Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-19-2013, 09:10 AM   #851
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RussianSensation View Post
I think the MSI TF3 is voltage unlocked. A couple guys got some newer ones and they reaches 1200mhz. MSI TF3 from the beginning tended to be a stellar OCer, especially the 6+8 pin / 7970 PCB versions!

Here is a review of both of them head-to-head. I am guessing that's the one you looked at
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...review-18.html
Yes, but that review now seems to be outdated, with the newer versions of TF3s and the newer Windforces.

I'm still torn in between which one to get? The MSI seems to be rarer even though the GB is supposed to have a better cooler? For the TF3, Newegg and SuperBiiz are out of stock, Amazon and TD are selling them for a good amount more than the others (330+ vs 300-), and so I'm left with US NCIX, which is quite unfortunate. On the other hand, the Gigabyte I can get from Amazon Prime for $300 flat.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590

Last edited by Eureka; 02-19-2013 at 09:13 AM.
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 09:29 AM   #852
zaydq
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 778
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eureka View Post
Yes, but that review now seems to be outdated, with the newer versions of TF3s and the newer Windforces.

I'm still torn in between which one to get? The MSI seems to be rarer even though the GB is supposed to have a better cooler? For the TF3, Newegg and SuperBiiz are out of stock, Amazon and TD are selling them for a good amount more than the others (330+ vs 300-), and so I'm left with US NCIX, which is quite unfortunate. On the other hand, the Gigabyte I can get from Amazon Prime for $300 flat.
They are both great 7950s. The WF3 is a capable overclocker and for the price and availability it'd be difficult to argue forbthe TF3. But, the TF3 has a stellar oc track record(this thread being proof!) and tends to hit higher frequencies with lower voltages than the WF3.

If i were you, just get a WF3 and call it a day. I ran my TF3 at 1200/1800 until the fan noise got annoying so i dropped it down to 1100/1500, easily gotten by a WF3.
zaydq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 02:53 PM   #853
Tfist
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Hey all. I just got my Powercolor PCS Boost State today.

I'm really happy with it! It handily clocked to 1080 on the GPU with core temp at approx 50 degrees and the vrms in the mid 50's. The fans were at 50% speed for these temps, and it was whisper quiet. I didn't change the memory clock.

I was concerned about going with Powercolor, and there was one minor problem. The tabs on the back end of the exhaust plate were bent a little bit outwards, which meant I had to bend them back to get the thing into place on the mobo. Other than that, awesome.

Last edited by Tfist; 02-19-2013 at 04:04 PM. Reason: error
Tfist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 05:15 PM   #854
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zaydq View Post
They are both great 7950s. The WF3 is a capable overclocker and for the price and availability it'd be difficult to argue forbthe TF3. But, the TF3 has a stellar oc track record(this thread being proof!) and tends to hit higher frequencies with lower voltages than the WF3.

If i were you, just get a WF3 and call it a day. I ran my TF3 at 1200/1800 until the fan noise got annoying so i dropped it down to 1100/1500, easily gotten by a WF3.
Thanks.

I got the WF3. Availability and bigger cooler won it over for me, and the additional card bracing is a nice touch available on the GB.

Hopefully I'll get one of the ones with the unlocked voltage BIOS, and we'll see how fast these things really overclock.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 09:12 PM   #855
zaydq
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 778
Default

Keep us posted!!

As for the powercolor, id be interested to ser what more you could get out of it... I havent heard much in terms of ocing finesse but they do have a pretty good cooler.
zaydq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 03:29 PM   #856
Interitus
Platinum Member
 
Interitus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,092
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Interitus View Post
Kind of an update for mine...

I'm blind first off... it's 1.018 not 1.18v stock. I don't know how I convinced myself that was true, especially after reading it in 3 different monitoring programs.

Anyways, played with undervolting a little.. didn't seem to help much. Temps maybe dropped 1*C at the TF3's "stock" clocks. Fan profile stayed the same, spins up to 65% a lot on auto.

I think I may have some counter productive airflow going on in my case. First card I've had in a while that didn't have a blower style HSF. Got some eye candy accessories coming in a week or so, will try to figure out the airflow during that teardown.

