Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2004, 09:54 AM   #1
AnandTech Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 5,705
Default *** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

In an effort to make finding information about the ASUS K8V easier for all forum members, please post and discuss your issues, problems, experiences, rants, raves and FAQs here.

AnandTech Moderator
AnandTech Moderator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2004, 11:08 AM   #2
LeeC
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 59
Default RE: *** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

Thanks, I wil be the first this is a repost from below,
For the people that have not seen the earlier post. The problem with this setup is on a cold boot it will not display. It takes 3 or 4 restarts to get the display working. After it finally displays it runs fine the rest of the day. Below are my specs for the system. I have seen quite a few problems in different forums on this same thing, and I am trying to figure them out.
This is abrand new system, with a asus K8V deluxe board. I got all high end parts, I went alittle small on the video card to try to save up enough to get a really nice one down the road. I fuigured the sapphie 9600pro would do well for the time being. as this is my first build, . As it turns out, this is the only problem I have run into.

Buz, I have one stick of 512 corsair 3200llpro, but have not tried a different stick yet.I have tried 2 real ati cards, and it has done the same thing. I am now in the process of trying an nvidia card to see. The things I am going to look for right now are, Memory, PSU, high end card. Just to rule out different manufacturing differences since the 64 came out. The MB manuel actually says that this board has had some differences with some ati cards.. I actually ended up taking it to the shop, and letting the guys up there help me. Hopefully they have seen something like this and can isolate it. I spent about 2 days trying to figure this out on the net, and could not get many responses, so I really had no choice. I needed to get back to work.

rkoenn,
When it finally boots up, I get an windows error message saying that there was a process draw in a ati file driver that could not complete. Not sure what that means, but it sounds like the drivers are not liking something. I will keep everyone informed. I am not sure where I saw it, I think on Anands somewhere that these systems seem to like the high end cards, and either kingston, or mushkin memory. I was hoping that nothing would go too bad since this is my first system, but I guess if it did not need fixing I would not learn as much. Thanks guys for the help. Here is my system specs. Looking back, the only change I woy=uld have made would be to get a bigger PSU from the start

Liteon LDW-411S DVD Dual Rewriter Retail

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Processor Retail
Shipped

Antec Solution Series SLK2600AMB Super Mini Tower Case Retail

Sony FD MPF920Z161/131 1.44MB 3.5in Floppy Disk Drive (Beige)

Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9 6Y060M0 60GB Serial ATA 7200RPM Hard Drive w/8MB Buffer

Corsair CMX512-3200LLPRO 512MB DDR400 XMS3200 Ultra Low Latency ProSeries Memory w/Heat Spreader Retail

Asus K8V Deluxe Via K8T800 Athlon 64 Skt754 DDR ATX Motherboard w/Audio, LAN, Dual SATA RAID Retail


SapphireTech Atlantis Radeon 9600 Pro AGP 8X 128MB DDR Video Card w/TV-Out & DVI Powered by ATI


Liteon LTC48161H DVD-ROM 16x + CD-RW 48x24x48 Combo Drive Retail




LeeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2004, 12:36 PM   #3
XBoxLPU
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,247
Default RE: *** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

Can the raid controller be used like an IDE controller ? I know you cant put cdroms... etc on it ...

XBoxLPU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 06:44 PM   #4
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,965
Default RE:*** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

I have an Antec 1080awg case with an Antec true power 430 power supply. After researching, I found that it seems that these CPU's really like fast tightly timed memory, and NFS4 had Kingston Hyperx PC3500, and seemed pleased, thats what I got so that. Also for the HSF I got a Thermaltake Silent Boost K8 since it was 21 dba. This thing runs very cool, and was very easy to install.

