Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Power Supplies

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2013, 01:22 PM   #1
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,319
Default A look into a dead PSU from a Dell (made by Acbel)

Specs


Top view



This came from a Dell Inspiron 546s I serviced. As you can see, most of the secondary caps are bulging. The primary is alright and the LED indicator light still comes on, but no power is going through that secondary to the motherboard.

(Pics are thumbnail links to imageshack)
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 07:55 PM   #2
bononos
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,602
Default

What is the brand of the secondary caps?
bononos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 08:35 PM   #3
Smoblikat
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,863
Default

we make low quality computers, what do you expect?
__________________
3770K|ASrock Z77 Extreme11|4x8gb DDR3 1600|4xHD6970|1440P 120hz - Buzzard
X6 1055T|ASUS M4A89GTD-EVO USB3|2x4gb Gskill 1600|HD4870X2 + HD48701gb - Virgo
2xXeon L5639|EVGA SR2|6x8gb DDR3|4x2TB
Smoblikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 09:15 PM   #4
Maximilian
Lifer
 
Maximilian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 12,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoblikat View Post
we make low quality computers, what do you expect?
You're with dell? Not much faith in your companies product
__________________
>2014
>sig line limit of 90 characters
Maximilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 03:55 AM   #5
bryanl
Senior Member
 
bryanl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 990
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bononos View Post
What is the brand of the secondary caps?
Ltec, written in cursive lettering and encircled with an ellipse. This can barely be seen on the capacitors near the top middle with grey silicone around them. Another characteristic of Ltec is the date code being whiter than the rest of the writing. Ltec is not the worst for power supplies.
bryanl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 09:16 AM   #6
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,319
Default

Probably, since it is in the TFX form factor, heat might accelerated this capacitor bulging.

One of these days, I might get a soldering iron and try to revive this thing. After all, the LED light that tells you it is plugged in is working.
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 12:22 PM   #7
zephyrprime
Diamond Member
 
zephyrprime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 7,327
Default

It's pretty easy to solder in new caps. You can buy kits on ebay with all the most common caps needed for computer components.
zephyrprime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 12:34 PM   #8
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,998
Default

How easy is it to remove dead caps?
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 02:34 PM   #9
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
How easy is it to remove dead caps?
Normally it is pretty easy if you have the soldering iron and either the wick or the suction remover. Prob could get both for under $20 at the store.
imagoon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 03:00 PM   #10
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
How easy is it to remove dead caps?
It's the easiest solder component you could remove and replace. As long as the traces aren't ruined around the cap, it's what you pray for when you have a malfunctioning device.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 04:53 AM   #11
Blastman
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,721
Default

Where is the fan on that psu? Does it not have one?
__________________
i3-530 - 2.93Ghz 1.01v undervolted | or O/C 4.0Ghz 1.21v
Gigabyte GA-H55M-UD2H | Kingston 2x2GB 1333 ValueRAM
Seagate 500GB 7200.12
Blastman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:07 AM   #12
cafayzieg
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 34
Default

It seems that a lot things to keep in mind. Ty.
cafayzieg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:11 PM   #13
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blastman View Post
Where is the fan on that psu? Does it not have one?
Yes it does, but I removed it. I think it gets attached to the cover, which isn't present in these pics.
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 04:11 AM   #14
3DVagabond
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 8,597
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imagoon View Post
Normally it is pretty easy if you have the soldering iron and either the wick or the suction remover. Prob could get both for under $20 at the store.
You could probably replace the PSU for $20 too.
3DVagabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 10:01 AM   #15
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DVagabond View Post
You could probably replace the PSU for $20 too.
$20 PSUs are usually shitty ones unless the Corsair CX430 has a rebate going on.
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 10:33 AM   #16
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DVagabond View Post
You could probably replace the PSU for $20 too.
I personally won't run $20 PSUs. Properly built they should last a decade or more.
imagoon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 11:15 AM   #17
bigboxes
Golden Member
 
bigboxes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 1,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imagoon View Post
I personally won't run $20 PSUs. Properly built they should last a decade or more.
In your dreams. I don't believe you. Even Seasonics don't last. There's a reason that their warranties aren't longer than five years. I do agree with the logic behind not running a $20 psu.
__________________
|| Core i7 920 D0 HT @ 3.2Ghz @ 1.2v || TRUE Rev.C + Noctua NF-P12 ||
|| P6T Deluxe V2 || 6GB Super Talent DDR3-1600 Cas 9-9-9-28 2T ||
|| Gigabyte Radeon HD 4890OC 1GB || SeaSonic M12D SS-850 850W ||
|| Cherry G80 || Windows 7 x64 Ultimate || WD Raptor 74GB ||
|| Antec P183 || LinksKey 4 port KVM || NEC 20WMGX2 ||
|| Creative Soundblaster X-Fi XtremeMusic || Swans M-200 || Go Huskers!
bigboxes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 12:02 PM   #18
Charlie98
Diamond Member
 
Charlie98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 4,298
Default

My CX430v2 was $17... guess I better go out and buy a more expensive one...