FWIW, it passed Kombuster for 15 mins with no ill effects at stock clocks and .905v (915mv) in AB before I gave up trying to remedy the fan noise. Didn't long term test, but still. Really impressed with the card save for the cooler noise. Not gonna give up on it yet though, wanna rule out crappy airflow as the reason for high temps first.
Been awhile, but I finally got the time to dig into this a bit.

I definitely had some counter-productive airflow going on. Playing with a probe, there was a heat cloud (for lack of better description) hovering right under the GPU. Swapped some fan directions and got it remedied.

The TF3 now runs at 31 idle, around 65 load, maxed out right at 50% fan. Before it was in the 40's idle, mid to high 70's load, and fan was constantly in the 65-70% area.

Lots happier.
__________________
"Spent some quality time with this demon of mine. He said... " I like the way you struggle, but you know I'm here to win..." - Anders Friden
95+ Heat
Interitus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 04:14 PM   #857
Rhezuss
Diamond Member
 
Rhezuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,082
Default

Damn, just did 1150core/1600mem at 1.23v on the core and 1.6v on the memory.
Ran Valley 1.0 4 times with these clocks and it's stable.

Temps are 67C on the core and 72C/73C on the VRMs.

Pretty cool I say!
__________________
Maturity is for boring people

Win7 Pro 64-bit | ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | i7 3770K w/ 212 EVO @ 4.4GHz | G.skill Ares 2x4gb DDR3-1866 | M4 128gb SSD (Boot) + WD RE4 500gb (Games) + WD Blue 320gb | EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX2.0 | X-Fi Titanium HD | XFX TS 650W 80+ Gold | LG 23" LCD 1080p | CM690 II Advanced | Logitech Z623 |
Rhezuss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 04:31 PM   #858
Grooveriding
Diamond Member
 
Grooveriding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 6,177
Default

My 7950 TF3 does 1200/1350 on 1.25V. Memory may go higher, I just turned the memory up 100mhz and played with the core speed.
__________________
5960X @ 4.5 | X99 Deluxe | 16GB 2600 GSkill DDR4 | 780ti SLI | Evo 500GB Raid 0 | Dell U3011 | EVGA 1300W G2
under custom water
Grooveriding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 04:51 PM   #859
Rhezuss
Diamond Member
 
Rhezuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grooveriding View Post
My 7950 TF3 does 1200/1350 on 1.25V. Memory may go higher, I just turned the memory up 100mhz and played with the core speed.
Yeah mine doesn't like 1200 on the core so i'm leaving it at 1150...even thinking about lowering it to 1100 since it is plenty for now.

EDIT: 1150/1500 (1.237v/1.6v) seems to be my card sweet spot. I'll leave it at that and play games on it. Only games that seem to crash are Crysis 2 and Crysis 3 after 10-15 minutes. Not always but sometimes I get the vertical lines crash...
__________________
Maturity is for boring people

Win7 Pro 64-bit | ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | i7 3770K w/ 212 EVO @ 4.4GHz | G.skill Ares 2x4gb DDR3-1866 | M4 128gb SSD (Boot) + WD RE4 500gb (Games) + WD Blue 320gb | EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX2.0 | X-Fi Titanium HD | XFX TS 650W 80+ Gold | LG 23" LCD 1080p | CM690 II Advanced | Logitech Z623 |

Last edited by Rhezuss; 02-20-2013 at 05:23 PM.
Rhezuss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 08:35 PM   #860
zaydq
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 778
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhezuss View Post
Yeah mine doesn't like 1200 on the core so i'm leaving it at 1150...even thinking about lowering it to 1100 since it is plenty for now.

