Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2008, 04:31 PM   #1
Cr0nJ0b
Senior Member
 
Cr0nJ0b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 954
Default RAID AAR-2830SA 128MB Card

I'm looking for specs on this card, and can't find anything online.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68-V Pro, 4 x 4GB DDR (1600MHz) Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9B
i5 3570K stock speed, XFX HD6870 Radeon ; 1 x 180GB Intel SSD G2 SATAII in JBOD (Boot)
4 X 750GB SATAII RAID0 (Storage); DVD-RW(SATA) , CD-RW (IDE) OptiArc
Cr0nJ0b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 02:06 PM   #2
Cr0nJ0b
Senior Member
 
Cr0nJ0b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 954
Default RAID AAR-2830SA 128MB Card

wow, no one has seen this?
__________________
ASUS P8Z68-V Pro, 4 x 4GB DDR (1600MHz) Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9B
i5 3570K stock speed, XFX HD6870 Radeon ; 1 x 180GB Intel SSD G2 SATAII in JBOD (Boot)
4 X 750GB SATAII RAID0 (Storage); DVD-RW(SATA) , CD-RW (IDE) OptiArc
Cr0nJ0b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 04:18 PM   #3
Sheninat0r
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 464
Default RAID AAR-2830SA 128MB Card

Apparently not - who is the manufacturer?
__________________
...with a crowbar.
Sheninat0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 05:53 PM   #4
Fullmetal Chocobo
Moderator
Distributed Computing
 
Fullmetal Chocobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 13,684
Default RAID AAR-2830SA 128MB Card

Quote:
Originally posted by: Sheninat0r
Apparently not - who is the manufacturer?
Adaptec. But that was the most I could find out about it.
__________________
Official member of the ATOT NightCrew
Official member of Team Anandtech
My crunching stats
TeAm Anandtech Blog
You have too much time on your hands Fullmetal Chocobo.
AnandTech Moderator
Fullmetal Chocobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 10:08 PM   #5
axemann
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default RAID AAR-2830SA 128MB Card

I'm having the same issue. Got 4 of these guys from a dude on Ebay. They seem to be very close cousins to the Adaptec RAID 3805 (that's the driver that XP installed, anyway...) The card definitely has a different layout than the 3805, but seems to be the same basic specs. Not sure if it supports Online Capacity Expansion, though. But hey... For $80 + shipping, I can't b!tch too much...
axemann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 11:53 PM   #6
jackwhitter
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,048
Default RAID AAR-2830SA 128MB Card

from slides in 2006 that adaptec had, this card looks to be only a SATA raid card and based on the aic-8210 asic (same raid engine as the 2820sa.. matches up with the model numbers too.)

@axemann,
do your cards work? what kind of speed? any driver troubles? the 3800 series uses intel's sas/sata raid risc processors. this would be very different from adaptec's 8210 asic. i tested the 2420 and 2820 and they were solid raid cards for sata (great bios, good software, moderate performance, raid 5 worked well.. tested degraded too.)

links:
http://stor.chinaitlab.com/news/472706.html

http://64.233.167.104/search?q...gl=us&client=firefox-a
__________________
People are generally unintelligent. Once you realize this, life becomes a comedy.



email me at drew`789`a`t`yahoo`.`com (remove the `)
jackwhitter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 12:28 AM   #7
axemann
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default RAID AAR-2830SA 128MB Card

So far, only one out of the 4 seems to "work". One I tested had a bad port #1, the other one had a b0rked BIOS/firmware... The last one, interestingly enough, has no heatsink, so I didn't strap it in to test it (these babies get pretty warm from what I can tell...), but the XOR/processor is actually made by Vitesse (the VSC7250XHL).

I was fooling around tonight and nuked Linux off of my soon-to-be media server, and strapped Server 2k3 on it. I had made a custom install CD with Bashrat-the-Sneaky's Driverpacks (www.driverpacks.net), and it installed the drivers again as an Adaptec RAID 3805 (same as before). I did a little detective work and found out that the drivers got installed from one of the IBM directories contained in the Driverpacks. I've since been poring over the 'Net trying to find out some more information related to that, but no luck so far... Trust me, though, I'll keep looking... More updates later...
axemann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 03:19 AM   #8
Blain
Lifer
 
Blain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: SW Indiana
Posts: 23,081
Default RAID AAR-2830SA 128MB Card


What's up with ebay sellers having to replace multiple hardware based RAID cards?
This is not the first time I've heard of multiple returns from ebay sellers.
The other 4 card merry-go-round were LSI cards.

I guess if the cards are "system pulls" you take your chances.
__________________
USA...
Too many delicate hothouse flowers
Blain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 10:00 AM   #9
jackwhitter
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,048
Default RAID AAR-2830SA 128MB Card

i've had good luck reflashing cards like that with working firmware from other good card (they can still be flashed even if the card won't "boot"). stick a heatsink on the one missing a heatsink, and try her out.

any word on performance, bios, or adaptec software working with the card? thanks!

//edit

in what pcie slots does this work? the vitesse quick specs indicate the card will work in x1 through x8 slots (open ended x1, x2, or x4 slots.)

and xor processor spec:

"The MIPS64 5Kc is a high-performance, synthesizeable 64-bit RISC processor core optimized for low-power, battery-operated, system-on-a-chip and ASIC applications. Featuring a peak clock frequency of 310 MHz (0.13 micron process), the 5Kc core consumes just 0.5 mW/MHz. The 5Kc features a six-stage pipeline with branch control and single-cycle execution for most instructions, a co-processor interface, a 64-entry MMU, and up to 64 kbytes each of 4-way set-associative cache."
__________________
People are generally unintelligent. Once you realize this, life becomes a comedy.



email me at drew`789`a`t`yahoo`.`com (remove the `)
jackwhitter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 10:11 AM   #10
jackwhitter
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,048
Default RAID AAR-2830SA 128MB Card

it installed from the ibm directory because the ibm ServeRAID 8k uses the same vitesse asic:

http://developer.novell.com/yes/83887.htm
__________________
People are generally unintelligent. Once you realize this, life becomes a comedy.



email me at drew`789`a`t`yahoo`.`com (remove the `)
jackwhitter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 08:21 AM   #11
naro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Default RAID AAR-2830SA 128MB Card

Hmm.. so this is another version of Adaptec 3805SAS??

i'm a bit tempted to try this out. However, has anyone managed to update the firmware of the card??
naro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.