Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2003, 07:41 PM   #1
JJ650
Golden Member
 
JJ650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 1,957
Default Why can't I connect to any search engines???

THis may sound odd, but every search engine site (Google,yahoo,altavista, etc.) that I try to connect to times out! EVERY single time. I know my connection is up and running (otherwise I would not be able to ask the question here), and any other site I try comes up just fine. I can connect to my email server and access it and send receive emails.

Even stranger is that fact that my laptop is able to connect to these sites without a hitch. It shares the same cable modem via a router. I have not made any changes to my internet setup and any changes on the laptop. This problem is new. Started happening around Thursayd afternoon I guess. I figured it was just the site down. 2 days later it's still happening and the other comp can access those sites without a hitch.

Has anyone else ran into this sort of problem? It really is frusturating.
__________________
HEAT / EBAY
JJ650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2003, 07:51 PM   #2
kt
Diamond Member
 
kt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,712
Default RE:Why can't I connect to any search engines???

Quote:
Originally posted by: JJ650
THis may sound odd, but every search engine site (Google,yahoo,altavista, etc.) that I try to connect to times out! EVERY single time. I know my connection is up and running (otherwise I would not be able to ask the question here), and any other site I try comes up just fine. I can connect to my email server and access it and send receive emails.

Even stranger is that fact that my laptop is able to connect to these sites without a hitch. It shares the same cable modem via a router. I have not made any changes to my internet setup and any changes on the laptop. This problem is new. Started happening around Thursayd afternoon I guess. I figured it was just the site down. 2 days later it's still happening and the other comp can access those sites without a hitch.

Has anyone else ran into this sort of problem? It really is frusturating.
Google is your friend.. oh wait a minute..

I think this the core of your problem:

Qhosts-1 trojan

In case you can't get to that site, here's the removal instructions:

Manual Removal Instructions

1. Apply the MS03-040 patch

2. Delete the following files:

%WinDir%\Help\hosts
%WinDir%\winlog

3. Set the following registry key value (Information on editing registry keys ):
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\
Tcpip\Parameters "DataBasePath" = %SystemRoot%\System32\drivers\etc

4. Delete the following registry key value (Information on deleting registry keys ):
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\
Services\Tcpip\Parameters\Interfaces\windows "r0x"

5. Reconfigure your DNS server settings as desired

6. Reconfigure your Internet Explorer settings as desired

__________________
Beer: Helping ugly people get laid since 3000 B.C.
kt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2003, 09:26 PM   #3
JJ650
Golden Member
 
JJ650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 1,957
Default RE:Why can't I connect to any search engines???

WOOT! Thanks KT. That did the trick. You might want to stick a "reboot the system" in there somewhere when someone else needs help again. I slapped myself after about the 10th time trying and it still didn't work. "STUPID! REBOOT!!"

After that, it works fine now. Thanks man! You rock!
__________________
HEAT / EBAY
JJ650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2003, 08:28 PM   #4
kt
Diamond Member
 
kt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,712
Default RE:Why can't I connect to any search engines???

Yeah..although reboot is not required, it's recommended.

If you're on a DHCP enabled network, renewing your DHCP lease would've done the trick.
__________________
Beer: Helping ugly people get laid since 3000 B.C.
kt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.