Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2004, 02:06 AM   #1
HondaF1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 179
Default AMD equivalent of Pentium 4

Hi. What is teh AMD equivalent of the Intel Pentium 4 chip?
HondaF1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 02:17 AM   #2
Shimmishim
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 7,501
Default AMD equivalent of Pentium 4

1. try using the search button first... this topic has been discussed many times before...

from what i hear, the rule is... add 1350 mhz to the amd speed and that's equivalent to a p4 speed.

so a 2.0 ghz amd processor should be equal to a 3350 mhz p4..

this is just a rough estimate and by no means something that is a definite rule...

take what i say very lightly ... k thanks
__________________
Intel i7-3770K @ 4.5GHZ |ASrock Z77 OC Formula | MSI R9 290 | 4x8GB Corsair 1866 | Custom Water Cooling

My Photography
Trading on AT since 2003 152-0-0
Shimmishim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 02:51 AM   #3
PCTweaker5
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,810
Default RE: AMD equivalent of Pentium 4

Hey Shimmishim may I ask why you are only running your Mobile at 2600+? Is it because thats as far as it could go or you are going for a burn in type thing before upping the speed? Thank you!
PCTweaker5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 02:57 AM   #4
Sid59
Lifer
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,851
Default RE: AMD equivalent of Pentium 4

Quote:
Originally posted by: PCTweaker5
Hey Shimmishim may I ask why you are only running your Mobile at 2600+? Is it because thats as far as it could go or you are going for a burn in type thing before upping the speed? Thank you!
his cpu is a 2600+ (1.83 ghz) OC'd to 2600 MHZ. around 800 MHZ overclock. that's pretty good.
Sid59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 03:09 AM   #5
jagec
Lifer
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 24,069
Default RE: AMD equivalent of Pentium 4

Depends on what you mean "equivalent". there's the Athlon XP and the Athlon 64 (well, and the Opteron, but no one really buys one). The Athlon 64 is better and more expensive, the Athlon XP is dirt cheap but not quite as fast.

They are both worthy competitors to the P4 when it comes to games, video encoding still goes to the P4 though.
jagec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 03:18 AM   #6
Zebo
Elite Member
 
Zebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 39,402
Default AMD equivalent of Pentium 4

Quote:
Originally posted by: Shimmishim
1. try using the search button first... this topic has been discussed many times before...

from what i hear, the rule is... add 1350 mhz to the amd speed and that's equivalent to a p4 speed.

so a 2.0 ghz amd processor should be equal to a 3350 mhz p4..

this is just a rough estimate and by no means something that is a definite rule...

take what i say very lightly ... k thanks
Not even close. It can't be a set number. Otherwise a 1 Mhz AthlonXP would = 1351 Mhz P4. It's a percentage which is about 40-65% depending on chip. Some examples.

A Barton is about 40% faster than a P4 at same clock therefore:
Barton 3200 (2.2 x 1.40) = About a 3.1 Ghz P4

A 1mb cached A64 is about 65% faster than a P4 at same clock therefore:
A64 3200 (2.0 x 1.65) = about a 3.3 Ghz P4
__________________
How can President Obama restart an economy that has been moved offshore?

Cheap is more expensive.
Zebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 03:21 AM   #7
Shimmishim
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 7,501
Default AMD equivalent of Pentium 4

Quote:
Originally posted by: Zebo
Quote:
Originally posted by: Shimmishim
1. try using the search button first... this topic has been discussed many times before...

from what i hear, the rule is... add 1350 mhz to the amd speed and that's equivalent to a p4 speed.

so a 2.0 ghz amd processor should be equal to a 3350 mhz p4..

this is just a rough estimate and by no means something that is a definite rule...

take what i say very lightly ... k thanks
Not even close. It can't be a set number. Otherwise a 1 Mhz AthlonXP would = 1351 Mhz P4. It's a percentage which is about 40-65% depending on chip. Some examples.

A Barton is about 40% faster than a P4 at same clock therefore:
Barton 3200 (2.2 x 1.40) = About a 3.1 Ghz P4

A 1mb cached A64 is about 65% faster than a P4 at same clock therefore:
A64 3200 (2.0 x 1.65) = about a 3.3 Ghz P4
eh... close enough 2.0 ghz amd = 3.3 ghz p4.... hehehe...

like i said, take what i say lightly.. it's only what i heard...

and i am running my 2500+ @ 2.6 ghz because i'm waiting to get a prommy mounting kit so i can run the beast at 2.8+ ghz...
__________________
Intel i7-3770K @ 4.5GHZ |ASrock Z77 OC Formula | MSI R9 290 | 4x8GB Corsair 1866 | Custom Water Cooling

My Photography
Trading on AT since 2003 152-0-0
Shimmishim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 03:23 AM   #8
Algere
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,157
Default AMD equivalent of Pentium 4

for what model/family?
Algere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 03:37 AM   #9
Zebo
Elite Member
 
Zebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 39,402
Default AMD equivalent of Pentium 4

Quote:
Originally posted by: Shimmishim
Quote:
Originally posted by: Zebo
Quote:
Originally posted by: Shimmishim
1. try using the search button first... this topic has been discussed many times before...

from what i hear, the rule is... add 1350 mhz to the amd speed and that's equivalent to a p4 speed.

so a 2.0 ghz amd processor should be equal to a 3350 mhz p4..

this is just a rough estimate and by no means something that is a definite rule...

take what i say very lightly ... k thanks
Not even close. It can't be a set number. Otherwise a 1 Mhz AthlonXP would = 1351 Mhz P4. It's a percentage which is about 40-65% depending on chip. Some examples.

