Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > Off Topic

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2003, 08:22 PM   #1
TommyVercetti
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,623
Default Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

Why do gas stations and pharmacies like Eckerds and Walgreens have a satellite dish on top of them?

I understand that it's part of their supply/sales network, and keeping up to date on the pricing and other data is very crucial, but I don't see how a satellite dish is helping them any. From what I know, a satellite dish can only recieve, not send. Is this true? Still, broadband has been out for many years now, why not just hook up all walgreens' stores with that?

I am sure Walgreen's relies a lot on such a network, but why would a small gas station need to connected? What exactly are they doing that needs up to date data constantly?
TommyVercetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 08:25 PM   #2
Turkish
Lifer
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 15,497
Default RE:Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

probably something to do with JIT inventory... not sure though.....
__________________
-Turkish
Turkish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 08:29 PM   #3
rudeguy
Lifer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: GR, MI
Posts: 42,721
Default RE: Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

its for the music they play over the speakers
__________________
RIP my fallen comrades
HappyPuppy, FFMCobalt, PliableMoose, Dividedbyzero, Kirby, Nick1985, MotF Bane, Whoozyerdaddy, Bamacre, Red Dawn, ShinerBurke, Wanescotting, Loke
rudeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 08:32 PM   #4
dman
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 9,111
Default RE:Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

Quote:
Originally posted by: rudeguy
its for the music they play over the speakers
Simple, but, I believe to be probably true. A dr.s office I go to has an old DTV System with access card hooked to the on-hold music system... I wonder how much they pay monthly for that.
dman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 08:34 PM   #5
Nocturnal
Lifer
 
Nocturnal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 18,924
Default RE:Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

Quote:
Originally posted by: rudeguy
its for the music they play over the speakers
This is true, if you ever visit a K-Mart or Walmart, or Walgreen etc and you were to have a friend at the same type of store as you but in another location, you'd hear that both stores are playing the same type of music.
__________________
Heatware: Nocturnal
Nocturnal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 09:06 PM   #6
AgentBehemoth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 236
Default RE: Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

It's called Muzak and it was started in the 1920's. Google it
AgentBehemoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 09:14 PM   #7
TekViper
Senior Member
 
TekViper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 591
Default RE: Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

its a brainwashing conspiracy of music distribution.
__________________
giggity
TekViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 10:23 PM   #8
dmcowen674
No Lifer
 
dmcowen674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 54,066
Default RE:Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

Quote:
Originally posted by: TommyVercetti
Why do gas stations and pharmacies like Eckerds and Walgreens have a satellite dish on top of them?

I understand that it's part of their supply/sales network, and keeping up to date on the pricing and other data is very crucial, but I don't see how a satellite dish is helping them any. From what I know, a satellite dish can only recieve, not send. Is this true? Still, broadband has been out for many years now, why not just hook up all walgreens' stores with that?

I am sure Walgreen's relies a lot on such a network, but why would a small gas station need to connected? What exactly are they doing that needs up to date data constantly?
That's their Internet connection.

See Radiant Systems Corp, Alpharetta Georgia.


__________________
The Gas Industry system is backwards. Instead of getting rewarded for incompetence they should be forced to lower the price thus getting lower profits while they are being incompetent.
How the Middle Class Got Screwed
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uB7jdjsFErM
dmcowen674 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 10:24 PM   #9
AgaBoogaBoo
Lifer
 
AgaBoogaBoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 26,096
Default RE: Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

Why do gas stations and pharmacies like Eckerds and Walgreens have a satellite dish on top of them?

For Satellite television/Possibly Internet Connection
AgaBoogaBoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 10:27 PM   #10
Crazymofo
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,339
Default RE: Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

Sat dishes have been 2 way for awhile I believe just to expensive for the consumer market... so they could be 2 way dishes for data transfer. Of course we all know that you can get a two way dish for internet now but its still a large sum of money...
Crazymofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 10:52 PM   #11
Sluggo
Lifer
 
Sluggo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 15,495
Default RE:Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

<Art Bell>

Dude, its part of the radar network for the freekin black helicopters.

I thought everyone knew that.

</Art Bell>
Sluggo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 11:00 PM   #12
WTT0001
Golden Member
 
WTT0001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Amsterdam, NY
Posts: 1,481
Default RE:Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

Satellite has been 2-way for a while, and yes there is a consumer version (also known as DirecWay, runs either $600 for equipment + $60 a month or $99 down and $99 a month for the first year, $60 a month after that). Anyway, a lot of business' have them (a bit more expensive for them though, $1800 or so for the equipment and ? per month after that).

Anyway, the condensed version : 2-way satellite for internet.

