Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2005, 09:10 AM   #1
GTaudiophile
Lifer
 
GTaudiophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: €urophile
Posts: 29,732
Default Can an IEEE 1394 cable be plugged into a USB2 header?

I have this ECS 760GX-M motherboard in this Antec Minuet II case. The case has cables for the front panel: audio, IEEE 1394, and USB. The motherboard has the necessary audio headers and two USB 2.0 headers but no IEEE header. Of course the IEEE cable fits just fine onto the USB header. Can you still use the IEEE port at USB2.0 speeds?
__________________

GTaudiophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 09:13 AM   #2
Tanclearas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 345
Default Can an IEEE 1394 cable be plugged into a USB2 header?

No. You'll likely fry the board, but you'll at least fry the USB header.


Edit: Posted prematurely. Damn my large hands! LOL!
__________________
"I'm going to destroy Android, because it's a stolen product."
-- Steve Jobs

"We think competition is healthy, but competitors should create their own original technology, not steal ours."
-- Steve Jobs

"
Picasso had a saying. He said, 'Good artists copy. Great artists steal', and we have, you know, always been shameless about stealing great ideas."
-- Steve Jobs
Tanclearas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 09:14 AM   #3
GTaudiophile
Lifer
 
GTaudiophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: €urophile
Posts: 29,732
Default Can an IEEE 1394 cable be plugged into a USB2 header?

Thanks. Just needed to be warned before I tried. Doesn't make sense that IEEE 1394 and USB cables are the same!
__________________

GTaudiophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 09:15 AM   #4
evilharp
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default Can an IEEE 1394 cable be plugged into a USB2 header?

No.

The standards are not compatible, and the pin-outs are very different. You could seriously mess up anything you plug into that port (the grounds and power pins are different).
evilharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 09:38 AM   #5
GTaudiophile
Lifer
 
GTaudiophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: €urophile
Posts: 29,732
Default Can an IEEE 1394 cable be plugged into a USB2 header?

Quote:
Originally posted by: evilharp
No.

The standards are not compatible, and the pin-outs are very different. You could seriously mess up anything you plug into that port (the grounds and power pins are different).
Hmmm. They don't look different to me.
__________________

GTaudiophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 07:58 PM   #6
GTaudiophile
Lifer
 
GTaudiophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: €urophile
Posts: 29,732
Default Can an IEEE 1394 cable be plugged into a USB2 header?

No additional comments on the picture I took? At the very least, teh fact these two cables are the same is confusing!
__________________

GTaudiophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 08:18 PM   #7
mechBgon
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
mechBgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,699
Default Can an IEEE 1394 cable be plugged into a USB2 header?

They look different to me... one says 1394 on it, the other says USB. You might as well add sugar to your car's gas tank, if you're going to plug the Firewire cable into the USB header.

The wire pinout on the USB cable is undoubtedly the typical

+5V . Data- . Data+ . Ground . Ground
+5V . Data- . Data+ . Ground

And the firewire cable would be

DataA- . Ground . DataB- . +12V . Ground
DataA+ . Ground . DataB+ . +12V


So if you match 'em up, then if you plug a Firewire device into a Firewire port that's attached to a USB header, your iPod (or whatever) will get hot 5-volt power on its twisted-pair-A data lines (bad!), and grounds on one of its two twisted-pair data cables and its 12V lines. So I believe you'd probably ruin the iPod point-blank. Possibly the motherboard too.
mechBgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 08:39 PM   #8
evilharp
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default Can an IEEE 1394 cable be plugged into a USB2 header?

Quote:
Originally posted by: GTaudiophile
Quote:
Originally posted by: evilharp
No.

The standards are not compatible, and the pin-outs are very different. You could seriously mess up anything you plug into that port (the grounds and power pins are different).
Hmmm. They don't look different to me.

As mechbgon indicated, they are similar but they are very different.

Both use 10 pins, but the pins are assigned to different functions. Thankfully, both USB and 1394 have been standardized, so the pinouts are as follows:

USB2

1 - power
2 - power
3 - USB Dx-
4 - USB Dy-
5 - USB Dx+
6 - USB Dy+
7 - GND
8 - GND
9 - No Pin (cable usually plugged to prevent use on Firewire)
10 - NC

1394 (Firewire)

1 - TPA2+
2 - TPA2-
3 - GND
4 - GND
5 - TPB2+
6 - TPB2-
7 - No Pin (cable usually plugged to prevent use on USB)
8 - Power
9 - Power
10 - GND

The odd cable manufacturer doesn't use "blocked" connectors to save on money, which causes headaches for the end user. As you can see, the signal, power and ground pins are all different, which is to be expected as the standards are very different.
evilharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.