Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > Off Topic

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2003, 10:48 PM   #1
aphex
Moderator
All Things Apple
 
aphex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 38,536
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

So my 1.5/128 was running kinda slow for me last few weeks, so i payed the extra $20 a month for double the speed (3/256)... Well the first day it was flying, was getting 3.0~3.2 on the speed tests.... Well its been progressively slowing down the past few days, and now its down to 1.6~1.9.

I called up Cox and they were no help at all... Looks like ill be promptly cancelling the higher speed as this is just a waste...

Btw, the sites I used and my speeds:

http://speedtest.coxinet.net/ - 1.8
http://test.lvcm.com/ - 1.8
http://bandwidthplace.com/speedtest/index.html - 1.6
http://www.dslreports.com/stest - 1.9

EDIT: Ran the Coxinet one again... Got 836.9 kbps..... Sickening....



Locking the necro bump


esquared
Anandtech Forum Director
__________________
Heatware (149-0-0) | eBay (363-0-0)

Last edited by esquared; 04-28-2012 at 01:04 PM.
aphex is online now  
Old 05-21-2003, 11:04 PM   #2
NokiaDude
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,966
Default RE: Man... Cox Internet sucks...

Where do you live? Maybe they're under stress and can't deliver that much bandwidth now. At least you HAVE broadband. I use cox too and I am very happy with it. ~500/100
NokiaDude is offline  
Old 05-21-2003, 11:07 PM   #3
byak
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 33
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

It is a much more reliable test to grab your favorite client-side bandwidth monitoring tool (dumeter, etc.) and try to completely saturate your connection. (usenet, p2p, linux isos off major mirrors, etc.)

Those "speed test" sites are more or less pointless. Any bad hop between you and the server will result in completely false results.
byak is offline  
Old 05-21-2003, 11:08 PM   #4
aphex
Moderator
All Things Apple
 
aphex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 38,536
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

Quote:
Originally posted by: NokiaDude
Where do you live? Maybe they're under stress and can't deliver that much bandwidth now. At least you HAVE broadband. I use cox too and I am very happy with it. ~500/100
Gainesville, FL.
__________________
Heatware (149-0-0) | eBay (363-0-0)
aphex is online now  
Old 05-21-2003, 11:09 PM   #5
Anubis
No Lifer
 
Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anger is a gift!
Posts: 73,552
Default RE: Man... Cox Internet sucks...

on you tests i got

1.75mbps
.8mbps
2mbps
1mbps

i have RR in upstate NY shoudl be 2/384
Anubis is online now  
Old 05-21-2003, 11:17 PM   #6
johneetrash
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,792
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

Quote:
Originally posted by: aphex
Man... Cox Internet sucks...
what do you expect with a name like that?

the service probably sucks lots of cox




ba dum tshhhh! thank you im here all night.
johneetrash is offline  
Old 05-21-2003, 11:17 PM   #7
rpc64
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,135
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

Interesting. I have Cox and am in Phoenix, and to my knowledge they don't offer any kind of speed upgrade here. On DSL reports I got 2.6/184, but that does seem a little faster than usual.....
rpc64 is offline  
Old 05-21-2003, 11:19 PM   #8
sohdahere
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 626
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

Quote:
Originally posted by: johneetrash
Quote:
Originally posted by: aphex
Man... Cox Internet sucks...
what do you expect with a name like that?

the service probably sucks.... .
haha, is that really the name of the service?
or are you abbreviating or something????
sohdahere is offline  
Old 05-21-2003, 11:28 PM   #9
Digobick
Platinum Member
 
Digobick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 2,467
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

That's the actual name, Cox Communications. It's a great conversation topic when you're drunk (or still in grade school).
__________________
Never argue with an idiot; they will bring you down to their level and then beat you with experience.
Digobick is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 12:55 AM   #10
zCypher
Diamond Member
 
zCypher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,510
Default RE: Man... Cox Internet sucks...

I have 1.2/160 dsl... using DU Meter, I maxed out my download at 1.32/256 Averaged 1.10/140. Pretty good I think, for $38cdn.
__________________
1100T, Biostar TA870U3+, 16GB DDR3, 240GB Mushkin Chronos Deluxe, 2x1TB Black, 2x3TB Green, 3GB XFX 7970, Antec 650W, CM690, Dell U2713HM & Samsung 2343BWX
zCypher is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 12:56 AM   #11
imported_Mike
Lifer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 18,213
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

please dont bitch about slow internet until you have used sbc dsl
imported_Mike is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 01:00 AM   #12
DerwenArtos12
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,278
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

i have the cox standard service but i got in the 2.4-2.8 range. atleast i am only paying for the standard sevice.
DerwenArtos12 is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 01:01 AM   #13
FrustratedUser
Lifer
 
FrustratedUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 22,529
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

I have Cox too, very pleased so far.

