Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2007, 03:20 PM   #1
Special K
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 7,032
Default HDMI cable - category 1 vs category 2?

I did a search on here and didn't find anything specifically addressing this. Here is what Monoprice says:

Question: What is Category 2?

Answer: Recently, HDMI Licensing, LLC announced that cables would be tested as Standard or High-Speed cables.

Standard (or ?category 1?) cables have been tested to perform at speeds of 75Mhz, which is the equivalent of a 1080i signal.

High-Speed (or ?category 2?) cables have been tested to perform at speeds of 340Mhz, which is the highest bandwidth currently available over an HDMI cable and can successfully handle 1080p signals including those at increased color depths and/or increased refresh rates. High-Speed cables are also able to accommodate higher resolution displays, such as WQXGA cinema monitors (resolution of 2560 x 1600).

It is possible for a cable to pass a 1080p signal and 1.3 extended bandwidth signal without being Category 2. These cables would have bandwidth that are beyond category 1 but below category 2. Most of our non-category 2 cables perform in this range.


Having said that, is there any reason to actually buy the category 2 instead of the category 1? I only need a 3 ft cable, and the category 2's only come in 6 ft. or 10 ft. varieties. The category 2 is only a few dollars more, but since my components are so close together on the same TV stand, I figured the 3 ft. cable would probably be best to eliminate cable/connector strain. Plus all of the "normal" colored category 2 cables are out of stock right now. I have a Sharp Aquos LC46D64U and a Toshiba HD-A3 HD-DVD player.

Having said that, is there any reason for me to get one of the category 2 cables, or is it just a gimmick?
Special K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 04:25 PM   #2
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 53,403
Default HDMI cable - category 1 vs category 2?

Your A3 does not do 1080p, so just get cat 1. for short runs, they are not different. Just so you know, I have the same player hooked up to a Optoma HD6800 and I tried 1080o and 720p, using the cheap 15' moniprice hdmi cable this one

and everything is fine.

Are you talking about CL2? That is fire retardancy rating, nothing to do with the performance of the cable.

http://www.audioholics.com/edu...nd-audio-cable-ratings
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 10:55 AM   #3
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 53,403
Default HDMI cable - category 1 vs category 2?

Your A3 does not do 1080p, so just get cat 1. for short runs, they are not different. Just so you know, I have the same player hooked up to a Optoma HD6800 and I tried 1080o and 720p, using the cheap 15' moniprice hdmi cable this one

and everything is fine.

Are you talking about CL2? That is fire retardancy rating, nothing to do with the performance of the cable.

http://www.audioholics.com/edu...nd-audio-cable-ratings



reposting to bump.
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 11:21 AM   #4
spidey07
No Lifer
 
spidey07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 65,361
Default HDMI cable - category 1 vs category 2?

If they are truly testing and certifying the cable, which is an excellent idea then I'd be sure to get the higher rating.
__________________
___
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
spidey07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 12:37 PM   #5
Special K
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 7,032
Default HDMI cable - category 1 vs category 2?

Quote:
Originally posted by: sdifox
Your A3 does not do 1080p, so just get cat 1. for short runs, they are not different. Just so you know, I have the same player hooked up to a Optoma HD6800 and I tried 1080o and 720p, using the cheap 15' moniprice hdmi cable this one

and everything is fine.

Are you talking about CL2? That is fire retardancy rating, nothing to do with the performance of the cable.

http://www.audioholics.com/edu...nd-audio-cable-ratings



reposting to bump.
No, it is not CL2. See the description in my OP as to what they claim is the difference between category 1 and category 2.
Special K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 09:52 AM   #6
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 53,403
Default HDMI cable - category 1 vs category 2?

Quote:
Originally posted by: Special K
Quote:
Originally posted by: sdifox
Your A3 does not do 1080p, so just get cat 1. for short runs, they are not different. Just so you know, I have the same player hooked up to a Optoma HD6800 and I tried 1080o and 720p, using the cheap 15' moniprice hdmi cable this one

and everything is fine.

Are you talking about CL2? That is fire retardancy rating, nothing to do with the performance of the cable.

http://www.audioholics.com/edu...nd-audio-cable-ratings



reposting to bump.
No, it is not CL2. See the description in my OP as to what they claim is the difference between category 1 and category 2.
Like I said, unless you are talking about in wall CL2, any cat 1 cable will work.
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.