Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2015
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2014, 02:14 AM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 305
Question What happens if one installs Catalyst without uninstalling the old version ?

Just like the title says.

I installed windows 8, let it update to windows 8.1
Then I installed Catalyst 14.4 for my HD 7870 without uninstalling the old version (windows put catalyst version 13.something automatically so I forgot about it).

The installation went smoothly but I haven't actually played any games.
Should I went through the whole thing against i.e. uninstall 14.4 and install it again ?
What are your experience when doing this ?
turn_pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 03:09 AM   #2
Diamond Member
mikeymikec's Avatar
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 5,841

I would expect it to work. If you find there's a performance / stability problem directly after updating, then try reverting, uninstalling then updating.

I can't remember having any problems updating drivers of the type you're suggesting, but then I've stopped updating drivers since AMD finally released a driver that generally works with my 5770.
mikeymikec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 05:13 AM   #3
Diamond Member
Meghan54's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rollin' Rollin' Rollin', keep them doggies rollin'
Posts: 5,977

Have always updated AMD gpu drivers across the old AMD drivers without any problems for years. I'd not worry about it unless you come across specific problems.
"As soon as men decide that all means are permitted to fight an evil, then their good becomes indistinguishable from the evil that they set out to destroy."
-Christopher Dawson
Meghan54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 05:46 AM   #4
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 992

depends.....some say it can cause universal destruction; causing a paradox hole to rip open and swallow all known universes......

Or not beta drivers you'll want to uninstall old drivers for...official drivers tend to play a bit better.....
MeldarthX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 06:33 AM   #5
Diamond Member
BrightCandle's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,763

I have had it break but only with particular upgrades. If you flick about between beta and whql drivers then the difference with profiles embedded can sometimes result in corrupted installs. I had it happen twice in a 6 month period but that was a year ago. Whether it works properly really depends on AMD and how they prepare the installers.
I no longer frequent these forums.
BrightCandle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 06:34 AM   #6
Diamond Member
DigDog's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Scotland The Brave
Posts: 5,056

anything and nothing. more often than not, nothing weird happens.
new PBT caps completely changed the feeling of my keyboard.
DigDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 07:19 AM   #7
Platinum Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,094

Unless you're using beta drivers or your current drivers are giving you issues, just install over it. You most likely won't have any issues. If you do, just uninstall and reinstall. There's no major risk, really.
Intel Core i5 4670K @4.2GHz, Asrock Z87 Pro3, MSI GTX 970 Gaming "4G" @1470MHz-1499.8MHz (trololo), 16GB DDR3, Corsair TX650, Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Blue 1TB, Fractal Design Arc Midi R2, Corsair Gaming K70 (non-RGB) MX Blue
Techhog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 10:06 AM   #8
Diamond Member
NTMBK's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6,053

Originally Posted by Ramses View Post
I never joke about socks.
NTMBK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 10:17 AM   #9
flash-gordon's Avatar
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 41

As someone who just did that some hours ago I don't recommend. I got blue screen with some atikmdag.sys error...
flash-gordon is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.