Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2013, 12:17 PM   #1
pandemonium
Golden Member
 
pandemonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 1,416
Default OpenCL supported Video Editor

I've been searching and so far the only recognized video editor I can find that supports OpenCL hardware acceleration is Sony's Vegas Pro (for more than just encode)? I'm not about to drop that kind of money for pet projects which are personal and not business related at all.

Are there any other options out there that have a timeline editor with high quality video/sound output?

Edit: I forgot I have another problem that even Vegas Pro can't resolve for me. I record videos with subtitle information: GPS, speed, altitude. I need that information to remain with the time indexes on the video without too much hassle. I think I just created a much bigger problem to solve. >.>

It looks like there's a subtitler for Cinelerra, but that'd be a pain recreating the final subtitle text files from cut video sources.

I guess my only solution for this will be to transcode my videos with the subtitles overlayed onto them, then make my cuts and have the subtitle information permanently on the video?

Edit #2: Handbrake can apparently handle subtitle pass-through. We'll see how this one works. Btw, Handbrake 'still' doesn't support hardware acceleration. :/
__________________
..:: |We are but shadows of our achievements and dust of the stars; empowering the universe to have conciousness.| ::..
..:: |Fighting ignorance is bliss.| ::..

If you're curious about getting into vaping, I'd be glad to help! I quit smoking with vaping! /truestory

Last edited by pandemonium; 02-22-2013 at 01:54 PM.
pandemonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 12:28 PM   #2
lxskllr
Lifer
 
lxskllr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 38,763
Default

Cinelerra. It's GNU/Linux only, but if you're willing to learn a couple things, a thumbdrive install of GNU/Linux and this would be a cost effective editor.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cinelerra
lxskllr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 12:34 PM   #3
pandemonium
Golden Member
 
pandemonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 1,416
Default

Thanks. Right now I'm a Windows only environment, but I always wanted to dabble with Linux. I'll consider it!
__________________
..:: |We are but shadows of our achievements and dust of the stars; empowering the universe to have conciousness.| ::..
..:: |Fighting ignorance is bliss.| ::..

If you're curious about getting into vaping, I'd be glad to help! I quit smoking with vaping! /truestory
pandemonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 05:49 PM   #4
slugg
Diamond Member
 
slugg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 4,152
Default

Why, may I ask, must it be GPU enabled?
__________________
  • ThinkPad T520 - srs bizniz
  • MacBook Air 11'' - iOS dev bizniz
  • 1999 Mazda Miata - (street legal gokart on steroids!)
  • 2002 Mazda Protege - (Work in progress)
slugg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 12:57 AM   #5
pandemonium
Golden Member
 
pandemonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 1,416
Default

Because I have about 40GB worth of video I'd like to go through (and growing). I've been eliminating some of it, but there are pieces to a lot of these recording sessions that I'd like to incorporate into a final edit. Using CPU alone would take...forever.
__________________
..:: |We are but shadows of our achievements and dust of the stars; empowering the universe to have conciousness.| ::..
..:: |Fighting ignorance is bliss.| ::..

If you're curious about getting into vaping, I'd be glad to help! I quit smoking with vaping! /truestory
pandemonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sony vegas pro 12

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.