Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2013, 02:15 PM   #1
Kharohz
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 70
Default CPU being eaten by video card

Just want to pick your brains, I have been trying to fix an old Dell Dimension XPS.

At first I thought there was some malware or some nasty virus eating up the CPU resources but after a total wipe and reinstall of the OS, I have determined the video card is the issue.

The processor on this thing is a 3.0GHz p4 socket 478 and it is paired with a AMD 2600 Pro AGP(No clue why this video card). Basically it will sit on 60% CPU usage, whether Safemode or otherwise.

Threw in an old PCI Voodoo3 (Yeah woot! Only thing I had on hand to test with, no more AGP cards laying about) and problem went away.

Another oddity is no recent or catalyst driver (That I tried) would install successfully, I had to install some random old driver, which cured my CPU issue finally. But is still afflicted in safemode, not that we need that.

What do you think ultimately is causing the issue?
Kharohz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 06:11 PM   #2
daveybrat
Diamond Member
 
daveybrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 3,430
Default

The reason is that the video card drivers for an older AGP card like yours need special 'Hotfix' drivers.

Catalyst 12.6 is the lastest available and here is the link you need to download them, just pick your appropriate OS:


http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles...AGPHotfix.aspx
__________________
Heatware

Gaming Rig: Intel i5-4690K @ 3.5GHz (CM Hyper 212 EVO)| ASRock Z97 Pro4 | 8GB GSkill Ripjaws 1866 DDR3 | Crucial MX100 256GB SSD | WD 640GB Black | MSI GTX 660 Twin-Frozer III | Asus Xonar DG | Corsair CX750 Watt | Windows 8.1 64-Bit
daveybrat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 12:03 PM   #3
Kharohz
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 70
Default

The AGP Hotfix drivers were used. While the drivers work (Although could only be installed via manual installation), they did not remove the CPU usage issue.
Kharohz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 05:48 PM   #4
Bubbaleone
Golden Member
 
Bubbaleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,649
Default

The linked hotfix drivers refer specifically to the following:
Quote:
"No compatible hardware found" error message appears when using the AMD Catalyst drivers provided on the AMD Graphics Drivers & Software page or "a conflict between Microsoft DirectX® and the AMD Radeon™ HD AGP series graphics cards."
Which, according to your post, is not the problem you're experiencing. I'd suggest installing Sysinternals Process Explorer v15.3 and then observe it while it monitors (in real time) which process is actually causing the spike in CPU usage. This would allow you to see whether there's a DirectX conflict causing the spike, or some other process entirely.

For your consideration; my experience upgrading PCs for clients choosing to use their older AMD/ATI chipset based AGP cards, has been that unless the card was actually manufactured and released by AMD, the AMD drivers are likely to either fail to install, or install with errors. As a recent example; I installed Windows 7 for a client who wanted to use his old Diamond AGP card based on the Radeon 9250 chipset. None of AMD's drivers for the 9250 (let alone Catalyst) would install correctly on that card. After doing some searching; the driver downloaded from Diamond installed and functioned perfectly.
Bubbaleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 02:39 AM   #5
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,235
Default

I have the same card, and have some experience installing it. The hardware in that card, includes HDMI sound output. However, that hardware is not supported by the AGP bridge chip in the card, and for some reason, the sound part of the card defaults to enabled upon power-up, rather than disabled. Therefore, it generates a steady stream of interrupts that bog down the processor. (With the proper drivers installed, it disables the sound output, and thus stops the interrupt stream.)

Mine was the VisionTek card, and it required using the drivers that came on the CD for XP with it. I at one point was able to use the updated drivers off of VisionTek's web site, but at some point, they updated those drivers, and then they simply resulted in a black screen when booting Windows with them (the newest ones) installed.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.