Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2007, 02:37 PM   #1
crasheren
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 79
Default ibm t60 cpu upgrade

hello to all and a merry christmas

i was wondering if my ibm t60 which has a t2400 core duo processor, can be replaced with a core 2 duo processor ? i havent been able to find anything about it so im hoping some of you guys knows it

both cpu's has the same socket so if it isnt possible it should be the motherboard not supporting c2d
__________________
i live for joy
crasheren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 04:18 PM   #2
Throckmorton
Lifer
 
Throckmorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16,576
Default ibm t60 cpu upgrade

I don't think it's worth it
__________________
K&N air filter = 45x as much dirt in your engine (working link)
http://i52.tinypic.com/50lf0y.gif
"It has already been proven that the concept of a "living wage" is a liberal fantasy." - Patranus
Throckmorton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 02:22 AM   #3
crasheren
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 79
Default ibm t60 cpu upgrade

as much as i appreciate your personal aspect in regards to my question, it doenst answer my question
__________________
i live for joy
crasheren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 12:29 AM   #4
TC91
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,164
Default ibm t60 cpu upgrade

yah, the cpu should be upgradable to a core 2 duo, but only the ones with the 533-667mhz fsb, not the new 800mhz fsb santa rosa chips. core 2 was pretty much a drop in upgrade for core duo, as they used the same socket like you stated, but the motherboards for the core duo's only support fsb speeds up to 667mhz. so basically you can only upgrade to the t5xxx series (there are a couple t5x70 that are 800mhz fsb i believe), or t7200, t7400, t7600, or the t7600G. the t7200 and higher are pretty expensive however. they are about 300cad for the t7200, 400-500cad for the t7400, and 600+cad for the t7600. the t7600G is a multiplier unlocked version of the t7600, but i dont think you would need it, not sure if your bios would support the mulitplier overclocking anyways. the core 2 duo's pretty much add 64bit support and a little more performance clock for clock compared with the core duo.
__________________
QX6850 | TRUE Black 120 + 2*GELID Wing 12 Pl Push/Pull
EP45-UD3R | 8GB Kingston HyperX PC2-8500
EVGA GTX 285 | Dell UltraSharp U2311H
Asus Xonar D2 | Logitech Z-5500
Corsair F40 | Intel X25-M 160GB G2
2*7200.12 500GB RAID 1 | 2*WD 1TB Green RAID 1 | Asus DRW-1814BLT
Lian Li PC-7FW | Enermax MODU82+ 625W | Windows 7 Professional x64
TC91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 09:32 AM   #5
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 23,500
Default ibm t60 cpu upgrade

My T60 has a Core2Duo in it - that's the way I ordered it. I don't see Lenovo using a separate or different mobo in one line, so my guess is yes.
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

"We all have private ails. The troublemakers are they who need public cures for their private ails." - Eric Hoffer
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 12:10 PM   #6
Throckmorton
Lifer
 
Throckmorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16,576
Default ibm t60 cpu upgrade

Quote:
Originally posted by: TC91
the core 2 duo's pretty much add 64bit support and a little more performance clock for clock compared with the core duo.
I just found out yesterday that Core 2 is 64 bit but Core isn't. So it would be worth it if you want 64 bit
__________________
K&N air filter = 45x as much dirt in your engine (working link)
http://i52.tinypic.com/50lf0y.gif
"It has already been proven that the concept of a "living wage" is a liberal fantasy." - Patranus
Throckmorton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 01:56 PM   #7
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 23,500
Default ibm t60 cpu upgrade

That statement can be misinterpreted. What it means is that Core2Duo can handle 64 bit, but it is not mandatory. It handles 32 bit beautifully as well.

The value sort depends on whether or not you can sell the CoreDuo, and what the net delta would be weighed against real and potential gains in performance.

But all bloviating aside, the basic answer to the OP's question is "Yes."

__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

"We all have private ails. The troublemakers are they who need public cures for their private ails." - Eric Hoffer
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 03:22 PM   #8
DarkThinker
Platinum Member
 
DarkThinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,823
Default ibm t60 cpu upgrade

I upgraded my ThinkPad T60 (1953-D7U) from a Core Duo to a Core 2 Duo. It was a simple upgrade (granted you are familiar with taking all of your laptop apart). I was switching from Fedora 7 32-bit to Fedora 8 64-bit, plus I wanted the doubled cache (4MB) and the extras that come with it. I went from a T2300 to a T7200 667MHZ. I got it for $80 cheaper on Ebay (lucky snipe) than what NewEgg.com had it for!
I definitely think it was a worthwhile because I did notice a decent performance boost on my media encoding, Games, file extraction and compression...etc

HOWEVER, things to keep in mind:

1- This might probably void your warranty even if your laptop doesn't get damaged in the process or due to the upgrade.
Let's just say after you do the upgrade, maybe you might want to keep the older CPU hanging around...to ward off evil spirits

2- You need to upgrade your T60 to the latest BIOS version available before you upgrade...why? Well it's because Core 2 Duo support comes with later BIOS versions (I think that's 2.01 and above ?)
__________________
The Fedora Project: Because proper computing, is free computing!

You cannot defeat an ideology by force. You have to fight ideas with ideas.

Peace, Propaganda and the Promised Land: Media & the Israel-Palestine Conflict
DarkThinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.