Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > Off Topic

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2011, 08:33 PM   #1
Scouzer
Lifer
 
Scouzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: CANADA
Posts: 10,361
Default Smoke Alarm Chirp Chirp

I have 3 Kidde i2020 smoke alarms. They are AC powered with no battery backup.

I had several power failures last weekend and now all 3 smoke alarms are very intermittently chirping at me. They are not interconnected units (I believe, as they do not all alarm when I press the test button) so I don't think it's just one unit being a nuisance.

They don't seem to chirp at any sort of interval, but it happens at least once every half hour from each unit.

Any ideas? They are dated 2007 so they shouldn't be expired. I have tried the silence button which works great... for about a half hour.
Scouzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 08:37 PM   #2
BoomerD
Lifer
 
BoomerD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Where I hang my hat.
Posts: 45,996
Default

The "Chirp, chirp" is USUALLY a sign of a dying battery. Are you SURE they don't have 9v batteries inside them?

I didn't think they even made hardwired smoke detectors w/o battery backups...if the power goes out...the smoke detector doesn't work...

edit...apparently they DO make smoke detectors w/o battery back up...:shocked:

Last edited by BoomerD; 07-14-2011 at 08:41 PM.
BoomerD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 08:41 PM   #3
Scouzer
Lifer
 
Scouzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: CANADA
Posts: 10,361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoomerD View Post
The "Chirp, chirp" is USUALLY a sign of a dying battery. Are you SURE they don't have 9v batteries inside them?

I didn't think they even made hardwired smoke detectors w/o battery backups...if the power goes out...the smoke detector doesn't work...

Googling shows the i2020 with battery backup.

Better check again.
I have the manual right in front of me that says the i2020 does not have a battery backup. I'm confused. There is absolutely no battery door on this thing.

Furthermore, this link mentions no battery http://www.amazon.com/Kidde-i12020-B...pr_product_top
Scouzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 08:49 PM   #4
BoomerD
Lifer
 
BoomerD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Where I hang my hat.
Posts: 45,996
Default

Kidde says this about "intermittent chirping:"

https://portalgb.knowledgebase.net/a...ab=search&bt=4

Quote:
Several things may be causing your alarm(s) to sound briefly or "chirp" at regular intervals of time.

To determine your specific alarm condition, please verify what type of audible alert you are hearing:

Compare the sound you hear to actual alarm sounds samples.
Consult the "My Alarm is Making a Sound" Solution Finder for model-specific help.


The following could cause your Smoke Alarm to chirp consistently:

Low Battery Condition – The alarm will "chirp" every 30-40 seconds (some alarms every 60 seconds) for a minimum of 7 days. Replace the battery when this occurs, then test your alarm.
Alarm Malfunction – The alarm will "chirp" between flashes of the Red LED. If this occurs press and hold the Test button for a minimum of 2 seconds. If the alarm does not sound your unit has a defective battery or other failure.
Hush Condition – If your alarm has the Hush feature, the alarm will "chirp" every 30-40 seconds for approximately 7 minutes while the Hush feature is activated.
End of Life Condition (Sealed Battery Models Only) – The alarm will "chirp" every 30 seconds to indicate it is time to replace the alarm.
If you bought these in 2007, they're still under warranty. (5 years)

Might be time to replace them with newer ones that have a battery backup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scouzer View Post
I have the manual right in front of me that says the i2020 does not have a battery backup. I'm confused. There is absolutely no battery door on this thing.

Furthermore, this link mentions no battery http://www.amazon.com/Kidde-i12020-B...pr_product_top

Yep, you're right. If you notice, I edited my post...a quick google said they DID have battery backup, but when I went to Kidde, I found out that was wrong.

http://www.thesmokedetectorstore.com...p/21006374.htm

Last edited by BoomerD; 07-14-2011 at 08:52 PM.
BoomerD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 08:53 PM   #5
DaveSimmons
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 37,766
Default

> End of Life Condition (Sealed Battery Models Only) – The alarm will "chirp" every 30 seconds to indicate it is time to replace the alarm.

Perhaps it's this and by no battery they mean no user-replaceable battery.

Either way, if they're under warranty you can return them before madness takes its toll.
DaveSimmons is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 08:59 PM   #6
Scouzer
Lifer
 
Scouzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: CANADA
Posts: 10,361
Default

Thanks for the help guys. I was having a lot of trouble believing 3 units failed simultaneously, but that seems to be the case. Maybe there was a minor power surge...
Scouzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 09:53 PM   #7
DrPizza
Administrator
Elite Member
Goat Whisperer
 
DrPizza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Western NY
Posts: 46,616
Default

I thought that if one went off, they all go off with the wired ones. If that's the case, then perhaps one is causing the problem, not all three.
__________________
Fainting Goats
DrPizza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 03:47 AM   #8
BoomerD
Lifer
 
BoomerD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Where I hang my hat.
Posts: 45,996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPizza View Post
I thought that if one went off, they all go off with the wired ones. If that's the case, then perhaps one is causing the problem, not all three.
That's the way they're supposed to be wired...but it can be done as individual units too.
BoomerD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 04:04 AM   #9
Whoozyerdaddy
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Maui
Posts: 19,261
Default

The aliens are signaling their arrival...
Whoozyerdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 06:11 AM   #10
boomerang
Lifer
 
boomerang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 15,321
Default

Disconnect them one at a time to find the bad actor. I don't believe for a second that all three went bad simultaneously.

I had this happen at my house. Unfortunately they were so old that I had to replace them both because The new would not play well with the old.
boomerang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 06:53 AM   #11
LTC8K6
Lifer
 
LTC8K6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under an American chemtrail
Posts: 20,279
Default

They are 4 years old and cheap. Replace them all.
__________________
no offense, but does he have some sort of mental dissability? -nick1985

Brainwashed, mentally unstable, and stupid Intel user, screwed by Intel and located directly under a chemtrail.

Don't be a moron! Buy AMD!
LTC8K6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 08:27 AM   #12
bruceb
Diamond Member
 
bruceb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wayne, New Jersey
Posts: 7,294
Default

Your units have a 10 year life. After that they suggest replacement as the smoke detector portion may not work properly after that time. It may have a built in battery which can not be changed. Your unit has the feature to interconnect to the other units, but it will require an additional wire to be run between all the units. Still, even if it is not fire code up in Canada (it now is in most parts of the US) you should interconnect them in the interests of best safety protection. And you should have units that are AC powered, with a Battery Backup, as these provide the best protection. If your units are under warranty, which it seems they may be, give the maker (Kidde) a call about replacements under the warranty. Best case, they send them free.
bruceb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 08:33 AM   #13
Cal166
Diamond Member
 
Cal166's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 4,995
Default

I have hard wired kidde fire alarms and they do have a backup 9v battery. I have to replace them after 4-5 years.
__________________
[b]EX FS/FT Moderator at Hardforums

Heatware

Marry her. Everybody needs a first ex-wife. -Crazyfool
Cal166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 08:52 AM   #14
Squisher
Lifer
 
Squisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Belleville, MI
Posts: 20,859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoomerD View Post
That's the way they're supposed to be wired...but it can be done as individual units too.
Yeah, I thought most codes for new housing required they be interconnected.

That is how they did it for my house. Of the 8 detectors I have the first and last on the string don't have a battery backup.
__________________
Quote:
Originally posted by: electron
Forget P&N, we need a new forum for this. I recommend naming it "Cuckoo's Nest"
A couple of goofs.
Squisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.