Getting 2500/320 on all these tests.
__________________
-------------------------
I will get around to locking your thread after I stop laughing. :laugh:
Mod
FrustratedUser is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 01:07 AM   #14
her209
No Lifer
 
her209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ::1
Posts: 55,716
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

I am constantly hitting 3Mbps on download and 384Kbps on upload. I have good Cox service.
__________________
Stop pleasing others and start pleasing yourself.
her209 is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 01:12 AM   #15
imported_Mike
Lifer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 18,213
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

1093/110 running off a wireless 11 mbps connection while kazaa dl music. I told you it was crapy
imported_Mike is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 01:37 AM   #16
LunarRay
Diamond Member
 
LunarRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Solana Beach, Ca.
Posts: 9,906
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

Im in north san diego county on cox and recorded 3293/265 and on the other test I recorded 3100/393. I assume this is normal here. I have 4 computers via router hooked up to the modem and 3 of them are currently running as the test was run. they were using the internet.
__________________
A mirror reflects more than what the viewer is capable of seeing!
LunarRay is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 01:37 AM   #17
Mean MrMustard
Diamond Member
 
Mean MrMustard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 3,136
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

On dslreports with cable: 1462 down
__________________
If I agreed with you, we'd both be wrong.
Mean MrMustard is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 01:45 AM   #18
imported_Mike
Lifer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 18,213
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

Quote:
Originally posted by: HJD1
Im in north san diego county on cox and recorded 3293/265 and on the other test I recorded 3100/393. I assume this is normal here. I have 4 computers via router hooked up to the modem and 3 of them are currently running as the test was run. they were using the internet.
woot woot. North County!!
imported_Mike is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 01:49 AM   #19
LunarRay
Diamond Member
 
LunarRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Solana Beach, Ca.
Posts: 9,906
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

Quote:
Originally posted by: CheapArse
Quote:
Originally posted by: HJD1
Im in north san diego county on cox and recorded 3293/265 and on the other test I recorded 3100/393. I assume this is normal here. I have 4 computers via router hooked up to the modem and 3 of them are currently running as the test was run. they were using the internet.
woot woot. North County!!
Solana Beach. Whats a woot?

__________________
A mirror reflects more than what the viewer is capable of seeing!
LunarRay is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 01:56 AM   #20
imported_Mike
Lifer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 18,213
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

Quote:
Originally posted by: HJD1
Quote:
Originally posted by: CheapArse
Quote:
Originally posted by: HJD1
Im in north san diego county on cox and recorded 3293/265 and on the other test I recorded 3100/393. I assume this is normal here. I have 4 computers via router hooked up to the modem and 3 of them are currently running as the test was run. they were using the internet.
woot woot. North County!!
Solana Beach. Whats a woot?
hmm, um...guess you could equate what i said to: Cool, you live in North County.
imported_Mike is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 01:56 AM   #21
tranceport
Diamond Member
 
tranceport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Houston
Posts: 4,154
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

Quote:
Originally posted by: byak
It is a much more reliable test to grab your favorite client-side bandwidth monitoring tool (dumeter, etc.) and try to completely saturate your connection. (usenet, p2p, linux isos off major mirrors, etc.)

Those "speed test" sites are more or less pointless. Any bad hop between you and the server will result in completely false results.
__________________
The Systems Engineer
HeatWare

Bitcoin: 1Nx3D76evkP3QFQcebBDQxAqpZgoGfEs9V
tranceport is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 02:00 AM   #22
LunarRay
Diamond Member
 
LunarRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Solana Beach, Ca.
Posts: 9,906
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

Cheaparse,

thanks for the info. Yeah it is cool and groovy been here forever it seems wouldn't want to live anywhere else. Couldn't afford to move well I suppose I could but then I wouldn't be here.
__________________
A mirror reflects more than what the viewer is capable of seeing!
LunarRay is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 02:03 AM   #23
imported_Mike
Lifer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 18,213
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

Quote:
Originally posted by: HJD1
Cheaparse,

thanks for the info. Yeah it is cool and groovy been here forever it seems wouldn't want to live anywhere else. Couldn't afford to move well I suppose I could but then I wouldn't be here.
oh, i love sd county...though traffic is becoming more and more like LA
imported_Mike is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 02:05 AM   #24
Brutuskend
Lifer
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 26,559
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

Beats MSN DSL.

I'm supposed to be getting 640k and I'm only getting low 500's.

It's getting dropped and I'm going back to cable. :disgust:
Brutuskend is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 02:09 AM   #25
RobCur
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,076
Default Man... Cox Internet sucks...

Quote:
Originally posted by: CheapArse
please dont bitch about slow internet until you have used sbc dsl
RobCur is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.