WTT
__________________
Heat - E-Mail
WTT0001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2003, 02:02 AM   #13
JT
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 129
Default RE: Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

A manager at a gas station once told me, that their dish was used for CC and Debit Card processing. The topic came up, when their POS terminal couldn't process any cards.
JT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2003, 02:05 AM   #14
ScottMac
Moderator
Networking
Elite member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 5,471
Default RE:Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

DING DING DING! Winner. It's for credit card transactions. It is a two way dish.

Walgreens has the/one of the largest satellite-based data networks in the country, theirs is for things like their prescription network and central transaction systems.

Scott
__________________
Eschew Obfuscation! Espouse Elucidation!

Optimists are never pleasantly surprised.

Nov 4th, 2008: History is made: - Richie Daley becomes the first Mayor in history with his own pet President.
ScottMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2003, 06:34 AM   #15
BurnItDwn
Lifer
 
BurnItDwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Wauconda, IL
Posts: 19,013
Default RE:Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

Walgreens uses 2 way satellites.
It does the muzac as well as all the network communications.
(Examples: Store to Store communications, such as inventory transfers, access to the walgreens intranet, Also debit/credit/gift/phone card processing, Store to central communications, Both for the patient Databases, submitting claims to inserance companies, and for sending down new software loads .. etc)
Some walgreens stores use frame relay, but about 95% are satellite only. (currently about 4200 stores and only a couple hundred on frame relay, and most of the frame relay stores have satellite backup.)

The reason for this is that outages at other companies will NOT take down the walgreens network.
Hovewer, the obvious downside to satellite bad weather near the IT center will take down the network (its just outside Chicago)
BurnItDwn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2003, 06:39 AM   #16
Mill
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 28,561
Default RE:Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

Quote:
Originally posted by: ScottMac
DING DING DING! Winner. It's for credit card transactions. It is a two way dish.

Walgreens has the/one of the largest satellite-based data networks in the country, theirs is for things like their prescription network and central transaction systems.

Scott
Yep, I was shocked that no one had mentioned that it was for CCs. Blockbuster had the same deal when I worked there.
Mill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2003, 06:47 AM   #17
Apathetic
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,528
Default RE:Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

They transmit their sales and inventory records. It can also be used for piping in music. Walmart uses them for the same things.

Dave
Apathetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2003, 06:49 AM   #18
Eli
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 50,005
Default RE:Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

Interesting ...

__________________
http://www.bumblebeebatteries.com

2001 Honda Insight 5MT, MIMA #163P - 158,388 miles and counting as of 7/2011
Best Trip - 82.0MPG over 1200 miles
2001 Honda Insight 5MT - 450,000 miles and counting as of 2/2012 (Fiancee's)
Best Trip - 92.4MPG over 400 miles
2000 Honda Insight 5MT, MIMA #173P, BCM Gauge, OBDIIC&C Gauge, Upgraded 8Ah battery - 227,248 miles and counting as of 10/2011
Best Trip - 83.1mpg over 458mi
Eli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2003, 06:53 AM   #19
Hayabusa Rider
Elite Member
 
Hayabusa Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 37,943
Default RE:Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

All the above. The primary reason is for their computers to be able to reliably communicate with insurance companies. Since you have it, you might as well use it for other things. For gas stations, I would think for gas pump credit card transactions.
__________________
My favorite TV quote by Mr. Spock

"I object to you. I object to intellect without discipline; I object to power without constructive purpose."
Hayabusa Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2003, 07:19 AM   #20
dmcowen674
No Lifer
 
dmcowen674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 54,066
Default RE:Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

Quote:
Originally posted by: JT
A manager at a gas station once told me, that their dish was used for CC and Debit Card processing. The topic came up, when their POS terminal couldn't process any cards.
Quote:
Originally posted by: ScottMac
DING DING DING! Winner. It's for credit card transactions. It is a two way dish.

Walgreens has the/one of the largest satellite-based data networks in the country, theirs is for things like their prescription network and central transaction systems.

Scott
You guys didn't look up Radiant Systems from my post. Radiant does all of the POS (Point Of Sale) from the registers and CC (Credit Card) purchases over the 2 Way Satellite system. Also States that have the Lottery go over a Satellite Internet system too.
__________________
The Gas Industry system is backwards. Instead of getting rewarded for incompetence they should be forced to lower the price thus getting lower profits while they are being incompetent.
How the Middle Class Got Screwed
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uB7jdjsFErM
dmcowen674 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2003, 07:36 AM   #21
moonshinemadness
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,255
Default RE: Why do gas stations, and pharmacies have a satellite dish on top of them?

They arecommunications devices to ready the world for the alien invasion
moonshinemadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.