Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Power Supplies

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2013, 09:34 AM   #1
jimbob200521
Diamond Member
 
jimbob200521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,687
Default Looking for some power supply advice, need 600+ watts?

Been having some random computer shut downs when under full load in games which makes gaming a little hard. Seeing as how I've tried all the software solutions I could think of (drivers, windows update, game update, even a fresh install of Windows 7), I'm looking at hardware. My first culprit is my now aging, under powered PSU. The system I'm running is a Core 2 Duo 2.8ghz (want to go Core 2 Quad soon for what that's worth), Radeon 6790, also have a Radeon 4850 for my 3rd and 4th display (had it lying around, cheaper than ordering two active Displayport adapters and no it's not this, had the issue before I installed this card), a 128gb SSD, 5 SATA hard drives (ranging in size from 400gb to 1.5tb), X-FI sound card, and 6gb RAM. All this is running off of an aging 470 watt PC Power & Cooling unit.

I'm trying to keep a budget of about $65, which I know won't get me a top of the line PSU, but also keep me out of the bargin basement units. I've got these two picked so far

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182200

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182278

but am really looking for some input or suggestions as it's been a little too long since I've been as into PC Hardware as I used to be. Any help is appreciated, thanks!!
jimbob200521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:15 AM   #2
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,316
Default

The PC Power and Cooling unit seems to be rated for 26 amps on the 12 volt rail, meaning 312 watts max can be pulled from that. These days, PSUs have more powerful 12 volt rails. Or it could be the capacitors failing since this PCPAC unit might have been made 8 years ago.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...9028&Tpk=cx600

For the CX600, the 12v rail is not quite as beefy as the Rosewills, but it is much cheaper if you get it today. -$12 instant savings and then a $20 rebate to come out to 37.99 if all goes well.
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:18 AM   #3
jimbob200521
Diamond Member
 
jimbob200521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torn Mind View Post
The PC Power and Cooling unit seems to be rated for 26 amps on the 12 volt rail, meaning 312 watts max can be pulled from that. These days, PSUs have more powerful 12 volt rails. Or it could be the capacitors failing since this PCPAC unit might have been made 8 years ago.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...9028&Tpk=cx600

For the CX600, the 12v rail is not quite as beefy as the Rosewills, but it is much cheaper if you get it today. -$12 instant savings and then a $20 rebate to come out to 37.99 if all goes well.
Good eye, I was actually just about to pull the trigger on this basic Antec unit

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...scrollFullInfo

But I like the one you posted better, thanks!
jimbob200521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:32 AM   #4
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,930
Default

What do you use your PC for?

Those Rosewill units have poor warranty. Corsair CX600 ($38 AR AP today!) should be adequate with 552W on a single +12V. Will need to use one 4-pin molex -> 6-pin adapter, I think your GPUs need three in total.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 12:13 PM   #5
jimbob200521
Diamond Member
 
jimbob200521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
What do you use your PC for?

Those Rosewill units have poor warranty. Corsair CX600 ($38 AR AP today!) should be adequate with 552W on a single +12V. Will need to use one 4-pin molex -> 6-pin adapter, I think your GPUs need three in total.
I use it as mostly a do all PC. A little bit of Office 2012 for work, XBMC on the 60" for entertainment before bed, gaming when the g/f is at work, internet browsing though out the day. And no, the 6970 requires 2 connectors, the 4850 does not (I may be quoting the wrong model number for the second video card, but I know it does not require 2 power connectors).
jimbob200521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 03:40 PM   #6
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob200521 View Post
And no, the 6970 requires 2 connectors, the 4850 does not (I may be quoting the wrong model number for the second video card, but I know it does not require 2 power connectors).
That's what I meant. Two connectors for one card, one for the other, total 3. CX600 has two.

However earlier you wrote 6790 which also needs two connectors (based on 6870 PCB).

6970 is quite a different beast as it consumes much more power.. I'd like to have 650w for that kind of setup, tbh
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 04:56 PM   #7
jimbob200521
Diamond Member
 
jimbob200521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
That's what I meant. Two connectors for one card, one for the other, total 3. CX600 has two.

However earlier you wrote 6790 which also needs two connectors (based on 6870 PCB).

6970 is quite a different beast as it consumes much more power.. I'd like to have 650w for that kind of setup, tbh
Looking back, my wording wasn't the best earlier; the second video card does not require any extra power connectors, I only require a total of two PCI-E 6 pin power connectors, both of which are going to go to the 6790.

