Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-25-2003, 11:21 PM   #1
xenolith
Golden Member
 
xenolith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,580
Default Does CMOS Battery recharge?

#1 mobo, EP-8RDA3+, unused for the past six months and has a dead CMOS battery (keeps getting checksum errrors.)

#2 mobo, two years old, went the last year without being plugged in, and the battery was dead when put in the EP-8RDA3+.

#3 mobo, very old (4 yrs old) that I use once a month, has always been plugged in, and has never given me problems. Battery solved the checksum error when put in the EP-8RDA3+.

Is this proof that the CMOS battery recharges as long as the system is plugged into an outlet?
__________________
heatware
xenolith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2003, 01:38 AM   #2
pspada
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,503
Default RE:Does CMOS Battery recharge?

Nope, the batteries do not recharge on any system I've seen. but they may discharge if not used for an extended period of time, and possibly even corrode, leading to failure.
pspada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2003, 03:41 AM   #3
Peter
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 9,640
Default RE: Does CMOS Battery recharge?

No. It's a battery.

It's just that it doesn't get USED while the machine is On. "On" also includes the pseudo-Off state an ATX machine is in after you pushed the power button.
Peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2003, 09:48 AM   #4
xenolith
Golden Member
 
xenolith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,580
Default RE:Does CMOS Battery recharge?

Thanks guys. I guess either way, it looks like I'll have to note the bios settings and take the batteries out so the they won't drain from now on.
__________________
heatware
xenolith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2003, 09:53 AM   #5
Peter
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 9,640
Default RE: Does CMOS Battery recharge?

Just do what the Taiwanese do before shipping the boards: Move the "CMOS Clear" jumper to the "Clear" position. That'll disconnect the battery.
Peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2003, 10:05 AM   #6
xenolith
Golden Member
 
xenolith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,580
Default RE:Does CMOS Battery recharge?

hmm... good idea.
__________________
heatware
xenolith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.