Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2003, 07:30 PM   #1
Locke
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,131
Default Comcast vs a linksys BEFSR41 router.

Bah, I can't seem to get my comcast service working with my router.(I'm in the Northwest) Modem to computer configuration is fine, but no go with the router. (I want to connect two computers) I read through the other thread, but had a few questions. How do I find the Mac address if my NIC, and then how do I clone it? Any other things I can do? I'm not very experienced with networking. Thanks!
Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 01:41 AM   #2
Schola
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NWI Indiana
Posts: 1,478
Default RE: Comcast vs a linksys BEFSR41 router.

To find the mac address of your nic assuming windows 2000/XP.
1. Open a command prompt
2. type ipconfig /alll
3. the physical address listed is your nics mac address

To clone it you have to go into the router configuration page
1. Typically 192.168.1.1
2. Go to the advanced options page (yellow tab in upper right hand corner)
3. go to Mac addr. Clone page (6th one from the list in the tabs)
4. Enter mac address to be cloned.

I didn't have to do this for my comcast area(Western Michigan), but hopefully what I have told you will help

Schola

__________________
Only with the realizations of what we share with our enemies is greater than that of our differences, can peace be obtained.<BR><BR>Aim - Schola101
Schola is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 02:19 AM   #3
bbqweed
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 2,908
Default RE:Comcast vs a linksys BEFSR41 router.

Also for the domain name on the setup tab, type in "comcast.net"...click apply.

Power down modem and router for about 30 secs. Turn the devices on in the following sequence:

1)Modem (let the lights somewhat stabilize)
2)Then, power up router....
3)Reboot computer...and you should be up and running...hopefully!
bbqweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 03:31 AM   #4
Locke
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,131
Default RE:Comcast vs a linksys BEFSR41 router.

Thanks guys! Did both of your suggestions and I'm up and running =)
Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.