Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2005, 02:05 PM   #1
frankgomez75
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,215
Default How can you connect to your home router from work?

Anyone here know how to access their router away from home? I'm at work and I want to make some changes and settings, but don't know how to get access to my router. I have my ip address assigned to me from my ISP. What else do I need?

thnx
frankgomez75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 02:13 PM   #2
BlueWeasel
Lifer
 
BlueWeasel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Tupelo
Posts: 15,469
Default How can you connect to your home router from work?

Some routers have a feature that allows the router settings to be accessed remotely. If your router supports this feature, then it's likely disabled unless you have turned it on.

You could use something like RDC or UltraVNC to connect to your home system and make the router changes as though you were sitting at home.
__________________
Desktop:: 2500K@4.7Ghz/R9-290/16GB RAM/CM690/250GB SSD/3.0TB Storage/Win8.1
Laptop:: Macbook Pro (2013)/256GB SSD/8GB RAM
Heatware 162-0-0
BlueWeasel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 03:07 PM   #3
Thyme
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,330
Default How can you connect to your home router from work?

Quote:
Originally posted by: BlueWeasel
You could use something like RDC or UltraVNC to connect to your home system and make the router changes as though you were sitting at home.
If you do this, you will probably need to add the ports to the port forwarding/virtual servers so that it gets to the computer that has the server on it.
Thyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 08:18 PM   #4
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,891
Default How can you connect to your home router from work?

May be this can Help.

Link to: Connecting through the Internet to a private Network.

Link to: Ultr@VNC (Remote Control for your Network/Interent) - Installation, and Settings

:sun:
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 08:32 PM   #5
pcgeek11
Diamond Member
 
pcgeek11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6,301
Default How can you connect to your home router from work?

Quote:
Originally posted by: frankgomez75
Anyone here know how to access their router away from home? I'm at work and I want to make some changes and settings, but don't know how to get access to my router. I have my ip address assigned to me from my ISP. What else do I need?

thnx
I have a netgear router wireless gateway 814v2 and there is a section called strangely enough "Remote Management". It has a section there that will show you the correct address and port to enter into the browser to access the router via a web interface. It should look like this:

Remote Management Address:
http://XX.XX.XX.XXX:8080
Where the XX.XX.XX.XXX is the IP address of your router and the :8080 is the port

Enable the remote management features of the router.
when you want to access the remote management open the browser, enter the IP address and port number like this http://XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX:8080 then press enter. When it connects to the router it will present you with a login screen enter the admin name and password for the router bingo you are in.

I use it all the time from work to kill the internet services, so my son knows when to go to bed.

pcgeek11
__________________
pcgeek11

“The best things in life are beyond money; their price is agony and sweat and devotion . . . and the price demanded for the most precious of all things in life is life itself—ultimate cost for perfect value.” ― Robert A. Heinlein, Starship Troopers
pcgeek11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 10:04 PM   #6
vegetation
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,270
Default How can you connect to your home router from work?

Most routers have remote managment setting, which by default is typically disabled. Enable it, find which port it is (usually 8080), then connect. I highly suggest getting a free dynamic dns host name rather than purely use the IP address, so that if your dynamic ip suddenly changes from your isp, you wont be locked out. Dyndns.org is one such place.
vegetation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 11:17 PM   #7
TXJustin
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 54
Default How can you connect to your home router from work?

Quote:
Originally posted by: pcgeek11

I use it all the time from work to kill the internet services, so my son knows when to go to bed.
LOL. That's brilliant

TXJustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 11:49 PM   #8
frankgomez75
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,215
Default How can you connect to your home router from work?

Quote:
Originally posted by: pcgeek11
Quote:
Originally posted by: frankgomez75
Anyone here know how to access their router away from home? I'm at work and I want to make some changes and settings, but don't know how to get access to my router. I have my ip address assigned to me from my ISP. What else do I need?

thnx
I have a netgear router wireless gateway 814v2 and there is a section called strangely enough "Remote Management". It has a section there that will show you the correct address and port to enter into the browser to access the router via a web interface. It should look like this:

Remote Management Address:
http://XX.XX.XX.XXX:8080
Where the XX.XX.XX.XXX is the IP address of your router and the :8080 is the port

Enable the remote management features of the router.
when you want to access the remote management open the browser, enter the IP address and port number like this http://XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX:8080 then press enter. When it connects to the router it will present you with a login screen enter the admin name and password for the router bingo you are in.

I use it all the time from work to kill the internet services, so my son knows when to go to bed.

pcgeek11
Thnx.... worked like a charm
I did as you said and now can access my router remotely. :beer:
frankgomez75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 07:23 AM   #9
boomerang
Lifer
 
boomerang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Naples FL
Posts: 14,792
Default How can you connect to your home router from work?

It would be wise to have a secure password on the router. I don't think I have to explain why.
boomerang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 08:25 AM   #10
pcgeek11
Diamond Member
 
pcgeek11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6,301
Default How can you connect to your home router from work?

Quote:
Originally posted by: boomerang
It would be wise to have a secure password on the router. I don't think I have to explain why.
Absolutely!!! I change mine every week or so.

pcgeek11
__________________
pcgeek11

“The best things in life are beyond money; their price is agony and sweat and devotion . . . and the price demanded for the most precious of all things in life is life itself—ultimate cost for perfect value.” ― Robert A. Heinlein, Starship Troopers
pcgeek11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.