Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2004, 02:02 AM   #1
Semidevil
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,989
Default right click "my computer" > properties....NOTHING!

so when I right click my "my computer" icon, and select "properties," nothing happens.

I see the hour glass turn for a few moments, but after that....nothing comes up.........as if I didnt' do anything.

I then try to go there through the control panel, but same thing....

other icons work well.

and when I restart or shut down, it gives me a box w/ a "program that is not responding" message.

anybody know what is wrong? new virus? everything is already updated on my pc....

this is xp home
Semidevil is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 02:49 AM   #2
Pilsnerpete
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,060
Default RE:right click "my computer" > properties....NOTHING!

Go to Device Manager and see if you have any conflicts.

Sorry, it's hard to resist those sometimes. Here's a couple shots in the shadows. Try to think of what you did recently. Any new hardware or drivers? Disable onboard peripherals, if equipped, one by one, with reboots between to check on it. If it still doesn't come up, take out all PCI cards but the NIC or modem, and try again.

I have been known to make mistakes...from time to time. I could be totally off.
Pilsnerpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.