EDIT: 1150/1500 (1.237v/1.6v) seems to be my card sweet spot. I'll leave it at that and play games on it. Only games that seem to crash are Crysis 2 and Crysis 3 after 10-15 minutes. Not always but sometimes I get the vertical lines crash...
Thats unstable... Tweak the ram frequency and see how that does.
zaydq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 08:36 PM   #861
zaydq
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 778
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grooveriding View Post
My 7950 TF3 does 1200/1350 on 1.25V. Memory may go higher, I just turned the memory up 100mhz and played with the core speed.
You could do 1200 on less voltage probably... I hit 1200 at 1168mV.
zaydq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 11:14 PM   #862
Rhezuss
Diamond Member
 
Rhezuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zaydq View Post
Thats unstable... Tweak the ram frequency and see how that does.
Lol that's not "instable" you're just luckier than me and got a more tolerant card.
__________________
Maturity is for boring people

Win7 Pro 64-bit | ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | i7 3770K w/ 212 EVO @ 4.4GHz | G.skill Ares 2x4gb DDR3-1866 | M4 128gb SSD (Boot) + WD RE4 500gb (Games) + WD Blue 320gb | EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX2.0 | X-Fi Titanium HD | XFX TS 650W 80+ Gold | LG 23" LCD 1080p | CM690 II Advanced | Logitech Z623 |
Rhezuss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 01:42 AM   #863
Accord99
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhezuss View Post
My Gigabyte that shipped with the FZ1 bios (locked 1.25v, 1000MHz on the core),
Is it always locked to 1.25V (other than for idle) or can you manually undervolt it any way?
Accord99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 08:18 AM   #864
Rhezuss
Diamond Member
 
Rhezuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Accord99 View Post
Is it always locked to 1.25V (other than for idle) or can you manually undervolt it any way?
The FZ1 bios locked the voltage at 1.25v under load. You can't adjust that voltage anyway you'd want.

I flashed the position #1 on the switch with the latest F43 bios and now with Afterburner I can adjust the voltage the way I want it.

Some cards are locked, others are not.
__________________
Maturity is for boring people

Win7 Pro 64-bit | ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | i7 3770K w/ 212 EVO @ 4.4GHz | G.skill Ares 2x4gb DDR3-1866 | M4 128gb SSD (Boot) + WD RE4 500gb (Games) + WD Blue 320gb | EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX2.0 | X-Fi Titanium HD | XFX TS 650W 80+ Gold | LG 23" LCD 1080p | CM690 II Advanced | Logitech Z623 |
Rhezuss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 11:11 AM   #865
psolord
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 402
Default

So, what kind of clocks am I looking for, in order to get 7970 GE performance out of a 7950 WF3?
psolord is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 01:05 PM   #866
Rhezuss
Diamond Member
 
Rhezuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by psolord View Post
So, what kind of clocks am I looking for, in order to get 7970 GE performance out of a 7950 WF3?
1100core/1400-1500mem would do the trick.
To get to 1100 on the core you would need to bump your voltage a bit...mine did it at 1.2v but i'm sure I could get it at a lower value.

I got mine at 1150/1500 (1.237v/1.6v) and temps are damn fine (66C on the core and +/-70C on the VRMs under load). This WF3 cooler is awesome, silent and efficient.
__________________
Maturity is for boring people

Win7 Pro 64-bit | ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | i7 3770K w/ 212 EVO @ 4.4GHz | G.skill Ares 2x4gb DDR3-1866 | M4 128gb SSD (Boot) + WD RE4 500gb (Games) + WD Blue 320gb | EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX2.0 | X-Fi Titanium HD | XFX TS 650W 80+ Gold | LG 23" LCD 1080p | CM690 II Advanced | Logitech Z623 |
Rhezuss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 04:18 AM   #867
psolord
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhezuss View Post
1100core/1400-1500mem would do the trick.
To get to 1100 on the core you would need to bump your voltage a bit...mine did it at 1.2v but i'm sure I could get it at a lower value.

I got mine at 1150/1500 (1.237v/1.6v) and temps are damn fine (66C on the core and +/-70C on the VRMs under load). This WF3 cooler is awesome, silent and efficient.
That's great, thanks.

So I am guessing 1200Mhz at 1.25V should be higher limit for OC right?

Do you really have to OC the memory as well, when overclocking tahitis? I mean their 384bit bus shouldn't cause any kind of memory bottleneck, correct?
psolord is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 06:44 AM   #868
Rikard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Alps
Posts: 423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by psolord View Post
That's great, thanks.

So I am guessing 1200Mhz at 1.25V should be higher limit for OC right?

