Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2013, 04:20 AM   #1
SHIROI RAKUEN
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 60
Default New gaming laptop incoming

I will get a gaming laptop in a couple of weeks hopefully & would like to know before that, all the tweaks that I should prob make to it before I play any games. Anything u can think of really would be appreciated. I am still a newbie when it comes to tweaks & important updates.

Btw, the OS will be windows 8, and the GPU will be a radeon 7970M dedicated(discrete), so yeah, pls talk to me about stuff like 1rst boot BIOS, drivers, windows 8 tweaks, general gaming performance tweaks, etc... maybe even some more advanced stuff also... anything u can remember

Thx
SHIROI RAKUEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 09:39 AM   #2
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

If it's not made by a custom company, reinstall the OS as soon as you get it and install latest drivers from manufacturers. Gaming tweaks will depend on games.

Will it have a SSD? You should look into adding one if you don't have one.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 09:47 AM   #3
Sleepingforest
Platinum Member
 
Sleepingforest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,353
Default

Hm... don't get AMD just for Enduro. Nvidia's Optimus drivers are more mature and polished, as well as working better.

The very first thing you should do is disable touchpad edge-based gestures--their annoying and not really very useful. You can type right into the Metro screen to search, much like the old Start button.
Sleepingforest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 11:01 AM   #4
SHIROI RAKUEN
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eureka View Post
If it's not made by a custom company, reinstall the OS as soon as you get it and install latest drivers from manufacturers. Gaming tweaks will depend on games.

Will it have a SSD? You should look into adding one if you don't have one.
It will have SSD.

It will be made by Schenker XMG. Why would I want to reinstall the OS?
SHIROI RAKUEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 11:02 AM   #5
SHIROI RAKUEN
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleepingforest View Post
Hm... don't get AMD just for Enduro.
I'm not getting AMD just for enduro, heck I don't even want enduro with all the problems that it had.

Btw, calling them now to see if like alienware they have the option to disable enduro...
SHIROI RAKUEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 11:52 AM   #6
SHIROI RAKUEN
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 60
Default

Just called them. Bad news... They only have one model that does not support enduro but it's not the one I want. So, now I have the choice between :

alienware without enduro but for 1724 or a Schenker with a 64GB SSD & for 1454 but with enduro enabled :/ Everything else the same...

So... I'm stuck... -_____-
SHIROI RAKUEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 11:57 AM   #7
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHIROI RAKUEN View Post
It will have SSD.

It will be made by Schenker XMG. Why would I want to reinstall the OS?
The OS you get on your laptop is pre-imaged at a certain point, drivers will be old, it'll have their software on it, etc. A clean install with latest drivers is far better, and will only take you about an hour or two on a clean computer.

Also update the motherboard BIOS, generally solves any small problems down the line.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 12:17 PM   #8
SHIROI RAKUEN
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 60
Default

^ So, should I do it if I buy a Schenker?
SHIROI RAKUEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 12:47 PM   #9
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

If they give you a OS DVD, then yes. Personally, I always do a clean install no matter where the computer came from, just because I know exactly what I'm installing.

However, if you decide that the laptop came clean enough, you could just update the drivers and go from there. I'm assuming Schenker is a small business that does custom builds, so they won't stick a lot of junk software, if at all. If I had to choose one computer to not reinstall, it'd be a small company.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 03:31 PM   #10
SHIROI RAKUEN
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHIROI RAKUEN View Post
I will get a gaming laptop in a couple of weeks hopefully & would like to know before that, all the tweaks that I should prob make to it before I play any games. Anything u can think of really would be appreciated. I am still a newbie when it comes to tweaks & important updates.

Btw, the OS will be windows 8, and the GPU will be a radeon 7970M dedicated(discrete), so yeah, pls talk to me about stuff like 1rst boot BIOS, drivers, windows 8 tweaks, general gaming performance tweaks, etc... maybe even some more advanced stuff also... anything u can remember

Thx
Uuuhhhmmm... guys?
SHIROI RAKUEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 12:53 AM   #11
Sleepingforest
Platinum Member
 
Sleepingforest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,353
Default

Yes? I think Eureka answered your questions pretty thoroughly--though you haven't told us why it must be a laptop yet.
Sleepingforest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 05:33 AM   #12
SHIROI RAKUEN
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 60
Default

Eureka just talked about reinstalling the OS. But there are many, many more tweaks than that to max performance on windows 8 & for gaming.

So, pls help, I'm all ears...
SHIROI RAKUEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 06:28 AM   #13
TheStu
Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Posts: 11,168
Default

Well, maybe you should get the laptop first, and then find out if tweaks are necessary?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
The 6770M can play Crysis 2, for suitably small values of play
TheStu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 09:08 PM   #14
Sleepingforest
Platinum Member
 
Sleepingforest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,353
Default

Wait... how can you know that there are more tips? I mean, many of these tips are more about personal and aesthetic tastes than raw performance performance--re-installing the OS is just to get rid of bloatware and background programs that might slow you down.

Security wise, I adivse you leave Windows' warnings up and manually authorize everything that runs on your PC. You also want to create and primarily use a Standard account rather than an Admin account.
Sleepingforest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 04:03 AM   #15
SHIROI RAKUEN
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 60
Default

What about msconfig? Should I mess around with that?
SHIROI RAKUEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 06:23 AM   #16
TheStu
Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Posts: 11,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHIROI RAKUEN View Post
What about msconfig? Should I mess around with that?
Immediately after a clean install? No. In fact, if you have to ask the question, the answer is also no.

It isn't rocket surgery (It's a thing look it up) by any stretch of the imagination, but it does take a modicum of experience and sense to know what is good and what is bad.

Or, simply googling everything in there that doesn't seem right.

But no, don't mess with msconfig.

When was the last time you got a new computer? I ask because a lot of these tweaks are unnecessary anymore, haven't been needed for years and years. Modern hardware is so stupidly fast, especially if you pair it with an SSD, that any tweaks you make will either be a: detrimental or b: make an impact measurable only in microseconds.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
The 6770M can play Crysis 2, for suitably small values of play

Last edited by TheStu; 02-22-2013 at 12:05 PM. Reason: Unclosed Parens
TheStu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 11:49 AM   #17
SHIROI RAKUEN
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 60
Default

^ Thx for the info
SHIROI RAKUEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.