Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > Off Topic

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2003, 09:41 AM   #1
ScAndal
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 630
Default Can you plug a Surge Protector into a UPS Battery Backup?

I would like to get something like this: Link

and plug it into this: Link

Are there any problems with doing this "daisy chain" or surge?

Thanks,
ScAndal
ScAndal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2003, 09:43 AM   #2
Ryan
Lifer
 
Ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 27,513
Default Can you plug a Surge Protector into a UPS Battery Backup?

AFAIK, the UPS backup has a built in surge protector
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2003, 09:44 AM   #3
freebee
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,043
Default Can you plug a Surge Protector into a UPS Battery Backup?

Quote:
Originally posted by: rbloedow
AFAIK, the UPS backup has a built in surge protector
But...most of them are not as good in terms of surge protection.
freebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2003, 09:44 AM   #4
Electric Amish
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Sklarboro Country
Posts: 23,582
Default Can you plug a Surge Protector into a UPS Battery Backup?

Shouldn't be a problem unless you overload the UPS with too many outputs.

amish
Electric Amish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2003, 09:44 AM   #5
squirrel dog
Diamond Member
 
squirrel dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: North America
Posts: 4,942
Default Can you plug a Surge Protector into a UPS Battery Backup?

Yes.I have that very ups,and I have it pulled into a surge protector.Off the ups you can run what ever you want.I have pc/monitor/printer.
__________________
-2
squirrel dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2003, 09:46 AM   #6
ScAndal
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 630
Default Can you plug a Surge Protector into a UPS Battery Backup?

Excellent. Thats what I though, just wanted to make sure.

Thanks for the help as usual,
ScAndal
ScAndal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2003, 10:03 AM   #7
dman
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 9,111
Default Can you plug a Surge Protector into a UPS Battery Backup?

Quote:
Originally posted by: freebee
Quote:
Originally posted by: rbloedow
AFAIK, the UPS backup has a built in surge protector
But...most of them are not as good in terms of surge protection.
What?!! That doesn't make sense... The UPS isolates the stuff on it from the main power, at least that was my understanding... I could be wrong.

My understanding: The surge protectors stuff is plugged into mains and it blows a fuse/circuit if power jumps too fast in a certain time frame.

A ups just stops charging at that point, perhaps the UPS charging circuit blows.

I really don't know for sure, and perhaps it varies by brand/model?

---

Anyway, I plug a surgestrip into my UPS to get extra outlets to accomodate the AC->DC Bricks that normally wouldn't fit.

I have my monitor, ink jet printer, and PC plugged in as well as my router. It's an APC 650 and does the job.



dman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2003, 10:06 AM   #8
FoBoT
Super Moderator
 
FoBoT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Holden MO
Posts: 63,088
Default Can you plug a Surge Protector into a UPS Battery Backup?

it isn't a problem, but it would be cheaper to plug a power strip into the UPS, any decent UPS provides way more protection than a lame surge protector (of which most are worthless)
__________________
“Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple.”
― Dr. Seuss
FoBoT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2003, 11:59 AM   #9
MWink
Diamond Member
 
MWink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 3,599
Default Can you plug a Surge Protector into a UPS Battery Backup?

DO NOT PLUG A SURGE PROTECTOR INTO A UPS!!! There can be serious problems plugging a surge protector into a UPS. The only time it is possibly safe to plug a surge protector into a UPS is if the UPS has true sine wave output (not stepped or square wave). There is an article about this somewhere in APC's knowledge base but I can't find it right now.

BTW, you couldn't pay me to use a Belkin surge protector or UPS. Their power protection products are the WORST.
MWink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2003, 12:03 PM   #10
brxndxn
Diamond Member
 
brxndxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 8,474
Default Can you plug a Surge Protector into a UPS Battery Backup?

Quote:
BTW, you couldn't pay me to use a Belkin surge protector or UPS. Their power protection products are the WORST.
They have high $$ warranties just like APC.. but then, you get 1200VA with Belkin for the price you'd get a 650VA with APC.

I'd rather have the 20 minutes more uptime.
__________________
Do good things and shut up.
brxndxn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2003, 12:04 PM   #11
Pepsei
Lifer
 
Pepsei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 12,894
Default Can you plug a Surge Protector into a UPS Battery Backup?

our branches have it done all the time.

in fact, our headquarter have a big central UPS so you won't notice that you re plugging a smaller UPS and then a surge protector after that next to the outlet.
__________________
oo----------oo .(\__/)
Japan-A-Radio ..(='.'=) I support one China policy.
Eurodance radio.(")_(") And one Republic of Taiwan policy.
Pepsei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2003, 02:57 PM   #12
MWink
Diamond Member
 
MWink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 3,599
Default Can you plug a Surge Protector into a UPS Battery Backup?

Quote:
Originally posted by: brxndxn
Quote:
BTW, you couldn't pay me to use a Belkin surge protector or UPS. Their power protection products are the WORST.
They have high $$ warranties just like APC.. but then, you get 1200VA with Belkin for the price you'd get a 650VA with APC.

I'd rather have the 20 minutes more uptime.
Yeah, everyone has high guarantees but how many of you have $100,000 worth of stuff plugged into one surge protector??? If someone did file a big claim they would just deny it. Some companies don't stand behind their claims. I filed a $100 claim with Tripp-Lite due to something being damaged by one of their UPS's and it was denied.

BTW, VA ratings are not the same from company to company. Look at the size rating in Watts and the difference is not as big. APC has been much more conservative with their VA ratings (at least in the past).

I have seen plenty of people with Belkin surge protectors have stuff fried. I have yet to find someone with an APC report something getting fried. What you use to protect your equipment is up to you. I'd take an APC Surge Arrest over a Belkin 1KVA UPS any day.
MWink is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.