Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > Off Topic

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-11-2004, 08:02 PM   #1
Epoman
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,985
Default So why does my DVR have a USB IN port on the front.

?

would I be able to send video from my computer to the HD to play back or does it work like a pass through?

Example would I be able to watch video files I have on my computer through my DVR on my TV?
Epoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2004, 08:03 PM   #2
Ness
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 5,407
Default So why does my DVR have a USB IN port on the front.

For the same reason the PS2 does.

For no real reason at all.


It could be that you can do firmware updated with it, or that you can somehow transfer files, but usually these methods require doing things that void your warranty.
Ness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2004, 08:21 PM   #3
Epoman
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,985
Default So why does my DVR have a USB IN port on the front.

Well its right next to the Composite in's so it must be a input.
Epoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2004, 08:32 PM   #4
Nohr
Diamond Member
 
Nohr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 7,106
Default RE: So why does my DVR have a USB IN port on the front.

Perhaps for plugging up a digital camera of some sort.
__________________
Does the noise in my head bother you?
Flickr | PCs | HT | K6Plus
Nohr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2004, 09:24 PM   #5
ApacheXMD
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 2,765
Default So why does my DVR have a USB IN port on the front.

Quote:
Originally posted by: Ness
For the same reason the PS2 does.

For no real reason at all.


It could be that you can do firmware updated with it, or that you can somehow transfer files, but usually these methods require doing things that void your warranty.

there are peripherals that plug into the USB port on a PS2

-patchy
ApacheXMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2004, 09:30 PM   #6
Gunbuster
Diamond Member
 
Gunbuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 6,201
Default So why does my DVR have a USB IN port on the front.

might help if you tell us the brand and model
__________________
Committee for the Liberation and Integration of Terrifying Organisms and their Rehabilitation Into Society
Gunbuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2004, 10:11 PM   #7
bsobel
Moderator Emeritus
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 13,350
Default So why does my DVR have a USB IN port on the front.

Quote:
Originally posted by: Epoman
Well its right next to the Composite in's so it must be a input.
That's a big assumption. As asked, brand & model....
Bill
bsobel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2004, 10:19 PM   #8
Fiveohhh
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,776
Default RE: So why does my DVR have a USB IN port on the front.

replaytv 5xxx have a usb port, but they don't do anything probably just there incase they decide to implement something later
__________________
My Heat
Fiveohhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2004, 10:21 PM   #9
RossMAN
Grand Nagus
 
RossMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 74,629
Default So why does my DVR have a USB IN port on the front.

Quote:
Originally posted by: Gunbuster
might help if you tell us the brand and model
http://forums.anandtech.com/messagev...readid=1303889
__________________
Do you know Rule 813?
RossMAN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2004, 10:34 PM   #10
loup garou
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 35,135
Default RE: So why does my DVR have a USB IN port on the front.

For no reason for the consumer. Both my digital cableboxes have usb ports that do nothing. They may be used at the distro center to register them on the specific cableco's network, though.
loup garou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.