Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2010, 08:26 PM   #1
LOUISSSSS
Diamond Member
 
LOUISSSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,366
Default Xonar DX: can't get headphones to work over Front Panel of case

I've gotten my Xonar DX up and running with my Windows 7 64bit, sound it good from the rear jacks, but i can't get the headphones to work with the case's Front Panel.

On my case, there are 2 x front pin plugs that i can put in, a yellow one and a black one, one of them say HD Audio and the other say AC 97. which one should go into the Xonar to get the FP to work?

and also, should the headphones when plugged into the case's FP cut off the sound to the speakers connected to the card?
__________________
Intel 4570 || GA-Z87X-D3H || 2x4gb G.Skill RipjawX
Samsung Evo 120gb || WD 640gb Blue || Noctua DH14
Sapphire 7950 || 2x Asus VN248H || 1x Viewsonic VX2025WM
M-Audio LX4 || Shure SRH840 || Senn HD555

Lenovo X200 w/ Samsung 840

Last edited by LOUISSSSS; 02-09-2010 at 10:22 PM.
LOUISSSSS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 09:07 PM   #2
balloonshark
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,066
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOUISSSSS View Post
and also, should the headphones when plugged into the case's FP cut off the sound to the speakers connected to the card?
My motherboard has built in sound and it has an option to mute the rear panel when front headphone is plugged in. Perhaps your MB or sound manager has the same option. Mine is in control panel - Realtech HD Sound Effect Manager.
__________________
i5-4670K, Hyper 212 Evo, ASRock Z87 Extreme6, Sapphire Vapor-X Radeon HD 7970 Ghz Edition 3GB, 120GB Samsung 840 Series SSD, 1TB WD Blue HDD, Team Vulcan DDR3 1600 4x4GB, Corsair CX600 PSU, Asus 24x DVD Burner, Corsair Carbide 500R, Windows 8 Pro 64 bit.

Old Rig: Q6600@3.0, Xigmatek HDT-S1283, MSI P35 Neo2-FR, G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2-1000,
Radeon HD 7750 Double D Black Ed. 900MHz 1GB DDR5, Seagate 250GB, Corsair 400, Antec P182, SyncMaster 2232BW Plus, XP Home SP3.
balloonshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:03 PM   #3
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 55,349
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOUISSSSS View Post
I've gotten my Xonar DX up and running with my Windows 7 64bit, sound it good from the rear jacks, but i can't get the headphones to work with the case's Front Panel.

On my case, there are 2 x front pin plugs that i can put in, a yellow one and a black one, one of them say Intel HD and the other say AC 97. which one should go into the Xonar to get the FP to work?

and also, should the headphones when plugged into the case's FP cut off the sound to the speakers connected to the card?
Neither... You have to reroute the header to the sound card.
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
PowerEdge R710 2x Xeon L5640, 24GB ram, 2 256GB SSD 25TB on external hdd
sdifox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:37 PM   #4
LOUISSSSS
Diamond Member
 
LOUISSSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdifox View Post
Neither... You have to reroute the header to the sound card.
What does that mean?

I've just tried both the "HD Audio" and also the "AC 97" connector thats connected to my case's Front Panel. Neither allow any sound into my headphones connected to it. Neither will stop the sound thats going to my speakers thats connected to the rear. Whats going on here?
__________________
Intel 4570 || GA-Z87X-D3H || 2x4gb G.Skill RipjawX
Samsung Evo 120gb || WD 640gb Blue || Noctua DH14
Sapphire 7950 || 2x Asus VN248H || 1x Viewsonic VX2025WM
M-Audio LX4 || Shure SRH840 || Senn HD555

Lenovo X200 w/ Samsung 840

Last edited by LOUISSSSS; 02-09-2010 at 10:58 PM.
LOUISSSSS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 11:21 PM   #5
LOUISSSSS
Diamond Member
 
LOUISSSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,366
Default

fixed: whoa my headphones sound good!

so i had originally had the HD Audio FP cable in the sound card when i installed. Driver installed and sound worked, but FP headphones didn't work.

