Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2013, 09:52 PM   #1
QueBert
Lifer
 
QueBert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 20,221
Default Sony PS3 3D Display remote question

Googling this it looks like Sony's PS3 Media remote works to turn this display on/off and control the volume. My neighbors son has the display but not the remote. I was going to set up and give them a Harmony 880 I have laying around. But I cannot figure out how to get it set up to control it. I don't have access to a PS3 remote to use the IR learning. And in the Harmony software there doesn't seem to be a profile for this.

Outside of buying the PS3 remote and doing the IR thing is there any way I can get this working? Sony has basically zero info on what works remote wise with this display so I don't even know what else to try.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TridenT View Post
No, no, they exist. I've seen them.

They're not usually like hot-hot, but they're like hit it and quit it able.
QueBert is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 03:01 AM   #2
fralexandr
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,414
Default

Did you get the harmony adapter for PS3?
http://www.logitech.com/en-us/product/5732?crid=1052

directions to pair harmony remote to the adapter
http://logitech-en-amr.custhelp.com/...2,4,5/cl/us,en

logitech uses IR, which the PS3 doesn't, thus the adapter is required to convert IR to bluetooth (The PS3 remote probably uses bluetooth?).

I remember it being pretty simple to setup.

I don't know if you want to spend ~$50 buying one for them though, considering a ps3 remote is usually $25?
http://www.frys.com/product/5941424?source=googleps

Last edited by fralexandr; 02-22-2013 at 03:09 AM.
fralexandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 11:37 AM   #3
QueBert
Lifer
 
QueBert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 20,221
Default

No no, he doesn't have a PS3, I think they have an Xbox (original) hooked to it. The display should be IR. I could just buy the PS3 remote and use the Harmony learning, but I'd never touch the remote again so that's wasted money. I'm thinking there should be a way to do this, but I can't find any info on this display.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TridenT View Post
No, no, they exist. I've seen them.

They're not usually like hot-hot, but they're like hit it and quit it able.
QueBert is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 06:02 PM   #4
fralexandr
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,414
Default

https://support.us.playstation.com/a...-info-and-faqs

you could always buy a cheapy sony tv remote to do the pairing (RM EZ4 should work @ ~$11 new, $6 used).
http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listi...condition=used

Last edited by fralexandr; 02-23-2013 at 06:05 PM.
fralexandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.