Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > Off Topic

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2003, 02:26 PM   #1
Arkitech
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 8,276
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

I'm hoping to be in a new house within the next 2 months and the first thing I want to do is have 2 internet, cable and phone connections in every room. Anyone have a rough idea what a contractor might charge for something like that?
Arkitech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 02:31 PM   #2
FuzzyBee
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 5,142
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

Is the hoouse already built? much cheaper that way.
__________________
No man is a failure who has friends.
FuzzyBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 02:37 PM   #3
UNCjigga
Lifer
 
UNCjigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 15,747
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

We did it ourselves in our 6-year old finished house (I helped my dad run the cable etc.) and it didn't take long at all. Its nice having an ethernet jack in the wall
__________________
I have no problem with God--I just hate his fan club.
UNCjigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 02:43 PM   #4
FuzzyBee
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 5,142
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

Quote:
Originally posted by: uncJIGGA
We did it ourselves in our 6-year old finished house (I helped my dad run the cable etc.) and it didn't take long at all. Its nice having an ethernet jack in the wall
i'm in the middle of a three-weekend-long project that started off just putting ethernet in one room. then, i decided that if we're going to put ethernet in one room, we should put it in all rooms. then, i decided that if we're putting ethernet in all rooms, might as well wire up new phone lines for the rooms that don't have 'em. and if we're putting in ethernet and phone, might as well run new coax to every room.

it was supposed to only last 1 afternoon.
__________________
No man is a failure who has friends.
FuzzyBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 02:46 PM   #5
Spac3d
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 6,652
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

I don't understand why everyone is wiring for ethernet .... what about having wireless internet? it is already out and that 802.11g(g?) is supposed to be a lot faster. I don't know, being wired for ethernet sounds like it is planning for now instead of the future. The coax and telephone connections I suppose I understand, but I have no idea on the price, sorry.
Spac3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 02:49 PM   #6
FeathersMcGraw
Diamond Member
 
FeathersMcGraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,041
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

Quote:
Originally posted by: Spac3d
I don't understand why everyone is wiring for ethernet .... what about having wireless internet?
If you're paranoid, wired Ethernet provides an immediate measure of greater security than wireless.
FeathersMcGraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 02:54 PM   #7
oliver2k
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 118
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

costs as much as the cables are...if you are capable of doing it yourself...which most people are....

go with wired ethernet for now....wireless is more expensive and prevents people from stealing your connection while driving around....people often dont change their password from 'admin'

this of course is all from what i have heard
oliver2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 02:59 PM   #8
radioouman
Diamond Member
 
radioouman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8,629
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

I prefer wired. It takes a lot of work to run the CAT5e cables in a house, but I would rather have a wired network than wireless. How many times have I had a customer bring a computer to me and he has a network card that I can connect directly to my network? I've yet to see a customer with a wireless network card in a desktop computer.

radioouman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 03:16 PM   #9
woowoo
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,092
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

If done during the framing stage it would be about $50-$100 per drop
That is normally ... 2- cat 5's and 2- RG-6's per drop.
They would go to a common point in the house.
I would check with your builder early in the game about this
It seems to be a common "markup" item these days
woowoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 03:20 PM   #10
Arkitech
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 8,276
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

How did you guys go about running the cable through-out the house? Was it difficult?

Edit: By the way this is a home thats already been built, I'll have to go through walls and floors
Arkitech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 03:22 PM   #11
FuzzyBee
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 5,142
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

Quote:
Originally posted by: Arkitech
How did you guys go about running the cable through-out the house? Was it difficult?
we're just using a fish-tape, and some twine. do you have an attic and/or a basement? drop ceilings? any of those can be very valuable when it comes to wiring.
__________________
No man is a failure who has friends.
FuzzyBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 03:26 PM   #12
Arkitech
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 8,276
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

Quote:
Originally posted by: fuzzy bee
Quote:
Originally posted by: Arkitech
How did you guys go about running the cable through-out the house? Was it difficult?
we're just using a fish-tape, and some twine. do you have an attic and/or a basement? drop ceilings? any of those can be very valuable when it comes to wiring.
Well the home I'm currently trying to buy has a full basement so it would be plenty of space for a wiring closet.
Arkitech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 03:55 PM   #13
dquan97
Lifer
 
dquan97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 12,012
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

I didn't want to do the labor to wire the house, so i went with wireless
__________________
Me!

This is God's universe. God does things His way. You may have a better way, but you don't have a universe
- J. Vernon McGee

HEAT 45-0
Ebay: 301-0-0

i7 920, 6GB RAM, 128gb ssd with 5TB, Dell 24" LCD
dquan97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 03:56 PM   #14
FuzzyBee
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 5,142
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

what sort of ceiling does the basement have?
__________________
No man is a failure who has friends.
FuzzyBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 04:04 PM   #15
Ornery
Lifer
 
Ornery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 20,008
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

You are so lucky to have a basement to work from. The electrical boxes will be located about 18" up from the floor. After you cut the holes for those, you can use a flexible drill bit, which come in various styles to punch a hole through the lower wall plate inside the wall. The drill bit has a hole through it, that can be used to fish a wire back through the hole. That wire can be used to pull your cable up through. Piece of cake!
__________________
"Facts are stubborn things."
Ronald Reagan
Ornery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 08:08 PM   #16
heartsurgeon
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,260
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

depends on the number of rooms, the accessability of the rooms by either crawl space, basement or attic

you will need an electrician

medium size house..no real problems..i'm guessing $2000.00 minimum

probably more..that's why wireless is taking off....

besides..why have 2 internet jacks in each room?..less costly to have one walll jack, and a 5 port switch attached to that (like a cheapo linksys or netgear)..lots cheaper than paying an electrician to puill another wire, and mount another jack in the room. what your proposing is not inexpensive

the time pre-wiring really makes sense and is more affordable is during construction..

retro fiiting a house with up to date "wiring" is probably not cost effective..your not going to recoup that cost when you sell the home.

your better off getting your house "wired" for the internet with wireless,
and go with a seimens wireless distributed phone system (don't get a internet wireless and phone wireless the same frequency or your scr3wed
television..how bad do you really need it in every room?
heartsurgeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 08:12 PM   #17
Spac3d
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 6,652
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

Quote:
Originally posted by: radioouman
I prefer wired. It takes a lot of work to run the CAT5e cables in a house, but I would rather have a wired network than wireless. How many times have I had a customer bring a computer to me and he has a network card that I can connect directly to my network? I've yet to see a customer with a wireless network card in a desktop computer.
The wireless adapter I have are wireless, they are hardly a hassle. No drivers had to be installed either, plug n go.
Spac3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 10:44 AM   #18
Ornery
Lifer
 
Ornery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 20,008
Default Anyone know how much it would cost to get a home "wired"?

  • So? What are ya gonna do?
Do you start so many topics you can't keep track of 'em?
__________________
"Facts are stubborn things."
Ronald Reagan
Ornery is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.