I then removed that, and plugged in the AC 97 thinking that may work, but it didn't also.

then i decided to just put back the HD Audio plug (since i thought that was right) and just leave it there until further notice and i find a fix. i power back up after that and the FP headphones work! weird restarting issue? i'm 100% sure i had the cable in exactly the way in the card as i did now.

only gripe: headphones dont auto mute the speakers connected to the back. I have to manually change between speakers/headphones in the asus program that installed with the driver.
__________________
Intel 4570 || GA-Z87X-D3H || 2x4gb G.Skill RipjawX
Samsung Evo 120gb || WD 640gb Blue || Noctua DH14
Sapphire 7950 || 2x Asus VN248H || 1x Viewsonic VX2025WM
M-Audio LX4 || Shure SRH840 || Senn HD555

Lenovo X200 w/ Samsung 840
LOUISSSSS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 12:15 AM   #6
balloonshark
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,066
Default

FWIW, the rear panel mute on my system is a hard to find option. It's a very small easy to overlook button with a wrench on it. Have a good look through the options in your software.
__________________
i5-4670K, Hyper 212 Evo, ASRock Z87 Extreme6, Sapphire Vapor-X Radeon HD 7970 Ghz Edition 3GB, 120GB Samsung 840 Series SSD, 1TB WD Blue HDD, Team Vulcan DDR3 1600 4x4GB, Corsair CX600 PSU, Asus 24x DVD Burner, Corsair Carbide 500R, Windows 8 Pro 64 bit.

Old Rig: Q6600@3.0, Xigmatek HDT-S1283, MSI P35 Neo2-FR, G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2-1000,
Radeon HD 7750 Double D Black Ed. 900MHz 1GB DDR5, Seagate 250GB, Corsair 400, Antec P182, SyncMaster 2232BW Plus, XP Home SP3.
balloonshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 09:34 AM   #7
LOUISSSSS
Diamond Member
 
LOUISSSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,366
Default

actually after that last post i made, i have bigger problems.

i've gotten 3 x BSOD's. each with a different message. "bad_pool_caller" & "system service exception" & something about a nonpage area. wtf.

any ideas? i'm using the latest W7 64bit driver, the 7.12.8.1777 version.
The problem seems to arise when i stop playing music through itunes, then try to start again after some time. the music doesn't play. itunes goes unresponsive for a while, then within 1 minute i get a BSOD. any tips?
__________________
Intel 4570 || GA-Z87X-D3H || 2x4gb G.Skill RipjawX
Samsung Evo 120gb || WD 640gb Blue || Noctua DH14
Sapphire 7950 || 2x Asus VN248H || 1x Viewsonic VX2025WM
M-Audio LX4 || Shure SRH840 || Senn HD555

Lenovo X200 w/ Samsung 840
LOUISSSSS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 07:00 PM   #8
darkswordsman17
Lifer
 
darkswordsman17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 14,624
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOUISSSSS View Post
fixed: whoa my headphones sound good!

so i had originally had the HD Audio FP cable in the sound card when i installed. Driver installed and sound worked, but FP headphones didn't work.

I then removed that, and plugged in the AC 97 thinking that may work, but it didn't also.

then i decided to just put back the HD Audio plug (since i thought that was right) and just leave it there until further notice and i find a fix. i power back up after that and the FP headphones work! weird restarting issue? i'm 100% sure i had the cable in exactly the way in the card as i did now.

only gripe: headphones dont auto mute the speakers connected to the back. I have to manually change between speakers/headphones in the asus program that installed with the driver.
Wait, you were switching that while the computer was on? I'm not entirely certain, but I don't think you're supposed to do that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOUISSSSS View Post
actually after that last post i made, i have bigger problems.

i've gotten 3 x BSOD's. each with a different message. "bad_pool_caller" & "system service exception" & something about a nonpage area. wtf.

any ideas? i'm using the latest W7 64bit driver, the 7.12.8.1777 version.
The problem seems to arise when i stop playing music through itunes, then try to start again after some time. the music doesn't play. itunes goes unresponsive for a while, then within 1 minute i get a BSOD. any tips?
I've heard quite a bit of bad things about ASUS' drivers for their sound cards, seems like its pretty hit and miss on it working right (some have issues others don't when using the same version of Windows). Hmm, do you have iTunes updated as well? Is it the 64 bit version? Are there any other programs using it? Do you have it in exclusive mode (WASAPI)?

I believe the newer versions of iTunes automatically runs in bit-perfect mode until you run another program that uses that sound device. What could be happening is its somehow losing that, and then iTunes is trying to get it back, but the driver is screwing it up.

