Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > Off Topic

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2002, 01:10 AM   #1
Mylle
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,700
Default How many ton of air do i need for my house.

I have a 1400sqf house in southern california. it gets up to 110degrees in the summer.

how many ton of air do i need to cool this house down minimum??

thanks guys

Mylle
Mylle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 01:13 AM   #2
GooberPHX420
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,567
Default

Id say 2-3. I suggest a 3 ton tho, just to be safe, better to have excessive power than not enough. I have a 1407 sqft house and ours is 2.5 ton I think...

I recommend TRANE also, they have really good, quiet and efficient units. My old brother installs them, he is really proud of them...
GooberPHX420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 01:18 AM   #3
Mylle
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,700
Default

cool. my buddy has his own airconditioning company. he sais that with my current heater, 3 ton would be the max that could push out. he will do it all for $2000 if i help him install it. thats everything included. if i go with 3.5 or 4 ton i vil have to spend another $700 on a new heater and probably 300-500 more for the extra ton. if 3 is enough i will go with that.

Is there some kinda calculator you can use?? like 1ton per 500sqf??

mylle
Mylle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 01:33 AM   #4
MichaelD
Lifer
 
MichaelD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Halfway There
Posts: 31,528
Default

Bump for an interesting thread. I'd like to know, too.
MichaelD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 02:39 AM   #5
thomsbrain
Lifer
 
thomsbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 18,002
Default

what does "ton" mean in this case? i don't know anything about a/c.
__________________
Conservatives are not necessarily stupid, but most stupid people are conservatives -- John Stuart Mill, English economist & philosopher
Current 2003 Honda Accord EX V6 mileage: 264,000
Current 2006 Honda S2000 mileage: 53,000
thomsbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 02:41 AM   #6
PsychoAndy
Lifer
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 10,735
Default



<< what does "ton" mean in this case? i don't know anything about a/c. >>



tonnage is a measurement of the cooling capacity in an AC unit. theoretically, the requirements vary from sq. footage space to window size, to what direction your home faces (if you have lots of sunlight during sunrise and sunset you'll get more heat), et al.

you should consult with a local AC company, they would know best
PsychoAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 02:44 AM   #7
Jerboy
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,190
Default



<< I have a 1400sqf house in southern california. it gets up to 110degrees in the summer.

how many ton of air do i need to cool this house down minimum??

thanks guys

Mylle
>>



Call a contractor and have them do the measurements and the estimate. They can tell you what kind of system you need.

I recommend Rheem/Ruud, because they use a scroll compressor instead of the standard piston type. It is much quieter and supposedly somewhat more efficient.




<< cool. my buddy has his own airconditioning company. he sais that with my current heater, 3 ton would be the max that could push out. he will do it all for $2000 if i help him install it. thats everything included. if i go with 3.5 or 4 ton i vil have to spend another $700 on a new heater and probably 300-500 more for the extra ton. if 3 is enough i will go with that.

Is there some kinda calculator you can use?? like 1ton per 500sqf??

mylle
>>



Not really. There are too many variables. Humidity, temperature difference between inside and outside, house insulation performance, window surface area, window insulation perf, sunlight, heat producing appliances, etc.


In hot Souther Cali where power is expensive, cutting down excessive heatsoure definitely saves power and keeps your room from getting hotter. Turn off your monitor when it doesn't need to be on(if you don't have EnergyStar model) and consider using fluorescent luminaires. A/C can carry 1.5 to 2x the heat relative to it's input wattage. If it can carry 1.5x and you have 500W worth of computers and lights on, you waste 833W(500 to power comps and lights, 333 to carry it's heat out). at 10cents/kWh, it will cost you 8.3cents/hr. It doesn't sound like much, but at 10hrs/day usage, it adds up to $25 a month.

Jerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 03:46 AM   #8
bizmark
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,311
Default



<< cool. my buddy has his own airconditioning company. he sais that with my current heater, 3 ton would be the max that could push out. he will do it all for $2000 if i help him install it. thats everything included. if i go with 3.5 or 4 ton i vil have to spend another $700 on a new heater and probably 300-500 more for the extra ton. if 3 is enough i will go with that.

Is there some kinda calculator you can use?? like 1ton per 500sqf??

mylle
>>



In SoCal would you really need another, newer heater? I mean, does it really get that cold there?
bizmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 03:59 AM   #9
amnesiac
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 15,781
Default



<< In SoCal would you really need another, newer heater? I mean, does it really get that cold there? >>



You'd be surprised. We had a 50 degree day a couple months ago. I've heard reports of weather once going into the 40's. Brr.
amnesiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 04:13 AM   #10
bizmark
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,311
Default



<<

<< In SoCal would you really need another, newer heater? I mean, does it really get that cold there? >>



You'd be surprised. We had a 50 degree day a couple months ago. I've heard reports of weather once going into the 40's. Brr.
>>



LOL @ the SoCal Wussies!

<---is secretly jealous
bizmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 10:19 AM   #11
Mylle
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,700
Default

i would need a newer and more powerfull heater to push around more than 3 ton of air.
Mylle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 12:14 PM   #12
EagleKeeper
Discussion Club Moderator
Elite Member
 
EagleKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bumps west of Denver
Posts: 42,600
Default

You can replace the Compressor without having to replace the fan unit. Depending on age.
If you get too powerful of a unit, it does not remove the humidity from the air easily enough and actually does less work for a higher cost.

Check your insulation levels.
Adding additional bats in the roof and blowing in some in the walls will help alot.
Check that the attic/roof area is vented, add an exhaust fan to help draw out heat that is trapped.
__________________
F15 Air Superiority Fighter - Never has one been lost in aerial combat (104 kills)
EagleKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 12:22 PM   #13
Doggiedog
Lifer
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 12,769
Default

I thought AC power was measured in BTUs?
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.43Ghz/1.35v, Asus P8Z68 Pro, 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, Samsung Evo 840 500GB SSD, Corsair F120 SSD <Dead>, 2x3TB 7200.14 RAID, 2x1TB 7200.11, Asus GTX 770 4GB, Seasonic X-660, CM Hyper 212+, Antec 300 Illusion, HP ZR24w, Dell U2412W, Acer AL2416W, Win7 x64 HP
Doggiedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 12:24 PM   #14
CPA
Elite Member
 
CPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 29,988
Default

What's the SEER rating on that 3 ton unit? the higher the SEER rating, the more efficient. 10 is the lowest and 17 is the highest, I believe.
__________________
Temp Heroes - BoomerD, skyking, jacob0401, EagleKeeper, alchemyst, Sabot, Shinerburke, bob4432
CPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 12:26 PM   #15
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default



<< You'd be surprised. We had a 50 degree day a couple months ago. I've heard reports of weather once going into the 40's. Brr. >>


You need a heater for THAT?
The heat from monitors and computers would suffice.

  Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 12:42 PM   #16
sharkeeper
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 10,886
Default

A ton is 12,000 BTU/H.

The original metric came from how much power it takes to make a ton of ice in 24 hours.

A 5 ton unit (large for residential) would be 60,000 btu/hour. Most makes have a two number system in the model number that denotes the size. For example a 18 would indicate a 1 1/2 ton unit, 36 would indicate a 3 ton unit and so on.

SEER (Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio) is a measure of the units efficiency. Higher SEER's translate into lower utility bills.



<< You'd be surprised. We had a 50 degree day a couple months ago. I've heard reports of weather once going into the 40's. Brr. >>




Brr????! What???! You MUST be kidding, right?

I guess you could never work here.


Cheers!
sharkeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 01:07 PM   #17
cthulhu
Golden Member
 
cthulhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,442
Default

I just replaced the ac (compressor, blower, all new copper tubing) and heater in my house not two weeks ago. We also laid down some more insulation and installed whirly birds - attic vents.