Do you really have to OC the memory as well, when overclocking tahitis? I mean their 384bit bus shouldn't cause any kind of memory bottleneck, correct?

You do gain some performance. It is up to you to decide if this gain is worth it. I do not OC memory on my 24/7 setup.
__________________
Fractal Design Define R4 | Asus P8Z68-V Gen3 | Intel i5-2500 @ 4.3 GHz | Corsair AX 650 W
CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo | Corsair 16 GB 1.6 GHz | BluRay3D ASUS BC-12B1ST
Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X (8+8 pin) | 2x Fractal Design Silent Series R2 | Corsair M90
3x Xigmatek XAF-F1454 | Maxkeyboard Nighthawk X8 Semi-custom(MX Brown)
Corsair Vengeance 2000 7.1 Headset | Samsung Syncmaster BX2450 1080p@75 Hz
Rikard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 06:56 AM   #869
psolord
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 402
Default

1500 seems to be a nice speed for the memory then. Since the 7970 is running at 1375 anyway, 125Mhz more shouldn't be much of a problem.

Are the 7970 and 7950 using the same chips?

Btw, I was checking my 5850 Crossfire system for the past few days. I noticed that in both 13.2/5 and 13.2/6, my second 5850 jumps to high 2D/low 3D clocks (300/900) when MSI Afterburner is started. When MSI Afterburner is closed the clocks drop to 157/300 as they should.

Also I noticed that while the problem manifests, if I start up gpuz, the problem goes away.

Obviously this is not a problem of the driver per se, but I was wondering if anyone has noticed the same on 7950 CFX.

Also will Overvoltage work as it does on my 5850 system? By just enabling the appropriate settings? I am getting two Gigabyte 7950 WF3s, the 900Mhz models.
psolord is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 10:08 AM   #870
Zargon
Lifer
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 11,829
Default

thanks to PS2 I have ordered a second

windforce this time
__________________
heatware | steam | ebay
Reaumur(Gamer): Silverstone Raven02, Antec HCG900, Z77 Fata1ity/3770K, 16GB DDR3-1833, 2x7950@1Ghz, 27" IPS
Kelvin(3D-HTPC):Q9550 w/H50, P5G41, 4GB DDR2-1066, 5870 w accellero xtreme
Chill(Server): Thuban x6@3.3 wH50 8gb ddr3 4x1.5tb ESXi
Zargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 03:59 PM   #871
GrantMeThePower
Platinum Member
 
GrantMeThePower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: South Pas (near Los Angeles)
Posts: 2,886
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhezuss View Post
1100core/1400-1500mem would do the trick.
To get to 1100 on the core you would need to bump your voltage a bit...mine did it at 1.2v but i'm sure I could get it at a lower value.

I got mine at 1150/1500 (1.237v/1.6v) and temps are damn fine (66C on the core and +/-70C on the VRMs under load). This WF3 cooler is awesome, silent and efficient.
Do you have a link that explains how to do this? i just ordered this card and have never overclocked anything.
__________________
Go Lakers!
XBL GT:GrantMeThePower

Heat
GrantMeThePower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 04:49 PM   #872
Marco St
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Hello everybody,

I don't have the expertise/knowledge to follow your conversations. So, I just want to ask you a simple, or maybe not, question.

I'm going to buy a "SAPPHIRE ATI Radeon HD 7950 Vapor-X Boost 3GB GDDR5" the next week. See here:
http://www.ar-hard.com.ar/home/placa...oost-3gb-gddr5

Do you have any advise that could be useful to me before I actually buy this? I mean like "for that card you need at least 500w...", "I would avoid that driver if I were you..." kind of...

I'm not planing to do overclock or anything (i dont take any chances... money-wise).

My pc is:
Quote:
Windows 7 64bits
GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H - ATX Motherboard de 1600/1333/1066MHz (Socket 1155)
Intel - Core™ i5-3570K Procesador
520 series SSD Intel 180gb Serial ATA
16gb RAM (Kingston - HyperX KHX1600C9D3K2/8G Módulo de memoria DDR3 SDRAM de 8GB)x2
Performance KC-CFA 780W with cooler
English is not my mother language so, I apologize for any grammar spelling.

