Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2013, 10:35 PM   #1
johnnysti08
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 69
Default What ram should I get??

What 8GB (max 1600mhz or less) 2x4gb ram (Due to mobo limit) i should get? Budget for this $50 or less

Phenom x6 1045t 3.5ghz
Radeon 7770
Windows 7 64bit
johnnysti08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 12:37 AM   #2
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

Unless you have specific needs, can't go wrong with anything that runs at the industry standard 1.5v for DDR3. There is nothing magical about RAM (unless it is the Samsung "Magic" RAM ). Just buy the cheapest that is fast enough (in your case 1600MHz) and is 1.5v, and is the capacity you want.
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 01:01 AM   #3
dragantoe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 605
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820313080

it's cool looking and works, but check your local bestbuy, I got corsair vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz for $30 because it was on sale
__________________
Rig; Xeon L5639 @ 4ghz
x58 Sabertooth
8gb 2000 mhz RAM
force gt ssd
GTX 660 ti sli (1 asus dcu2, 1 evga sc)
modded HAF XB
dragantoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 05:11 AM   #4
Blain
Lifer
 
Blain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: SW Indiana
Posts: 23,107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnysti08 View Post
What ram should I get??
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blain View Post
If I were shopping for high quality memory, I would use the following parameters as a guide...

* DDR3 rated at 1.5v or lower
* DDR3 rated at the lowest CAS I could afford
* DDR3 rated at the highest clock speed I could afford
* Limit the scope of my purchease to G.Skill, Mushkin, Samsung, Corsair XMS or Crucial (non-Ballistix)

While not wavering on the voltage point, I would balance the other issues with my budget.

Remember, my goal is not pure "benchmarking" performance, but simply finding the highest quality memory I can afford.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blain View Post
The only reason I pay a premium for low latency, high speed, low voltage memory is...
Quality and quality alone.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blain View Post
1.5v is the JEDEC DDR3 voltage standard.
Stay with 1.5v or less if you can afford it..
What he said
__________________
USA...
Too many delicate hothouse flowers
Blain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 04:01 AM   #5
bryanl
Senior Member
 
bryanl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zap View Post
There is nothing magical about RAM (unless it is the Samsung "Magic" RAM ).
I buy Samsung RAM so I don't have to wonder if any computer problems are due to the RAM.
bryanl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 04:54 AM   #6
dawp
Diamond Member
 
dawp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: here until I move again
Posts: 6,709
Default

also, are you adding or replacing? if adding is your current mem 1.5 or 1.65, you may run into problems if it's 1.65 tho most likely not. you will want to set it to the lower voltage.

I move 2 sets of 1.65v dimms from a pair of amd boards to a pair of z77 boards and just lowered the voltage to 1.5 without issues.
__________________
We Have Met The Enemy and He Is Us

ASUS p8z77 v, i7 3770k, crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB, XFX HD7970 Black Edition
dawp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.