Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Console Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2013, 03:36 AM   #26
lamedude
Senior Member
 
lamedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ��
Posts: 973
Default

Already happened with the PS2 (moved RAM into EE+GS probably because they couldn't buy RDRAM anymore) and is happening with the PS3 (only Samsung makes XDR now).
lamedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 11:18 PM   #27
tbris84
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
Perhaps Sony is hoping to avoid the additional cost of DDR3, once they stop making it, as the industry moves on to DDR4 in the next year or so? Whereas, there is still likely to be a good supply of GDDR5 in the channel for a long time to come.
GDDR6 is set to release in early 2014 with a 6 year life expectancy, so they would be in the same situation either way.
tbris84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 12:32 AM   #28
dagamer34
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
Perhaps the added expense was having a seperate GDDR5 memory controller, alongside another DDR3 memory controller. Perhaps the additional number of I/O pins for that would have negated the cost savings from going with half GDDR5/DDR3.

Perhaps Sony is hoping to avoid the additional cost of DDR3, once they stop making it, as the industry moves on to DDR4 in the next year or so? Whereas, there is still likely to be a good supply of GDDR5 in the channel for a long time to come.

Could you imagine if the PS3 used DDR2 memory, and the price of said memory went up?
It's not as if anyone still uses GDDR3 in both the Xbox 360/PS3 or XDR RAM in PS3 anymore. There's no way to avoid that.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro with Retina Display (Mid 2012) | Mac mini (Late 2012) | iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air w/ LTE
dagamer34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 08:19 AM   #29
BladeVenom
Lifer
 
BladeVenom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13,542
Default

Going all GDDR5 seems expensive. Of course going all DDR3 like the Xbox One would cripple your graphics.
BladeVenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.