Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-18-2010, 12:18 AM   #1
faxon
Platinum Member
 
faxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,098
Default PowerDVD 10 wont play blu-rays, plays DVDs fine

So i managed to loose the free copy of power DVD that came with my blu ray drive courtesy of LG, and the version shipped with my other blu-ray drives only works with that particular model of lite-on, so i decided to download power DVD 10. downloaded the $49.99 version, installed it and activated it, and then i went to try to watch disk 1 of season one of lost on BD, and it is throwing an error "there is a disk with an unsupported format in drive G:". it does this with blu ray disks that i know for a fact work just fine as well, so it has to be the software related. anyone have any ideas as to how to get powerdvd 10 to play a perfectly good working blu-ray disk? this is pissing me off, i dont know why it didnt just work right the first time, the way my old powerdvd did, and there is nothing in the settings that would lead me to think its anything specific
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsavo View Post
I ordered 3 screens from Dell and two of them came packed in dead oompa loompas. The third oompa loompa was alive.
2600k@4.6GHz, 3x Sapphire 7950s, MSI P67A-GD80, 4x4GB GSkill DDR1600, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w, 2x 1Tb F1 RAID1. D5>Apogee XT>MCR320-QP>FrozenQ Res for the CPU.
faxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 01:20 AM   #2
Mir96TA
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Delta Quadrant
Posts: 1,667
Default

Some times you have to update the software (Free update from Cyberlink)
Mir96TA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 01:35 AM   #3
faxon
Platinum Member
 
faxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,098
Default

i just downloaded it lol, i will check though anyway
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsavo View Post
I ordered 3 screens from Dell and two of them came packed in dead oompa loompas. The third oompa loompa was alive.
2600k@4.6GHz, 3x Sapphire 7950s, MSI P67A-GD80, 4x4GB GSkill DDR1600, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w, 2x 1Tb F1 RAID1. D5>Apogee XT>MCR320-QP>FrozenQ Res for the CPU.
faxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 11:47 AM   #4
yh125d
Diamond Member
 
yh125d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,725
Default

I actually lost my free powerdvd from an lg drive as well. I have the disc, just no sort of product key or whatever.

Oh well, I can still rip them with anydvd and play the file then
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by girlsname View Post
actually this election was between a buick and a lambo only once you got the lambo you realized it was really a fiero kitcar
yh125d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 12:43 PM   #5
Kenmitch
Diamond Member
 
Kenmitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 92557
Posts: 5,678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yh125d View Post
I actually lost my free powerdvd from an lg drive as well. I have the disc, just no sort of product key or whatever.

Oh well, I can still rip them with anydvd and play the file then
I don't think you need any code to install....At least I didn't with either of the LG's I have/had but then again mine came with the LG's that also play the HD-DVD's so may be a diff version.
__________________
HeatWare
Email
Kenmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 12:54 PM   #6
yh125d
Diamond Member
 
yh125d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,725
Default

No mine is the BR/HD-DVD as well. I don't particularly remember ever having one, but I know that last time I tried to install it it asked for one
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by girlsname View Post
actually this election was between a buick and a lambo only once you got the lambo you realized it was really a fiero kitcar
yh125d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 02:05 PM   #7
Quiksilver
Diamond Member
 
Quiksilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,718
Default

See if there is a newer firmware for your blu-ray drive on LG's site.
__________________
.'`,I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes.'`,
Quiksilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 02:58 PM   #8
faxon
Platinum Member
 
faxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,098
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quiksilver View Post
See if there is a newer firmware for your blu-ray drive on LG's site.
their site doesnt even have any software available on it, the only way to get anything form them it seems is to call them. this is stupid, if they really dont make any software downloads available on their site im not buying an LG drive again

http://www.lg.com/us/computer-produc...r-GBC-H20L.jsp

btw for firmware updates, they gave me a piece of software on the same disk as the powerDVD that im supposed to have installed, but it stopped working when i upgrade installed to windows 7, and to be honest im not sure if it ever really did anything other than the first day i installed it when i ran it and it updated. i tried updating plenty of times since then and there either wasnt an update or the tool doesnt work. the way it's supposed to work is just go out to the internet and keep the drive updated on its own, but if this is a firmware update problem then it obviously didnt do that. i should mention that most of the blu-rays i tested with worked just fine as early as yesterday, so i dont know why it wouldnt work now
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsavo View Post
I ordered 3 screens from Dell and two of them came packed in dead oompa loompas. The third oompa loompa was alive.
2600k@4.6GHz, 3x Sapphire 7950s, MSI P67A-GD80, 4x4GB GSkill DDR1600, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w, 2x 1Tb F1 RAID1. D5>Apogee XT>MCR320-QP>FrozenQ Res for the CPU.

Last edited by faxon; 05-18-2010 at 03:01 PM.
faxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 03:58 PM   #9
OILFIELDTRASH
Lifer
 
OILFIELDTRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,239
Default

Why don't you download totalmediatheatre 3 and see if that works? They give you a free trial and that should be good enough to see if it's software related or your drive is not functioning properly.
OILFIELDTRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 05:53 PM   #10
d4a2n0k
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Island Park, NY
Posts: 361
Default

You have the pay the 100 bucks for the Ultra version to play Bluray. Its an f'in scam!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PowerDVD
http://www.cyberlink.com/products/po...ail_en_US.html

That right, you can buy a freaking stand alone Bluray player for your TV for the same price as their software!

Last edited by d4a2n0k; 05-18-2010 at 05:55 PM.
d4a2n0k is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 06:28 PM   #11
pcsavvy
Senior Member
 
pcsavvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: California
Posts: 298
Default

I bought the LG Bluray player for my pc and the accompaning PowerDvd wouldn't work on my Windows 7 64 bit computer, no matter what I tried either it would play regular dvds or just shut down.
So I went to Newegg purchased the downloadable version of Corel WinDVD version 9 for about 30 bucks and now I can play any type of movie I want.

