Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-28-2011, 09:05 PM   #1
Smartazz
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,128
Default Setting Up SSD Caching on Z68

Later this week my Z68 setup should arrive. I'm planning to reuse my SSD which is a 64GB Corsair P64 SSD. Would it be possible to use this SSD as both a boot drive and as a cache? If so, how would I go about doing that? Thanks in advance.

This is the motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138320 and I'm using a 2500K.

Last edited by Smartazz; 11-28-2011 at 09:08 PM.
Smartazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 09:32 PM   #2
paperwastage
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NJ/NY
Posts: 1,498
Default

http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2172381

read carefully on how to set up SRT + W7 boot on a single SSD... kinda tricky/troublesome
paperwastage is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 09:41 PM   #3
Smartazz
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,128
Default

That seems really complicated. Maybe I'll just use my current SSD as the boot drive then get an SSD later as a caching drive. Would it be possible to just add in an SSD cache at a later time without reinstalling Windows or anything like that?
Smartazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 02:24 PM   #4
madhatter340
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default

You can, but it's not immediately straightforward (I just got through doing it a few days ago).

In my case, I had my SATA controller in AHCI mode. So, I had to make a registry edit (away from my home comp which has the instructions, sorry) and reboot windows, changing my SATA controller to RAID mode in BIOS along the way. Then windows installs drivers for the raid controller. Then you just download/install the latest version of Intel's RST software. Probably need a reboot after that, and then you can open RST and enable acceleration and that's it.
madhatter340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 02:46 PM   #5
Kenmitch
Diamond Member
 
Kenmitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 92557
Posts: 5,796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paperwastage View Post
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2172381

read carefully on how to set up SRT + W7 boot on a single SSD... kinda tricky/troublesome


Quote:
Originally Posted by Smartazz View Post
That seems really complicated. Maybe I'll just use my current SSD as the boot drive then get an SSD later as a caching drive. Would it be possible to just add in an SSD cache at a later time without reinstalling Windows or anything like that?
That doesn't look all that complicated to do. It does look somewhat time consuming tho. Guess to take advantage of the temp windows install one could start the overclocking adventure getting rid of most of the bsods involved at the same time. At least that's what I'd do anyways

Now if you do plan on a SSD upgrade in the near future it does seem like it might be more hassle than it's worth.
__________________
HeatWare
Email
---------------------------------------------

My beliefs and opinions are no less valuable than yours....Morals...Hmm.
Kenmitch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 03:06 PM   #6
Smartazz
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,128
Default

Thanks for the advice. I guess I'll just get another SSD. However I should really use this reinstall as an opportunity to flash the firmware and enable TRIM. I'm a little unclear on how to go about this though.
Smartazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 03:19 PM   #7
Kenmitch
Diamond Member
 
Kenmitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 92557
Posts: 5,796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smartazz View Post
Thanks for the advice. I guess I'll just get another SSD. However I should really use this reinstall as an opportunity to flash the firmware and enable TRIM. I'm a little unclear on how to go about this though.
Kinda unsure what you meant. Bios flashing the MB? Most can be flashed thru MB's bios with flashdrive. Trim? Windows 7 takes care of that for you by default. Flashing SSD's firmware? Was another thing that I though possibly you meant. If so it's most of the time a bootable iso I think. Well at least the 2 times I've done it anyways.

If you haven't already done it yet you could just download the manual for your MB and take a peek at it while your waiting for it to arrive.

http://www.biostar-usa.com/app/en-us...n.php?S_ID=546
__________________
HeatWare
Email
---------------------------------------------

My beliefs and opinions are no less valuable than yours....Morals...Hmm.

Last edited by Kenmitch; 11-29-2011 at 03:24 PM.
Kenmitch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 03:35 PM   #8
Smartazz
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,128
Default

Sorry, I meant that I'm updating the firmware on my 64GB Corsair P64 SSD. However, I'm having a lot of trouble figuring out how to do this. The drive's firmware needs to be updated to enable TRIM, which would delete all my data in the process. The only useful guide I've found is this: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=83708

However, I'm not sure if that's the most recent firmware update.
Smartazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 04:32 PM   #9
Kenmitch
Diamond Member
 
Kenmitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 92557
Posts: 5,796
Default

According to Corsair all SSD firmware is found in the forum. Seeing how that is the only one listed in said forum I'd tend to believe that is the latest one available for your drive. The PDF expains all the steps except the making of the USB bootable flash drive. Just in case you don't have one already made http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...ve-create.html

Just remember to remove all the data you need/want from the SSD before you start.
__________________
HeatWare
Email
---------------------------------------------

My beliefs and opinions are no less valuable than yours....Morals...Hmm.
Kenmitch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 05:27 PM   #10
Smartazz
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,128
Default

Thanks a million Kenmitch!
Smartazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 10:17 PM   #11
Smartazz
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,128
Default

Unfortunately I got stuck. I followed the guide but when I booted from the usb stick it showed the windows 98 boot screen, then it disappeared and only showed C on a black screen. Then I restarted the computer and it wont POST. Any ideas what I did wrong?
Smartazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.