To those with problems: My best advice untill we get conclusive evidence as to the fixes, it make sure you have a good PSU, and better than PC3200 (or at least very good PC3200 CAS2) memory. I really want those with problems to reply back here when they figure it out to see if this advice holds.
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w gtx 560
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2 w/ GTX 980
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 06:44 PM   #5
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,965
Default RE:*** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

Edit stupid double post. Anyway, my install went flawlessly. I love this thing.
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w gtx 560
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2 w/ GTX 980
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 06:58 PM   #6
LeeC
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 59
Default RE: *** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

I do not know why, but what I did was hook up both dvi, and theanalog cables to the card on the advice of someone else, and this thing has not skipped a beat since. I had both cables that came hooked up to my 19" syncmaster, and was puzzled as to why both would be hanging. It works on analog fine, but will not display if I am only using the dvi side. If I hook both up it displaysin digital, and the computer is stable , and boots up everytime. I am not going to question why, it just works.
LeeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 08:04 PM   #7
NFS4
No Lifer
 
NFS4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 72,633
Default RE: *** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

Markfw900, who is NKF4??
__________________
"I'm going to count to three, there will not be a four."
NFS4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 08:40 PM   #8
StumbleBum1
Diamond Member
 
StumbleBum1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 6,084
Default RE:*** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

New K8V Beta BIOS 1005.006 Here
I'll have some time to play with it tomorrow
__________________
Heatware
StumbleBum1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 10:28 PM   #9
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,965
Default RE:*** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

Quote:
Originally posted by: NFS4
Markfw900, who is NKF4??
Typo, I apologise.....
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w gtx 560
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2 w/ GTX 980
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 11:27 PM   #10
Dman877
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,710
Default RE:*** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

I have some bios questions on my K8V.

There's a whole bunch of ram settings I've never seen before and the manual doesn't offer much help.

It has the normal CAS/TRCD/TRP/TRAS but then it has a bunch I've never seen before.
Memclock mode - auto/limit
TRC - 7 to 13
TRFC - 9 to 15
TWR - 2 to 3
TRWT - 1 to 6
DDR Clock Delay - 50/22, 50/33, 50/44, 60/22, 60/33, 60/44 (I think these are divider settings maybe?)

Also, there's AMD Cool n' Quiet Mode, does anyone know what this does?

And finally, the HT menu has a bunch of options in it, none of which I know anything about, is anything in there worth playing with?
Dman877 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 02:09 PM   #11
jrussel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5
Default RE:*** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

ive got a k8v w/64 3000 400mhz mushkin mem and latest bios revs. problem is, i cant find any way to oc it in the bios. i can underclock it, but thats not exactly my goal
jrussel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 02:11 PM   #12
jrussel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5
Default RE:*** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

double post-sorry
jrussel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 02:34 PM   #13
Dman877
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,710
Default RE:*** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

Well I don't know what bios version you have but in my bios, in the jumperfree config menu you can raise the fsb.
Dman877 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 02:48 PM   #14
Peter
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 9,640
Default RE:*** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

This here news is something owners of this board will want to check out. Bad quality capacitors again ...
Peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 03:39 PM   #15
JetBlack69
Diamond Member
 
JetBlack69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,580
Default RE: *** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

EDIT: Problem solved, read my post below.

I just got the board today and I'm having problems. Here are my specs.

3000+ 64 OEM
K8 Silentboost heatsink
2x512 of Crucial PC3200 from their own web site for the board
ATI 9000

When I power up, it get a women telling me that "CPU failed due to overclocking" during the first boot. I cannot get to the BIOS and the monitor doesn't get a signal. I've tried
-swaping PSU to 400 watt
-using only one stick at a time in the first slot
-reseating the CPU, memory, and heatsink

I'm at a loss. Please help me.
__________________
"I've Got Thirteen Channels Of $hit On The T.V. To Choose From." - Pink Floyd.
JetBlack69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 03:47 PM   #16
StumbleBum1
Diamond Member
 
StumbleBum1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 6,084
Default RE:*** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

Quote:
Originally posted by: JetBlack69
I just got the board today and I'm having problems. Here are my specs.