A Barton is about 40% faster than a P4 at same clock therefore:
Barton 3200 (2.2 x 1.40) = About a 3.1 Ghz P4

A 1mb cached A64 is about 65% faster than a P4 at same clock therefore:
A64 3200 (2.0 x 1.65) = about a 3.3 Ghz P4
eh... close enough 2.0 ghz amd = 3.3 ghz p4.... hehehe...

like i said, take what i say lightly.. it's only what i heard...

and i am running my 2500+ @ 2.6 ghz because i'm waiting to get a prommy mounting kit so i can run the beast at 2.8+ ghz...

Ya that 1350 figure works pretty well for the a64 at that speed. But does'nt work so well for the Tbreds or Bartons nor higher speed A64's where the number will grow.
__________________
How can President Obama restart an economy that has been moved offshore?

Cheap is more expensive.
Zebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 11:42 AM   #10
TStep
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,423
Default AMD equivalent of Pentium 4

I think AMD was using a formula for AMD XP cpus, maybe:

((actual speed) x 1.5) - (a factor for fsb and cache)

Factor:
133 fsb and 256k L2 ..... subtract 500
166 fsb and 512k L2 ..... subtract 200
200 fsb and 512k L2 ..... subtract 100


ie:

(1466mhz x 1.5) - 500 = 1699 ie AMDXP 1700+ TBred Core

(1833mhz x 1.5) - 200 = 2550 ie AMDXP 2500+ Barton Core

(2200mhz x 1.5) - 100 = 3200 ie AMDXP 3200+ Barton Core

I think it is a fairly accurate approximation at lower speeds, but not the higher ones. AMD gives the higher fsb and L2 cache too much benefit in my opinion.

I think something like:

((actual speed) x 1.5) - (factor fsb + factor L2 cache size) is more accurate in the broad scheme.

factors being:

256k ....... 300
512k ....... 200

133 fsb ...... 200
166 fsb ...... 150
200 fsb ...... 100

ie:

(1466mhz x 1.5) - (200 + 300) = 1700 for a 1700+

(1833mhz x 1.5) - (150 + 200) = 2400 for a 2500+

(2200mhz x 1.5) - (100 + 200) = 3000 for a 3200+

Just my opinion, but I think it closer approximates benchmark results.
__________________
my Heat
TStep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 12:23 PM   #11
Hyperlite
Diamond Member
 
Hyperlite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 5,667
Default RE: AMD equivalent of Pentium 4

in short, dollar for dollar, AMD owns intel
__________________
"improper using it may cause your system broken."-P965-S3 users manual.
Hyperlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 12:52 PM   #12
Zebo
Elite Member
 
Zebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 39,402
Default AMD equivalent of Pentium 4

Quote:
Originally posted by: TStep
I think AMD was using a formula for AMD XP cpus, maybe:

((actual speed) x 1.5) - (a factor for fsb and cache)

Factor:
133 fsb and 256k L2 ..... subtract 500
166 fsb and 512k L2 ..... subtract 200
200 fsb and 512k L2 ..... subtract 100


ie:

(1466mhz x 1.5) - 500 = 1699 ie AMDXP 1700+ TBred Core

(1833mhz x 1.5) - 200 = 2550 ie AMDXP 2500+ Barton Core

(2200mhz x 1.5) - 100 = 3200 ie AMDXP 3200+ Barton Core

I think it is a fairly accurate approximation at lower speeds, but not the higher ones. AMD gives the higher fsb and L2 cache too much benefit in my opinion.

I think something like:

((actual speed) x 1.5) - (factor fsb + factor L2 cache size) is more accurate in the broad scheme.

factors being:

256k ....... 300
512k ....... 200

133 fsb ...... 200
166 fsb ...... 150
200 fsb ...... 100

ie:

(1466mhz x 1.5) - (200 + 300) = 1700 for a 1700+

(1833mhz x 1.5) - (150 + 200) = 2400 for a 2500+

(2200mhz x 1.5) - (100 + 200) = 3000 for a 3200+

Just my opinion, but I think it closer approximates benchmark results.

I assume in this thread we are talking about the "real slim shady" aka PIV Northwood with quad pumped 200Mhz bus. When introduced those barton and t-bread number were/are highly exagerated. The only accurate PR ratings are from the 1MB cahced A64's now. But I like your shema better because it does account of Cache and FSB benefits the AMD line offers. But again adding and subtracting do not work bacause it does'nt account for different speeds. A mulitplier would serve better and preserve linear relationships at different speeds.

ie

(AMD x 1.5) * ( X for FSB + Y for Cache) = Z
__________________
How can President Obama restart an economy that has been moved offshore?

Cheap is more expensive.
Zebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 03:38 PM   #13
Sheriff
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,182
Default RE: AMD equivalent of Pentium 4

Quote:
Originally posted by: Hyperlite
in short, dollar for dollar, AMD owns intel
I don't want to start a flame thread here because I use both AMD and Intel but apparently you don't do much MultiMedia Encoding. A 2.8GHz P4 that'll run @ 3.5+GHz runs appx $160US and AMD can't own it for the price. MHz vs MHz then AMD may seem like a better buy because of their ratings, it's just to bad that Socket A won't hit 3GHz on Air.
Sheriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.