Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2012, 07:14 AM   #1
slightlyhuman
Lifer
 
slightlyhuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Tejas
Posts: 19,279
Default Reinstalling Vista on gateway

I have my brothers desktop I'm cleaning for him. It's a gateway with Vista Home Premium. I have a Vista HP iso I tried installing but the key wouldn't work. I'm guessing I need a gateway specific install of Vista HP. What's the best way about getting Vista reinstalled on here?

TIA
__________________
http://www.GoProandtell.com/
slightlyhuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 02:34 PM   #2
gmaster456
Golden Member
 
gmaster456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,866
Default

the key on his machine is probably on OEM key.
__________________
Computers: HP Touchsmart TX2, Custom Dekstop, HP Stream 14z
Phones: GSM Unlocked Moto X 16gb, Lumia 520, Nexus 4 (Sold)
Tablets: iPad Mini
gmaster456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 04:12 PM   #3
slightlyhuman
Lifer
 
slightlyhuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Tejas
Posts: 19,279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gmaster456 View Post
the key on his machine is probably on OEM key.
so what's the best way to go about getting it reinstalled using his key? the recovery partition was fuxored.
__________________
http://www.GoProandtell.com/
slightlyhuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 04:57 PM   #4
Lifted
Diamond Member
 
Lifted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5,753
Default

Use a disk that's not a non-Gateway branded OEM disk. A Gateway disk will work, and both retail and non-branded OEM disks will work with the key on his computer.
Lifted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 08:55 PM   #5
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,517
Default

With Vista, the install DVD should contain all versions - your product key then determines which one will be installed.

The following download links are from Digital River. They still work now, but I wouldn't be surprised if they go away in the next month (Vista hits end of life in less than 30 days, on 04/10/2012).

Digital River download links for Vista Ultimate SP1 x86:
X14-63452.EXE
boot.wim
install.wim

Digital River download links for Vista Ultimate SP1 x64:
X14-63453.exe
boot.wim
install.wim


Guide to create Vista install DVD with vLite (use X14-635452.EXE in place of the reference to X14-49121.EXE in the guide for the 32 bit install CD).

Note: Guide is for creation of 64-bit Vista install DVD, but also works for X86/32-bit install DVD creation if you skip the ETFSBOOT.COM step

Hope this helps.

Last edited by Steltek; 03-15-2012 at 06:02 PM.
Steltek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 03:32 AM   #6
serpretetsky
Senior Member
 
serpretetsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 544
Default

before you do any funny stuff, check if it has a recovery partition, as this will be far faster and easier than discs. During post (before boot) hold alt and tap f10 repeatedly. It may bring you to the recovery partition. This windows may also be found by hitting f8 (no alt) and going to "repair windows" or "recovery environment". From there you may find gateway recovery manager and do it through there. If neither of these options work it means you dont a working recovery partition

Please note the recovery partition will restore the system to factory settings (including preloaded software) so this may not be the option for you if you're trying to get a minimal install.
serpretetsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 07:06 AM   #7
slightlyhuman
Lifer
 
slightlyhuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Tejas
Posts: 19,279
Default

yeah the rec par is fubared. thanks for the links and posts guys!
__________________
http://www.GoProandtell.com/
slightlyhuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.