Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Cases & Cooling

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2003, 08:50 PM   #1
scrubman
Senior Member
 
scrubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 695
Default how to make cpu fan always run at max speed

i have an Arctic Cooling super silent pro and i think i just want to make this thing run at max speed constantly... is there a way to do that with multi speed fans contolled by a heat sensor? i can see the sensor in the fins of the heatsink... thanks for any help!
__________________
2600k @ 4.6GHz / Asrock Xtreme 4 / Tunic Tower / 8GB Ripjaws X 1600 9-9-9-24 1T / Corsair HX750W / Samsung 840 Pro SSD / Samsung F3 2x 1TB Matrix RAID / eVGA SC GTX570 / Cooler Master HAF 912 / Win7 Ultimate x64 / MyEvals
scrubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2003, 02:50 AM   #2
Overkast
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 337
Default RE:how to make cpu fan always run at max speed

1) Get a 3-pin to 4-pin adapter.

2) Plug the fan into the 3-pin side.

3) Plug the 4-pin side into one of the regular 12v HD/CD-ROM 4-pin power plugs.

*If your power supply comes with 4-pin "Fan Only" plugs, don't use them. They are also sensor controlled. But the 4-pin plugs for the IDE devices are a full 12v and that should work fine.

I had the same dilemma trying to keep my coolermaster LED fans lit without pulsating (they pulsate when fan speeds are less than 100% throttle). The only way to do that was to keep them at full blast constantly, so this was the workaround that worked for me.

Good luck.
Overkast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2003, 08:54 AM   #3
scrubman
Senior Member
 
scrubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 695
Default RE:how to make cpu fan always run at max speed

thank you so much!! i will see if that works for me as soon as i get my new mobo and cpu... i burned them both up just from changing the heatsink/fan... all i wanted was to make it a little bit quieter... im not exactly sure how that happened but i think that the new heatsink wasnt seated 100% on the cpu core... owell, first time for everything...
__________________
2600k @ 4.6GHz / Asrock Xtreme 4 / Tunic Tower / 8GB Ripjaws X 1600 9-9-9-24 1T / Corsair HX750W / Samsung 840 Pro SSD / Samsung F3 2x 1TB Matrix RAID / eVGA SC GTX570 / Cooler Master HAF 912 / Win7 Ultimate x64 / MyEvals
scrubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2003, 09:26 PM   #4
Overkast
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 337
Default RE:how to make cpu fan always run at max speed

You're welcome. Hope it works out for ya.

Keep me posted.
Overkast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 09:04 PM   #5
scrubman
Senior Member
 
scrubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 695
Default RE:how to make cpu fan always run at max speed

i dont think that will help because the fan speed is controlled by the heat sensor, not the voltage from the power connector... i was thinking what would happen if i cut the sensor off and shorted the 2 wires together??
__________________
2600k @ 4.6GHz / Asrock Xtreme 4 / Tunic Tower / 8GB Ripjaws X 1600 9-9-9-24 1T / Corsair HX750W / Samsung 840 Pro SSD / Samsung F3 2x 1TB Matrix RAID / eVGA SC GTX570 / Cooler Master HAF 912 / Win7 Ultimate x64 / MyEvals
scrubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2003, 03:04 PM   #6
Overkast
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 337
Default RE:how to make cpu fan always run at max speed

No, I'm saying bypass all the heat sensor sockets on the motherboard altogether.

Just plug the fans directly into the 12v 4-pin plugs wired directly to the power supply.

You know, the plugs you would normally use to power your IDE devices. Just get a bunch of Y-splitters and hook up all the fans to one 12v 4-pin plug.
Overkast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2003, 03:06 PM   #7
scrubman
Senior Member
 
scrubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 695
Default RE:how to make cpu fan always run at max speed

whats a heat sensor socket on the motherboard??

anyway, i cut the sensor off the fan and shorted the 2 wires... it runs full speed and is still pretty quiet!!

thanks for you help anyway!
__________________
2600k @ 4.6GHz / Asrock Xtreme 4 / Tunic Tower / 8GB Ripjaws X 1600 9-9-9-24 1T / Corsair HX750W / Samsung 840 Pro SSD / Samsung F3 2x 1TB Matrix RAID / eVGA SC GTX570 / Cooler Master HAF 912 / Win7 Ultimate x64 / MyEvals
scrubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2003, 03:28 PM   #8
Overkast
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 337
Default RE:how to make cpu fan always run at max speed

Oh, ok then. Rock on!

By heat sensor socket, I meant the actual 3-pin fan sockets built into the mobo. They're usually sensor-controlled.
Overkast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2003, 03:33 PM   #9
scrubman
Senior Member
 
scrubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 695
Default RE:how to make cpu fan always run at max speed

oh, i didnt think they were...

thanks..
__________________
2600k @ 4.6GHz / Asrock Xtreme 4 / Tunic Tower / 8GB Ripjaws X 1600 9-9-9-24 1T / Corsair HX750W / Samsung 840 Pro SSD / Samsung F3 2x 1TB Matrix RAID / eVGA SC GTX570 / Cooler Master HAF 912 / Win7 Ultimate x64 / MyEvals
scrubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.