I live in southern Louisianna so ac is a must. My house is 1200 sq ft plus change. I helped a friend of mine replace a 2.5 ton with a 3 ton unit. My house is nice and cool. My old ac (about 10-15 yrs old) was not a high efficiency unit and IMO not big enough to properly cool my house. If I had wanted to go bigger (more tonnage), I would have needed to change my duct work.

From what I understand you can increase the size of the compressor without having to increase the size of the blower. But, if you increase the size of the blower then you have to increase the size of the compressor. I could be wrong.

The seer rating goes from 10 - 17.
cthulhu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 09:00 PM   #18
MooseKnuckle
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,392
Default

I'm no expert, but here are some tips:

To properly size the unit you should figure this using heat load calculations. There is a lot to consider, such as existing insulation, types of windows and doors, square footage and exterior temperatures.

To get an approximate size of BTU's needed, use the formula below.

1. Figure your square footage.

2. Divide by 600

3. Multiply by 12,000

This gives you your amount of BTU's needed.

1 Ton = 12,000 BTU's

MooseKnuckle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 09:35 PM   #19
dartworth
Lifer
 
dartworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 15,196
Default



<< cool. my buddy has his own airconditioning company. he sais that with my current heater, 3 ton would be the max that could push out. he will do it all for $2000 if i help him install it. thats everything included. if i go with 3.5 or 4 ton i vil have to spend another $700 on a new heater and probably 300-500 more for the extra ton. if 3 is enough i will go with that.

Is there some kinda calculator you can use?? like 1ton per 500sqf??

mylle
>>




Shouldn't your buddy be able to tell you how much tonage you need...after all that is his job, correct?


BTW...If you price a condenser and a A coil for your furnace, a 2.5/3 ton unit shouldn't be more than $750-1000. Just something to think about.


__________________
--

Heat
dartworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 12:36 AM   #20
me4get
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 114
Default

http://hvac-talk.com
Go here and download Hvac-calc. You need to do a load calculation to find out how big a system you need.
me4get is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 01:52 AM   #21
Jerboy
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,190
Default



<< You can replace the Compressor without having to replace the fan unit. Depending on age.
If you get too powerful of a unit, it does not remove the humidity from the air easily enough and actually does less work for a higher cost.
>>



You shouldn't replace compressor in an A/C outside unit other than replacing a failed compressor with an identical replacement. A/C work the best as a matching system. In order to achieve maximum efficiency you need to replace the whole outside unit and the condenser which goes inside your furnace unit. I don't know if it is necessary to replace the two refrigerant lines running between furnace and outside unit. Workmanship has alot to do with performance and reliability of an A/C. If refrigerant lines weren't flushed out properly, welded poorly or not evacuated sufficiently prior to activation can hurt performance as well as reliability.




<< A ton is 12,000 BTU/H.

The original metric came from how much power it takes to make a ton of ice in 24 hours.

A 5 ton unit (large for residential) would be 60,000 btu/hour. Most makes have a two number system in the model number that denotes the size. For example a 18 would indicate a 1 1/2 ton unit, 36 would indicate a 3 ton unit and so on.

SEER (Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio) is a measure of the units efficiency. Higher SEER's translate into lower utility bills.
>>



Don't you guys LOVE how we have so many different units?


1 ton=3.5kW cooling power.



Jerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 02:46 PM   #22
bizmark
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,311
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by: Mylle
i would need a newer and more powerfull heater to push around more than 3 ton of air.
Right, but your house isn't getting any bigger, is it? And 3 tons was enough to warm your house in the winter before, right? I don't know anything about this stuff -- do you have to have your A/C and heater of matching capacities? Because the A/C obviously gets a LOT more use than the heater -- it's turned on for a longer part of the year, and works harder during that time.
bizmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.