Eventually I may upgrade to the version 10 but I will wait till it goes on special.
__________________
Intel Pentium G3240 3.2GHz
Asus H81M-Plus mAtx
Sapphire HD 7770 GHz Edition
G Skill 8 GBs DDR3 1866
Corsair 350D Case w/CX500M psu
pcsavvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 07:30 PM   #12
wlee15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 295
Default

You bought the wrong version you need the Ultra version of PowerDVD.

http://www.cyberlink.com/products/po...ail_en_US.html
wlee15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 08:26 PM   #13
faxon
Platinum Member
 
faxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,098
Default

Well that's fucking lame. I looked at that before buying it though and I didn't see anything saying it doesn't play them. Where do you see it saying it won't play BD-ROM?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsavo View Post
I ordered 3 screens from Dell and two of them came packed in dead oompa loompas. The third oompa loompa was alive.
2600k@4.6GHz, 3x Sapphire 7950s, MSI P67A-GD80, 4x4GB GSkill DDR1600, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w, 2x 1Tb F1 RAID1. D5>Apogee XT>MCR320-QP>FrozenQ Res for the CPU.
faxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 09:06 PM   #14
pcsavvy
Senior Member
 
pcsavvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: California
Posts: 298
Default

My included software said it was the PowerDVD Blu Ray version OEM but it would not work on my computer so rather than spend $100 on software. I searched and found a bluray compatitable software that didn't cost an arm and leg.
Unfortunately with PowerDvd, if you want to play Bluray you have to have the Ultra version and I was NOT going to spend $99.99 on software. NO WAY!!

Corel WinDVD 9 (download version)($29.99 @ NE) was easy to install but I did have to be patient in downloading the updates for it but once I got it done, it has worked like a champ with no problems.
Yeah, it is an older version but it works till I can afford to upgrade.
__________________
Intel Pentium G3240 3.2GHz
Asus H81M-Plus mAtx
Sapphire HD 7770 GHz Edition
G Skill 8 GBs DDR3 1866
Corsair 350D Case w/CX500M psu

Last edited by pcsavvy; 05-18-2010 at 09:10 PM. Reason: Add a little more info...
pcsavvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 09:08 PM   #15
Kenmitch
Diamond Member
 
Kenmitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 92557
Posts: 5,678
Default

What LG drive did you buy? What version of PowerDVD did it come with?

Maybe somebody could send you a backed up copy of the original disc you lost
__________________
HeatWare
Email
Kenmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 09:08 PM   #16
d4a2n0k
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Island Park, NY
Posts: 361
Thumbs down

http://www.cyberlink.com/products/po...ail_en_US.html

Look under HD video support and see all those missing check marks for the standard and deluxe editions? Its been like this for Powerdvd 8 & 9 as well. Only the Ultra version will play Blurays.

On top of this, there are still bugs they never worked out in earlier versions, you are Cyberlinks beta tester. They are a bunch of crooks. They probably figure if they trick people in to dropping 50 bucks, when they figure out it wont play Blurays, you ONLY have to cough up another 50 to get it working. They hide it on purpose....

No wonder there are TONS of torrents out there for Powerdvd, not that I condone piracy or anything.

**Forgot to mention that they just put it on sale for 95 bucks, what a deal!

Last edited by d4a2n0k; 05-18-2010 at 09:21 PM.
d4a2n0k is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 09:27 PM   #17
pcsavvy
Senior Member
 
pcsavvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: California
Posts: 298
Default

I got the Lite On model # iHOS104-08 with Cyberlink PowerDVD BD edition v8, 2 ch, Windows 7 Ready with True Theater HD. This software should have worked but didn't so I got one that did.
__________________
Intel Pentium G3240 3.2GHz
Asus H81M-Plus mAtx
Sapphire HD 7770 GHz Edition
G Skill 8 GBs DDR3 1866
Corsair 350D Case w/CX500M psu
pcsavvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 01:25 AM   #18
faxon
Platinum Member
 
faxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,098
Default

yea totalmedia theater works just fine, watching the pilot now for LOST. that's just fucking dirty of them to make it so hard to figure out which version supports BD playback. im gonna talk to my bank tomorrow about getting a chargeback on that $50 CC charge, and if they can, im gonna shop around for something from a company which isnt trying to con even experienced techs over
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsavo View Post
I ordered 3 screens from Dell and two of them came packed in dead oompa loompas. The third oompa loompa was alive.
2600k@4.6GHz, 3x Sapphire 7950s, MSI P67A-GD80, 4x4GB GSkill DDR1600, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w, 2x 1Tb F1 RAID1. D5>Apogee XT>MCR320-QP>FrozenQ Res for the CPU.
faxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 05:00 PM   #19
faxon
Platinum Member
 
faxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,098
Default

ooh my god lol, so my total media trial expired yesterday right? well guess what i found while i was doing some spring cleaning . found my free copy of powerDVD that came with my LG drive, was sitting under a huge pile of junk i just tossed out on a bookshelf i was about to get rid of. looks like no one's getting any more of my money now
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsavo View Post
I ordered 3 screens from Dell and two of them came packed in dead oompa loompas. The third oompa loompa was alive.
2600k@4.6GHz, 3x Sapphire 7950s, MSI P67A-GD80, 4x4GB GSkill DDR1600, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w, 2x 1Tb F1 RAID1. D5>Apogee XT>MCR320-QP>FrozenQ Res for the CPU.
faxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.