Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2004, 05:57 PM   #1
MoonSword
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 28
Default CMOS Battery needs to be replaced frequently

I have two Socket-A motherboards, Asus A7V333 (Rev 1.02) and an ECS K75SA Pro (Rev 5.0L)

The problem is that the CMOS batteries (CR2032 coin cell) need to be replaced frequenlty... is this normal for Socket-A/Athlon XP systems?

Actually, the Asus A7V333 board's original battery lasted a year before I needed to first replace it, and the replacement battery lasted six months. Ever since then, I've only gotten 3 months of life out of each battery.

The ECS K7S5A Pro was recently purchased new from Newegg.com, but its original battery only lasted two months.

I have been an A+ certified tech for years, and in all this time, I've rarely ever had to replace a CMOS battery. Heck, I've got an old Asus P3V4X slot-1 (P2/P3/Celeron) motherboard that I used for four years, and not once did I have to replace the CMOS battery. I've never had to replace a CMOS battery in my old Socket-7 systems, either. I find it odd and most annoying.

Obscure troubleshooting tip: My Asus A7V333 won't boot if the CMOS battery is no good. In fact, the computer acts totally dead, which would lead many to believe the problem lies in a DOA Motherboard, bad power supply, or a faulty case power switch, etc... Some motherboards act totally dead if the CMOS battery is no good, and it's an easy fix that only costs a trip to your local Walmart or Radio Shack and $3. I just wish the darn battery would last longer than a few months.

MoonSword
MoonSword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2004, 06:39 PM   #2
homestarmy
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 3,525
Default CMOS Battery needs to be replaced frequently

That sucks... I built a computer for a friend with the K7S5A a while back and the battery went out not long after. I replaced it with one from my board (those boards are sh|t, mine is dead) and it hasn't been in there long so I can't comment on how long it will last now... it lasted a while in my board.
__________________
"but cats can't make sandwiches" - zug.com
homestarmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2004, 07:15 PM   #3
huesmann
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 8,614
Default CMOS Battery needs to be replaced frequently

That's way too short a time for the CMOS battery to go bad. Something's wrong with the mobos. I have mobos that are 5 years old that are on the original battery.
huesmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2004, 08:57 PM   #4
BadThad
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 12,025
Default CMOS Battery needs to be replaced frequently

What kind of battery are you putting in? Sounds like a bad batch of batteries to me being it's happening on two different systems.
__________________
SMC
Heat
Coins
BadThad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 03:25 AM   #5
MoonSword
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 28
Default RE: CMOS Battery needs to be replaced frequently

Energizer Lithium CR2032. I get two-cell packs from Walmart for a little more than $3. Next time I buy batteries, I'll get them somewhere else, and a different brand. That'll help clear up the possibility of a bad batch. But even still, that would be a very, very large bad batch of batteries as I have bought several packs over the last year. Oh well. I'll see what happens. Thanks for the advice.

MoonSword
MoonSword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 03:38 AM   #6
Ryoga
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 449
Default RE: CMOS Battery needs to be replaced frequently

Well how many can one store go through? It's likely they're all from the same lot.

If the situation doesn't clear up, then you either got a bad mobo or a bad PSU (or a PSU with a lose connection). How often does the PC sit with no power to the PSU?
Ryoga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 04:20 AM   #7
MoonSword
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 28
Default CMOS Battery needs to be replaced frequently

I imagine that Walmart store tends to go through a lot of CR2032 batteries. This Walmart is not in some rural backwoods location. In the area I live, we do have more people than cows. Not to mention that lots of different electronics use CR2032 batteries: Graphing calculators, data organizers, some cameras, etc.

Anywho, I tend to leave the PCs running all day and night. Even when I do power either one down, I leave the master PSU switch to on, so the PSU itself has power in it. About the only time the PSUs don't have power is when I swap the battery, or open the case for some other "surgical procedure". One thing is for sure... When my computer won't power up (after having powered it down for some reason), I swap the battery, and voila! It's got life again. BTW, PSU voltage ratings are at normal.

MoonSword
MoonSword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 06:44 PM   #8
Zepper
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finger Lakes area NY
Posts: 18,998
Default CMOS Battery needs to be replaced frequently

Are you actually measuring the voltage on the batteries before replacing them, or just assuming because the time is off, that the batteries must be going. They should be good down to 2.8V or so. There are other reasons for the time being off - fancy screen savers that eat interrupts and having the clock set to sync from a network that doesn't exist (or isn't connected to very often) are just two...
.bh.

