Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Mobile Devices & Gadgets

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-2011, 03:47 PM   #1
shortylickens
No Lifer
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 56,712
Default Installing apps to RAM by default was a bad system for Android.

If theres a flash card of some sort in the phone then apps should always go there first unless absolutely required.

Yes I know theres apps that can move other apps to bulk storage but it shouldnt have to be that complicated.

This is the one area that Apple, Palm, RIM, and Microsoft seem to have Google beaten.
shortylickens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 03:50 PM   #2
DivideBYZero
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 24,119
Default

Not RIM. All phone OS including OS6 still use system memory for apps.
DivideBYZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 04:01 PM   #3
NikolaeVarius
Lifer
 
NikolaeVarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,608
Default

I think that Installing stuff to RAM is the greatest thing ever. RAM disks on our phones, here we come.
__________________
Boom, phrasing.
NikolaeVarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 04:03 PM   #4
shortylickens
No Lifer
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 56,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NikolaeVarius View Post
I think that Installing stuff to RAM is the greatest thing ever. RAM disks on our phones, here we come.
Yeah, but we're not there yet. And by the time you install a reasonable number of apps you are out of working memory.
Imagine if the installation of Office went to your computers RAM. You'd be running out pretty damn fast.
shortylickens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 04:06 PM   #5
Oyeve
Lifer
 
Oyeve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NYC
Posts: 17,129
Default

Yeah, my old behold II only had 100mb for app storage. Was supposed to be 200mb but some crappy DATA MGT kept eating 60mb. God, I hated that phone. I have a vibrant with 16gb built in and another 32gb on a msd but they only allow 2gb for apps. Was really stupid. even moving apps to sd is a pain. There should be no cap.
__________________
My Heat
Oyeve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 04:06 PM   #6
Glitchny
Diamond Member
 
Glitchny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Reno
Posts: 5,680
Default

Internal storage != RAM
__________________
"the monkey house at the bronx zoo is more well-behaved than this hall and there's probably less feces-throwing, too. Goddamn."

"If you want a vision of the future, imagine SecuROM slapping your face with its dick -- forever." -George Orwell
Glitchny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 04:27 PM   #7
DivideBYZero
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 24,119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitchny View Post
Internal storage != RAM
Not true in all cases, it's dependant upon the platform.
DivideBYZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 04:48 PM   #8
tdawg
Platinum Member
 
tdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,030
Default

With 8 or 16gb internal memory in the Droid X, I don't ever want an app installed to my memory card and taking up space for music, movies, and photos.

With the Nexus One, it was another story since it only had a paltry 1gb of internal memory that filled up way too quickly.
__________________
Intel i5-4570 | Asrock Z87 Pro 4 | 8gb DDR3 | GTX 560Ti | Windows 8.1 64-bit
Nikon D600, 16-35 f/4, 50 f/1.8, 85 f/1.8, 80-200 f/2.8
500px
XBL Gamertag / PSN Network: ttinker
tdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 06:43 PM   #9
ChronoReverse
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,096
Default

No Android phone installs any apps to RAM. They all install to flash storage.

The real issue is why so many (earlier) Android phones had less than 512mb flash storage. My G2 has about 1GB flash storage and even with tons of apps it's not even quite half full.
ChronoReverse is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 06:48 PM   #10
simonizor
Golden Member
 
simonizor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: WI
Posts: 1,312
Default

Isn't this pretty much a non-issue with 2.2? Sure, there are some apps that you can't move to your SD card, but the majority of them can be.
simonizor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 07:23 PM   #11
shortylickens
No Lifer
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 56,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by simonizor View Post
Isn't this pretty much a non-issue with 2.2? Sure, there are some apps that you can't move to your SD card, but the majority of them can be.
Then it would seem I am picking the wrong stuff, cuz only half of mine can move to the card. And of those, only 3/4 of the total data goes to the card, 1/4 of the app data stays on the phone for some reason.
With only 512 megs (quite a large chunk of which is needed for the OS and core apps) the leftover get filled quickly.
shortylickens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 07:25 PM   #12
gsaldivar
Diamond Member
 
gsaldivar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 8,691
Default

Some people here are very confused about the difference between flash memory and RAM...
__________________
150,000 people are imprisoned in North Korea's brutal prison camps. From birth to death, entire generations are kept in absolute misery behind an electric fence. Please take a few minutes of your day to hear their story, and use your own voice to speak out for those who don't have one.
gsaldivar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 08:23 PM   #13
WelshBloke
Lifer
 
WelshBloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 17,000
Default

So flash a ROM that uses your card for app storage.
WelshBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 11:31 AM   #14
destrekor
Lifer
 
destrekor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: It's turtles all the way down!
Posts: 24,818
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsaldivar View Post
Some people here are very confused about the difference between flash memory and RAM...
Internal flash memory should be the preferred place to install apps. It ideally is faster than a removable SD card, but the problem is - a lot of phones included a minimal amount of internal flash memory that wasn't dedicated to system storage and whatnot.
I think my Droid (D1) only has 512mb or so internal flash. I've been able to keep things good, but some apps I do take advantage of running on my removable card, typically ones that have a larger filesize but aren't used daily.
__________________
"Spaceman + Goosemaster + Nemesis 1 =
Well if chicken curtain up with how glue general of should the sternum." - Jeff7
"They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety,
deserve neither liberty nor safety." - Benjamin Franklin
destrekor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 01:42 PM   #15
ncalipari
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 255
Default

The theory is that by installing the SW on SD card you make reverse engineering of the source code much easier.
ncalipari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 05:36 PM   #16
KentState
Diamond Member
 
KentState's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shortylickens View Post

This is the one area that Apple, Palm, RIM, and Microsoft seem to have Google beaten.
How does Apple have them beat? The iPhone only has internal memory. Secondly, I'd much rather use the internal memory for apps first and not pollute a memory card that may be moved around.
KentState is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 07:25 PM   #17
Bryf50
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 1,217
Default

Worst Thread Ever. Internal Flash is not your phones RAM and there's nothing wrong with installing apps to it.

and this
Quote:
Originally Posted by KentState View Post
How does Apple have them beat? The iPhone only has internal memory. Secondly, I'd much rather use the internal memory for apps first and not pollute a memory card that may be moved around.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DivideBYZero View Post
Not true in all cases, it's dependant upon the platform.
I don't know of any modern platform that allows this. Early versions of Windows Mobile gave you a slider to chose how much you wanted to allocated to system RAM and to storage.
__________________
Desktop: i7 4770k@4.6ghz, Asus Z87-Pro, R9 290x Tri-x, 16GB DDR3 1600,
250gb 840 Evo, 480gb Intel 730, 4TB WD Black, NZXT Hale90 750w, Win 8
Laptop: Acer P645, i7 4500u, Radeon 8750m, 256gb SSD x 2
HTPC: Pentium G3220, Asrock H81 mini-itx, 4GB DDR3 1600
Bryf50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 09:45 PM   #18
Raduque
Lifer
 
Raduque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,257
Default

You're confusing system RAM with flash memory storage.
__________________
Wrote a note said Be Back in a Minute
Bought a boat and I sailed off in it
Don't think anybody's gonna miss me anyway


Heat
ForSale
Raduque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 09:56 PM   #19
QueBert
Lifer
 
QueBert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 20,385
Default

My D1 has a whopping 256 megs, and I've come across a lot of programs that refuse to let you move them to SD. Nothing like installing a 60 meg game and when you try to move it to SD it won't let you. There went 1/4 of my space for 1 damn game. I wonder if Motorola actually had a sit down meeting and came to the agreement that 256 megs was sufficient.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TridenT View Post
No, no, they exist. I've seen them.

They're not usually like hot-hot, but they're like hit it and quit it able.
QueBert is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 10:47 PM   #20
ew915
Senior Member
 
ew915's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 748
Default

Installing to nand is better than an external source because your aps will always be running regardless if you connected your phone to download some music or whatever thing you need to do to the msd.
__________________
When you go into court, you are putting yourself in the hands of 12 people that weren't smart enough to get out of jury duty.
ew915 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 11:09 PM   #21
Bateluer
Lifer
 
Bateluer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 27,724
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QueBert View Post
My D1 has a whopping 256 megs, and I've come across a lot of programs that refuse to let you move them to SD. Nothing like installing a 60 meg game and when you try to move it to SD it won't let you. There went 1/4 of my space for 1 damn game. I wonder if Motorola actually had a sit down meeting and came to the agreement that 256 megs was sufficient.
Droid 1 has 256MB of RAM, 512MB of ROM. The OS and its components take up a big chunk of the 512MB ROM though. It becomes very limiting.
Bateluer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 12:15 AM   #22
MrX8503
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,531
Default

I keep forgetting that Android has that limitation. I would find that really annoying.
MrX8503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 04:07 AM   #23
DLeRium
Lifer
 
DLeRium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Posts: 19,888
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bateluer View Post
Droid 1 has 256MB of RAM, 512MB of ROM. The OS and its components take up a big chunk of the 512MB ROM though. It becomes very limiting.
You get like 100MB only unless you move Dalvik onto SD card and even then it's a PITA. I have like 30MB free, and I struggle trying to install anything....

It's like my phone is almost a useless device in terms of getting apps and installing it.
DLeRium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 04:46 AM   #24
tommo123
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,192
Default

thank god for different hboots. on my desire, with the oxygen hboot i get 300MB for apps and it's just about enough.
tommo123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 08:29 AM   #25
BenSkywalker
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,955
Default

I have '1.11GB free' for apps atm, 106 apps installed, two of which are pushing 1GB(Spectral Souls and Monster Madness) and another that is a bit over 600MB(DFW). My phone has 1GB of RAM total. I'm not exactly sure what you are talking about, it really doesn't make much sense.
BenSkywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.