Best advice would be to update everything. If that doesn't work, then uninstall and then reinstall the drivers.
darkswordsman17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 07:53 PM   #9
LOUISSSSS
Diamond Member
 
LOUISSSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,366
Default

its been some hours, and i may have fixed it. It was probably itunes. i downloaded the latest w7 64 bit itunes and the problem hasn't come for the last 7 hours. been playing music/movies since

why would you think i left the pc on? i'm not an idiot...
__________________
Intel 4570 || GA-Z87X-D3H || 2x4gb G.Skill RipjawX
Samsung Evo 120gb || WD 640gb Blue || Noctua DH14
Sapphire 7950 || 2x Asus VN248H || 1x Viewsonic VX2025WM
M-Audio LX4 || Shure SRH840 || Senn HD555

Lenovo X200 w/ Samsung 840
LOUISSSSS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 10:33 PM   #10
darkswordsman17
Lifer
 
darkswordsman17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 14,624
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOUISSSSS View Post
its been some hours, and i may have fixed it. It was probably itunes. i downloaded the latest w7 64 bit itunes and the problem hasn't come for the last 7 hours. been playing music/movies since

why would you think i left the pc on? i'm not an idiot...
No need to take it personal, I was just asking. With all of the things that are hotswappable in computers its sometimes easy to forget some things aren't. I think it was the fact that you mentioned restarting.
darkswordsman17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 09:08 PM   #11
LOUISSSSS
Diamond Member
 
LOUISSSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,366
Default

PC was good overnight also. looks like the last itunes i used wasn't separated to 32/64 bit and i just downloaded the one that apple said was best to use for W7-64.

they have a dedicated one for W7-64 now... seems to have fixed the BSOD issue.
__________________
Intel 4570 || GA-Z87X-D3H || 2x4gb G.Skill RipjawX
Samsung Evo 120gb || WD 640gb Blue || Noctua DH14
Sapphire 7950 || 2x Asus VN248H || 1x Viewsonic VX2025WM
M-Audio LX4 || Shure SRH840 || Senn HD555

Lenovo X200 w/ Samsung 840
LOUISSSSS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 09:10 PM   #12
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 55,349
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOUISSSSS View Post
PC was good overnight also. looks like the last itunes i used wasn't separated to 32/64 bit and i just downloaded the one that apple said was best to use for W7-64.

they have a dedicated one for W7-64 now... seems to have fixed the BSOD issue.

iTune=the suck
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
PowerEdge R710 2x Xeon L5640, 24GB ram, 2 256GB SSD 25TB on external hdd
sdifox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 10:04 PM   #13
LOUISSSSS
Diamond Member
 
LOUISSSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdifox View Post
iTune=the suck
whats a good music player then? i'd also like it to sync my iphone...

what exactly about itunes sucks?
__________________
Intel 4570 || GA-Z87X-D3H || 2x4gb G.Skill RipjawX
Samsung Evo 120gb || WD 640gb Blue || Noctua DH14
Sapphire 7950 || 2x Asus VN248H || 1x Viewsonic VX2025WM
M-Audio LX4 || Shure SRH840 || Senn HD555

Lenovo X200 w/ Samsung 840
LOUISSSSS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 08:48 AM   #14
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 55,349
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOUISSSSS View Post
whats a good music player then? i'd also like it to sync my iphone...

what exactly about itunes sucks?

well, if you are on iphone and buy from the store, I don't think you have too many choices. But the software is pure shit... it deleted my contents on the hdd... good thing I did not trust that pos software and had backups. It BSOD your machine, not crappy enough for ya?

There are ways of dumping the music onto your iphone without using itunes.
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
PowerEdge R710 2x Xeon L5640, 24GB ram, 2 256GB SSD 25TB on external hdd
sdifox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 10:01 PM   #15
LOUISSSSS
Diamond Member
 
LOUISSSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdifox View Post
well, if you are on iphone and buy from the store, I don't think you have too many choices. But the software is pure shit... it deleted my contents on the hdd... good thing I did not trust that pos software and had backups. It BSOD your machine, not crappy enough for ya?

There are ways of dumping the music onto your iphone without using itunes.
i'm on the iphone, but don't buy crap from any store.

i'm not a fan of apple and think they're for queers mostly, but itunes is pretty far from pure shit. you probably lost your files because you manually deleted it from itunes and had it set to "delete files from hard drive upon deletion from itunes."

anyway, the problem i think was due to itunes. i got W7 very early. probably early enough for Itunes version to still be buggy and worked just well enough with my onboard sound drivers. I updated to the latest and noticed they now had separate versions for 32/64 (before they didn't) and i got the 64bit one and i've been problem free for a few days now.

but like i said, i'm open to suggestions. Whats a better mp3 player? and whats a better one that can sync my iphone?
__________________
Intel 4570 || GA-Z87X-D3H || 2x4gb G.Skill RipjawX
Samsung Evo 120gb || WD 640gb Blue || Noctua DH14
Sapphire 7950 || 2x Asus VN248H || 1x Viewsonic VX2025WM
M-Audio LX4 || Shure SRH840 || Senn HD555

Lenovo X200 w/ Samsung 840
LOUISSSSS is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.