Thank you very much!

Last edited by Marco St; 02-22-2013 at 05:02 PM.
Marco St is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 04:56 PM   #873
Rhezuss
Diamond Member
 
Rhezuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,082
Default

Here's a post I made over on Guru3D and some links on how to do all this.

FIRST: Here's how to flash the bios on your card if you don't have version F43 (015.026.000.000.000907). Check post #6 on this link: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=373744

Now how to unlock MSI Afterburner to overclock and adjust voltage:
If you have bios F43 (015.026.000.000.000907), keep it. It's the best bios the Gigabyte can have at the moment.

You have some steps to take in order to unlock the voltage in Afterburner.
Here's what I did yesterday:

1) Clean install of the latest AMD drivers. I installed 13.2 Beta 6.
- Uninstalled / reboot in safe mode / clean with Driver Sweeper / reboot / Manually clean the registry removing all AMD/ATI folders under Local Machine/Softwares / install drivers / reboot.

- DO NOT enable AMD Overdrive in CCC.

2) Install MSI Afterburner.
- After the installation is comlpete, start Afterburner. It'll prompt you to reboot, do it.
- After the reboot is complete, right click on the application icon on your desktop and go in Properties. In the Target box, add at the end /xcl just after the ". It should look like "xxxxxxx.exe" /xcl. Click Apply/Ok.
- Start Afterburner. A window will pop saying something like "You enabled high overclock". Click ok/close this window.
- After you got the message, go back in Properties and remove the /xcl in the Target box and click Apply/Ok.
- Reboot your PC.

3) Once rebooted go in Afterburner Settings and click "Enable voltage unlock" and "Enable voltage monitoring". You should enable "Start with Windows" and "Start minimized".

From there you should be good to go!

Here's the link where I found this method: http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...php?t=18431335


If you have any questions don't hesitate.
__________________
Maturity is for boring people

Win7 Pro 64-bit | ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | i7 3770K w/ 212 EVO @ 4.4GHz | G.skill Ares 2x4gb DDR3-1866 | M4 128gb SSD (Boot) + WD RE4 500gb (Games) + WD Blue 320gb | EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX2.0 | X-Fi Titanium HD | XFX TS 650W 80+ Gold | LG 23" LCD 1080p | CM690 II Advanced | Logitech Z623 |
Rhezuss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 05:02 PM   #874
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco St View Post
Hello everybody,

I don't have the expertise/knowledge to follow your conversations. So, I just want to ask you a simple, or maybe not, question.

I'm going to buy a "SAPPHIRE ATI Radeon HD 7950 Vapor-X Boost 3GB GDDR5" the next week. See here:
http://www.ar-hard.com.ar/home/placa...oost-3gb-gddr5

Do you have any advise that could be useful to me before I actually buy this? I mean like "for that card you need at least 500w...", "I would avoid that driver if I were you..." kind of...

I'm not planing to do overclock or anything (i dont take any chances... money-wise). My pc is:

Win 7
GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H - ATX Motherboard de 1600/1333/1066MHz (Socket 1155)
Intel - Core™ i5-3570K Procesador
520 series SSD Intel 180gb Serial ATA
16gb RAM (Kingston - HyperX KHX1600C9D3K2/8G Módulo de memoria DDR3 SDRAM de 8GB)x2
Performance KC-CFA 780W with cooler


English is not my mother language so, I apologize for any grammar spelling.

Thank you very much!
Looks good to me. Make sure your motherboard BIOS is up to date, those older Gigabyte BIOS can be very finicky. Get the latest driver from AMD, either 13.1 WHQL or 13.2 beta 6. The WHQL is the "stable" driver, but the 13.2 drivers is the ones which are supposed to fix everything.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 10:33 PM   #875
Marco St
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you Eureka!

I have no experience with Overclocking.

The SAPPHIRE ATI Radeon HD 7950 Vapor-X Boost 3GB GDDR5, Is it only worthy if i do the OC? Can i have OC running all night? Dangerous?

Last edited by Marco St; 02-22-2013 at 10:36 PM.
Marco St is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.