Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2007, 03:19 PM   #1
Navid
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5,053
Default Halo 2 sounds really bad!

I have Halo 2 on Vista 64-bit
Sound card: X-Fi Extreme Music
Logitech Z-640 5.1 channel speakers
The speakers are set in Windows on 5.1.
Sound is set, in halo, to be the same as Windows.

Halo 2 sounds horrible.

What am I doing wrong?
Navid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 03:23 PM   #2
Polish3d
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,503
Default Halo 2 sounds really bad!

Make sure it's not on software mode
Polish3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 03:30 PM   #3
Navid
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5,053
Default Halo 2 sounds really bad!

Quote:
Originally posted by: Frackal
Make sure it's not on software mode
Where is that setting?
All I see under Audio is speaker setting, subtitles and volume!
Navid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 03:40 PM   #4
MarcVenice
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,664
Default Halo 2 sounds really bad!

What about graphic wise ? I don't have a super rig, yet But with 1gb of ram, 7600gs, and a x2 3800+ at 2ghz, HALO 2 runs like ffing CRAP. It's hilarious, this games performance is 10 times worse then shadowrun, something I see as it mosts direct competitor right now, and it also looks 10 times worse. I'm seriously not getting it. The game seems to have the hiccup when I play it.
MarcVenice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 08:42 PM   #5
patentman
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,035
Default Halo 2 sounds really bad!

Iyt not only sounds bad, it looks bad. What a waste of $50 IMO
patentman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 08:48 PM   #6
montypythizzle
Diamond Member
 
montypythizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,699
Default Halo 2 sounds really bad!

I support Torrents for this same reason, try it before you buy it!
montypythizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 08:50 PM   #7
novasatori
Diamond Member
 
novasatori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,851
Default Halo 2 sounds really bad!

I thought I read here, from Anand himself in one of the latest articles that the X-Fi = problems in vista.

i may be wrong however it was like the low end system guide or whatever
novasatori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 10:11 PM   #8
hans030390
Diamond Member
 
hans030390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7,327
Default Halo 2 sounds really bad!

I have a solution to your problem:

1. Turn off all sound from the speakers/game.
2. Make your own sound effects/music...out loud.
__________________
"What the heck are you gonna do if you're on a picnic and have an ice cream, and the ants crawl on the ice cream? What are you gonna do? You're gonna eat the ants, because it's made out of protein. For your health!" - Dr. Steve Brule
hans030390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 03:44 PM   #9
zagood
Diamond Member
 
zagood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4,103
Default Halo 2 sounds really bad!

Quote:
Originally posted by: hans030390
I have a solution to your problem:

1. Turn off all sound from the speakers/game.
2. Make your own sound effects/music...out loud.
SHRANK! (sword).

-z
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by tannat View Post
Now, back to the fud, insults and the hairsplitting. please.
zagood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 08:17 PM   #10
agibby5
Senior Member
 
agibby5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 990
Default Halo 2 sounds really bad!

How is this all around? I've been playing Halo 2 on Live (Xbox and now 360) for years, but wanted to get it for PC since my 360 died... I mostly play online...
__________________
Heatware Refs
agibby5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 09:35 PM   #11
Gautama2
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,463
Default Halo 2 sounds really bad!

Quote:
Originally posted by: hans030390
I have a solution to your problem:

1. Turn off all sound from the speakers/game.
2. Make your own sound effects/music...out loud.
Including the whiny 10 year old on the mic?
__________________
Rig Pic
Gautama2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 05:45 AM   #12
MarcVenice
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,664
Default Halo 2 sounds really bad!

I rated Halo 2 with a 7 out of 10. The multiplayer is good, no denying that. The fact that having a Gold account is recommended sucks, as well as it being graphicaly out of date. Top that with pretty high system specs to get good framerates, it's not the best game I've seen, and definately not a game you should buy Vista for
MarcVenice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 07:04 AM   #13
agibby5
Senior Member
 
agibby5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 990
Default Halo 2 sounds really bad!

Quote:
Originally posted by: MarcVenice
I rated Halo 2 with a 7 out of 10. The multiplayer is good, no denying that. The fact that having a Gold account is recommended sucks, as well as it being graphicaly out of date. Top that with pretty high system specs to get good framerates, it's not the best game I've seen, and definately not a game you should buy Vista for
That's not bad at all considering that I just want to play the multiplayer version, already have a Gold account (from playing 360), and already have Vista (triple booting with XP and Ubuntu). I think I'm definately going to try it until I buy another Xbox 360 (and when that happens it's going to be for Halo 3)

Thanks for your input!
__________________
Heatware Refs
agibby5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.