Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-28-2004, 01:09 PM   #1
Kelemvor
Lifer
 
Kelemvor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 16,739
Default Set computer name from BIOS on first boot?

When we image our computers at work, we need to have all the computer names get set to whatever the BIOS has as the Service Tag (Dell Laptops).

We currently have a bunch of batch files someone wrote once upon a time that do this but he didn't really know what he was doing when it was written so I'm wondering if there's an easier way.

Anyone know how this can be accomplished by something and incorporated into the image so that the first time the laptop is booted up after being imaged it will go into the BIOS, get the Service Tag number, and then set that as the Computer name in Windows 2000?

Not sure if there's some freebie utilities that can do this or if Sysprep can handle this (no ide ahow it gets setup) or what.

Thanks.
__________________
Take It Outside!!
Kelemvor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2004, 01:39 PM   #2
mikecel79
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,806
Default Set computer name from BIOS on first boot?

Sysprep can do this. However you have to specify a username and password in a clear text file for it to join the domain. I would lock this account down so that it can only add computers to the domain and do nothing else.

The Sysprep documentation explains how to do this.
__________________
Mike | Heatware
mikecel79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 12:10 PM   #3
Kelemvor
Lifer
 
Kelemvor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 16,739
Default RE: Set computer name from BIOS on first boot?

We actually don't need it to get added to the domain or anything else. It's just a simple Computer Rename that we need to do and that's it. However I've never used SysPrep before, I just know the name.

Anywhere that has it for download and real basic instructions on how to use it?
__________________
Take It Outside!!
Kelemvor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.