There's the :sun: !
Zepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 03:07 AM   #9
MoonSword
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 28
Default CMOS Battery needs to be replaced frequently

Quote:
Are you actually measuring the voltage on the batteries before replacing them, or just assuming because the time is off, that the batteries must be going. They should be good down to 2.8V or so. There are other reasons for the time being off - fancy screen savers that eat interrupts and having the clock set to sync from a network that doesn't exist (or isn't connected to very often) are just two...
It is my understanding that a voltmeter is a poor choice to test a battery. Voltmeters do not put a load on the battery, and without a load, the reading isn't reliable to determine a battery's strength. And since I do not have an actual battery tester, I really can't test the battery itself.

But here is where it gets interesting (a.k.a. annoying :disgust: ). The problem isn't really my internal clock. Heck, that tends to be off by a few minutes at most given times, so I just make it a point to fix the clock every six months or so when the time is very noticably off. Actually, the reason why I am annoyed is that my Asus A7V333 Mobo won't even power on if the battery is no good. When the computer appears totally dead, I pop in a new battery, and voila! My system is alive again! Quite annoying and inconvenient, but at least its a very inexpensive fix. :roll: Even still, I've been a certified, professional technician for five years, and this is the first time I've had, or even seen, frequent CMOS battery problems.

MoonSword
MoonSword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 06:31 AM   #10
LTC8K6
Lifer
 
LTC8K6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under an American chemtrail
Posts: 19,148
Default CMOS Battery needs to be replaced frequently

You need to make sure that the batteries are actually dead as the first step to diagnosis.

Usually you notice a few odd things if you have a low battery. The clock is off, it doesn't keep BIOS settings, etc.

Does the board boot if you just clear the CMOS with the jumper?

How about if you put the same battery back in?

Does your BIOS read the battery voltage? If so, you could check it every once in a while to see if it is dropping.

If the batteries are actually dead, and it wasn't a bad batch of batteries, then it's gotta be the board. I have several computers where those batts lasted many years.
__________________
no offense, but does he have some sort of mental dissability? -nick1985

Brainwashed, mentally unstable, and stupid Intel user, screwed by Intel and located directly under a chemtrail.

Don't be a moron! Buy AMD!
LTC8K6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 06:36 AM   #11
LTC8K6
Lifer
 
LTC8K6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under an American chemtrail
Posts: 19,148
Default CMOS Battery needs to be replaced frequently

The ECS board's battery may already have been old.
__________________
no offense, but does he have some sort of mental dissability? -nick1985

Brainwashed, mentally unstable, and stupid Intel user, screwed by Intel and located directly under a chemtrail.

Don't be a moron! Buy AMD!
LTC8K6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 10:09 AM   #12
Zepper
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finger Lakes area NY
Posts: 18,998
Default RE: CMOS Battery needs to be replaced frequently

I use the voltmeter to measure the battery IN CIRCUIT. And I do it after the AC power has been unpluged (or turned off by the switch on the back of the PSU) for at least 10 minutes. Even though that might not be quite enough load to do a proper test, it will give you the actual voltage the circuit is seeing. You could also measure at the backup battery pin on the southbridge in case there are any intervening diodes. On most that I've checked, there is no significant diff between readings at the top of the battery and the backup battery pin.
. Perhaps the sensitivity of the internal CMOS battery measurement is off - I've heard that Asus health chip's (and others) readings often aren't all too accurate. Perhaps a BIOS update would help. Or you could disable the CMOS battery check function. Whatever the cause, three months is far too little battery life on a 2032 - avoid Chinese made ones if at all possible (Chinese batteries are generally shiznits). I'd be rigging a dual AA-cell battery pack for it if I couldn't find any other cause...
. I got my basic electronics training in college back in the mid-60s and have been doing techie stuff ever since - so I know how to test batteries.
.bh.
Zepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 03:42 PM   #13
lobadobadingdong
Lifer
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 10,045
Default CMOS Battery needs to be replaced frequently

Quote:
Originally posted by: LTC8K6
The ECS board's battery may already have been old.
they get cheap battery's that have been sitting on a shelf a while from time to time.
lobadobadingdong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.