3000+ 64 OEM
K8 Silentboost heatsink
2x512 of Crucial PC3200 from their own web site for the board
ATI 9000

When I power up, it get a women telling me that "CPU failed due to overclocking" during the first boot. I cannot get to the BIOS and the monitor doesn't get a signal. I've tried
-swaping PSU to 400 watt
-using only one stick at a time in the first slot
-reseating the CPU, memory, and heatsink

I'm at a loss. Please help me.

Try clearing the cmos on the board with the jumper
__________________
Heatware
StumbleBum1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 04:09 PM   #17
JetBlack69
Diamond Member
 
JetBlack69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,580
Default RE: *** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

Quote:
Try clearing the cmos on the board with the jumper
Forgot to say I've tried that too.
__________________
"I've Got Thirteen Channels Of $hit On The T.V. To Choose From." - Pink Floyd.
JetBlack69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 04:55 PM   #18
JetBlack69
Diamond Member
 
JetBlack69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,580
Default RE: *** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

http://www.crucial.com/store/PartSpe...64Z40B&cat=RAM
That is the memory I bought.
__________________
"I've Got Thirteen Channels Of $hit On The T.V. To Choose From." - Pink Floyd.
JetBlack69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 05:19 PM   #19
DAPUNISHER
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
DAPUNISHER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Rockledge, Fl
Posts: 19,626
Default RE:*** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

Quote:
Originally posted by: Peter
This here news is something owners of this board will want to check out. Bad quality capacitors again ...
Ouch! are you people even reading that link? That would have me checking it out pronto!
DAPUNISHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 06:49 PM   #20
First
Diamond Member
 
First's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 9,415
Default RE:*** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

Quote:
Originally posted by: DAPUNISHER
Quote:
Originally posted by: Peter
This here news is something owners of this board will want to check out. Bad quality capacitors again ...
Ouch! are you people even reading that link? That would have me checking it out pronto!
Apparently it's a very limited batch if K8V boards, but yes there are some.
First is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 09:16 PM   #21
Dman877
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,710
Default RE:*** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

I did check, none of my caps have that label... sigh of relief.
Dman877 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 11:31 PM   #22
Regs
Lifer
 
Regs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 16,396
Default RE:*** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

There has been a few people who have noticed random Hard drive reboots during power up. Apparently, for some odd reason, older hard drives don't like ASUS's IDE channels. Most likely because of out of date firmware on year-old 7200 RPM drives.
But when the HDD's are on the #1 IDE connector and opticals on the 2nd IDE connecter located on the motherboard, the hard drives restart during the boot process.

I had to make sure my optical drives were on IDE connector 1 and hard discs on IDE connector 2.


Question: Does the new Bios offer a performance increase?
Regs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 11:49 PM   #23
JetBlack69
Diamond Member
 
JetBlack69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,580
Default RE: *** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

I SOLVED MY PROBLEM!!!!!!!!

Everywhere I read in the manual said to start populating the memory banks with the blue bank, then fill up to the yellow. Anyhoo, that never worked. Then I put one in the middle yellow bank and all of a sudden, the moniter gets a signal!!!!! IT POST!!!!!! Then, I put the other stick in the other yellow bank and it found it!!!!!!!!

I'm installing windows as we speak!!!!
__________________
"I've Got Thirteen Channels Of $hit On The T.V. To Choose From." - Pink Floyd.
JetBlack69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2004, 12:11 AM   #24
Regs
Lifer
 
Regs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 16,396
Default RE:*** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

Odd. I think I purposely stayed away from the blue one. I guess it's sometimes benefiting to not read the manual.
Regs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2004, 11:39 AM   #25
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,965
Default RE:*** Official ASUS K8V/DELUXE (K8T800) Thread ***

Quote:
Originally posted by: JetBlack69
http://www.crucial.com/store/PartSpe...64Z40B&cat=RAM
That is the memory I bought.
Please read my post. I am fair sure that if you got good PC3500 CAS2, your problems would go away.
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w gtx 560
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2 w/ GTX 980
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.