There is an exception to every rule... (in both directions, by the way.)
__________________
DESK: i5 2500K, ASUS Z68 MIVG-Z, 212+ P/P, M5Pro 256GB, 2TB Seagate, 2x 4GB Samsung RAM, EVGA 560Ti 448, Corsair TX750v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7
HTPC: Pentium G620, Giga B75M-D3H, M500 120GB, 3 x 3TB HDD, 2x 2GB Nanya RAM, Diamond HD6450, Corsair CX430v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7, WMC/MB
DESK3: Pentium G3258 @ 3.8GHz, Giga H81M-H, 840Pro 256GB, HyperX 128GB, 2x 4GB Team RAM, EVGA 760SC ACX, Corsair CX430M, Fractal Arc Mini, W8.1
Charlie98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 12:20 PM   #19
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigboxes View Post
In your dreams. I don't believe you. Even Seasonics don't last. There's a reason that their warranties aren't longer than five years. I do agree with the logic behind not running a $20 psu.
My 2 PC power and cooling units are 10 years old with 10 years of run time -power outages. They both run fine. I have several Dell servers that were finally retired after 8.5 years of service on the original power supplies. I suspect they would have kept going if I had let them. My father to this day is still running an old Windows XP machine that I built him in 2003 that is also running on the original PSU and has been running 24/7 that entire time. Then there is my Mitel PBX... Original PSU set and 18 years old.

So it is not "in my dreams" but in reality.

Last edited by imagoon; 02-25-2013 at 12:22 PM.
imagoon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 12:20 PM   #20
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie98 View Post
My CX430v2 was $17... guess I better go out and buy a more expensive one...

There is an exception to every rule... (in both directions, by the way.)
Well getting fantastic deals on quality supplies count. I normally consider the $20 stuff as the cheap Chinese stuff that uses fake caps etc.
imagoon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 05:34 PM   #21
bigboxes
Golden Member
 
bigboxes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 1,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imagoon View Post
My 2 PC power and cooling units are 10 years old with 10 years of run time -power outages. They both run fine. I have several Dell servers that were finally retired after 8.5 years of service on the original power supplies. I suspect they would have kept going if I had let them. My father to this day is still running an old Windows XP machine that I built him in 2003 that is also running on the original PSU and has been running 24/7 that entire time. Then there is my Mitel PBX... Original PSU set and 18 years old.

So it is not "in my dreams" but in reality.
Well, I still say that you are being unrealistic in your expectations for a power supply. I say they rarely make it to ten years. Even quality ones. I do think that they should make it to five years without issues, but I know that is not always the case with consumer power supplies. I switched to Seasonic branded power supplies back in 2006. Finally had to replace the power supply in my file server after 6+ years. Upon inspection I couldn't find any sign of failure. Only the 11v readings on the 12v rails showed it was the psu that was the problem. I did have one Antec (a 300w unit) from my 2000 T-bird build that finally died last year.
__________________
|| Core i7 920 D0 HT @ 3.2Ghz @ 1.2v || TRUE Rev.C + Noctua NF-P12 ||
|| P6T Deluxe V2 || 6GB Super Talent DDR3-1600 Cas 9-9-9-28 2T ||
|| Gigabyte Radeon HD 4890OC 1GB || SeaSonic M12D SS-850 850W ||
|| Cherry G80 || Windows 7 x64 Ultimate || WD Raptor 74GB ||
|| Antec P183 || LinksKey 4 port KVM || NEC 20WMGX2 ||
|| Creative Soundblaster X-Fi XtremeMusic || Swans M-200 || Go Huskers!
bigboxes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 06:05 PM   #22
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigboxes View Post
Well, I still say that you are being unrealistic in your expectations for a power supply. I say they rarely make it to ten years. Even quality ones. I do think that they should make it to five years without issues, but I know that is not always the case with consumer power supplies. I switched to Seasonic branded power supplies back in 2006. Finally had to replace the power supply in my file server after 6+ years. Upon inspection I couldn't find any sign of failure. Only the 11v readings on the 12v rails showed it was the psu that was the problem. I did have one Antec (a 300w unit) from my 2000 T-bird build that finally died last year.
Not really. Well built supplies can last for decades. My 1979 IBM XT still powers on with the factory supply. I consider that impressive.

Continuing down the line of power supplies... The 1000 -> 4000 watt arc lamp supplies at the movie theater here are still running after being installed 1984 also. 15x originals. Not bad for pushing 225 amps continuous load.
imagoon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 12:21 AM   #23
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie98 View Post
My CX430v2 was $17... guess I better go out and buy a more expensive one...

There is an exception to every rule... (in both directions, by the way.)
Hence why I explicitly mentioned the CX430.
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.