Prime95). But that is using our trusty old Conroe's as a measuring stick, whose temp readings always seemed rock solid accurate under any conditions (albeit sometimes with a bios/software update). Perhaps these software programs will need a rethink for accurate usage with these tiny Penryn circuits? And do these cpu heatsink/coolers work as consistently when dealing with a tiny wafer in a half-empty tin box? Does it seem that water cooling is yielding some rather high Wolfdale temps?
Xvys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.