Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2015
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2007, 06:35 PM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 307
Default Trouble connecting IOLO?

I searched google and anandtech's forums before posting this...

I came back to my parents' house to 'fix' their computers (usually just retweeking a few settings).

They were having a hard time conneting to the internet, and through a trial-and-error approach, I diagnosed the router as the problem. With a new router came internet connectivity, which was good.

The problem is that my father wants to install Iolo System Mechanic 7 Pro. Try as we might, I cannot get it to connect to their servers for cdkey verification. Furthermore, I can't seem to get the iolo download manager to work when trying to download a diff version of SM7Pro.

Which port should I unlock to fix this? Or does anyone have any advice?

We're currently using a Belkin G+ MIMO router.

Any help is appreciated!
Teclis2323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 10:38 PM   #2
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 307
Default Trouble connecting IOLO?

bumping because I need help
Teclis2323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2007, 08:10 PM   #3
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 607
Default Trouble connecting IOLO?

You might try it without the router in the way. That being said, when I did a gogle search on the program all I found were people complaining about how horrible the program is.
tyanni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2007, 08:39 PM   #4
Super Moderator
Elite Member
JackMDS's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 27,349
Default Trouble connecting IOLO?

System Mechanic 4 was the last version of a good utility.

Pass this version it seems that that main goal of each upgrade is how to possess more and more of your computer.

The security part of SysMech is not so great, so if your dad wants it for security he is better of using other things (there are freeware that are better).

If one wants to use the Utility, install the suit without the Firewall, AV, or what ever else is Internet security related, and you would have better luck.

I all fairness the utilities per-se (without the security ?junk?) are very good.
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 11:50 AM   #5
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 307
Default Trouble connecting IOLO?

Even without the firewall, I cannot connect to the server...

Is this on Iolo's end, do you think?
Teclis2323 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.