I ended up looking through a lot of reviews on the CX600 before I made the purchase and wasn't that impressed with what people had to say about it so I ended up ordering the Antec BP550 anyway. It's from a brand I trust, 80 Plus Certified (which I couldn't seem to reliably verify with the Corsair, even on there own site), plenty of connectors for my needs, and just seems to have a reputation of being a simple, solid unit.
jimbob200521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 06:06 PM   #8
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,316
Default

The CX600 is on its third iteration and that one is the one that is 80 Plus Bronze certified. The original one was not 80 Plus Certified at all, but it managed to reach 80% efficency at some loads, according to a review at Hardware Secrets. With Newegg, they always put old PSUs out of stock well before other stores do.

Like with most products, it is an either/or matter most of the time. Either you get a manufacturing dud or you get one that just works. Most likely, the CX600 is bought more often than others due to its lower price and Corsair's brand name, hence more bad apparent bad apples.

All that being said, the BP550 Plus isn't a bad unit at all, though, being manufactured by Delta, and it is modular.
The XFX Core Edition 550w or the Seasonic S12II would have been good choices too, with stonger 12v rails.
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 08:11 PM   #9
TemjinGold
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,433
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob200521 View Post
Looking back, my wording wasn't the best earlier; the second video card does not require any extra power connectors, I only require a total of two PCI-E 6 pin power connectors, both of which are going to go to the 6790.

I ended up looking through a lot of reviews on the CX600 before I made the purchase and wasn't that impressed with what people had to say about it so I ended up ordering the Antec BP550 anyway. It's from a brand I trust, 80 Plus Certified (which I couldn't seem to reliably verify with the Corsair, even on there own site), plenty of connectors for my needs, and just seems to have a reputation of being a simple, solid unit.
Please clarify one thing: Do you have a 6790 or a 6970? They are two VERY different cards with completely different power requirements.
__________________
Antec P182 | Seasonic X-660 | Cyberpower 1000PFCLCD |
Intel i5 2500k @4.2 w/ Corsair H55 | ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z |
16gb G.SKILL DDR3 1600 | ASUS GTX580 |
Sharp AQUOS LC-32LE700UN 32" LED HDTV | 1x 960 gb Crucial M500 |
1x 1TB Samsung F3 | Samsung SATA DVD Burner | Logitech Z-5500
TemjinGold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 09:54 PM   #10
jimbob200521
Diamond Member
 
jimbob200521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TemjinGold View Post
Please clarify one thing: Do you have a 6790 or a 6970? They are two VERY different cards with completely different power requirements.
I have a 6790, this one to be specific:

http://xfxforce.com/en-us/Products/G...n-HD-6790.aspx
jimbob200521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:13 PM   #11
blankslate
Diamond Member
 
blankslate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Never caught dead in the South
Posts: 5,177
Default

You might also want to run your components through a couple of

calculators to make sure you're not buying one that is too weak.

http://images10.newegg.com/BizIntell...alc/index.html

http://www.thermaltake.outervision.com/
__________________
"Using the bible to support your opinion is like using a Krispy Kreme menu to pass a Biology test. " ~ Random Youtube commentor

Dropkick Murphys - Workers Song http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AQfGTDyjVSE
blankslate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 11:01 AM   #12
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob200521 View Post
Looking back, my wording wasn't the best earlier; the second video card does not require any extra power connectors, I only require a total of two PCI-E 6 pin power connectors, both of which are going to go to the 6790.
I'm pretty sure a 4850 requires a power connector. Are you sure it's a 4850? What make/model

Quote:
It's from a brand I trust, 80 Plus Certified (which I couldn't seem to reliably verify with the Corsair, even on there own site)
CX600 is 80+ Bronze certified, so it's more efficient than BP550. And it's less expensive. I think you should've got the Corsair unit instead... :/
__________________
System specs

Last edited by lehtv; 02-19-2013 at 11:03 AM.
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 11:50 AM   #13
jimbob200521
Diamond Member
 
jimbob200521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
I'm pretty sure a 4850 requires a power connector. Are you sure it's a 4850? What make/model

I can't tell you the model off the top of my head but I know for a fact it doesn't require an extra connector for power.

CX600 is 80+ Bronze certified, so it's more efficient than BP550. And it's less expensive. I think you should've got the Corsair unit instead... :/
The biggest thing that swayed me away from it is reading one too many people complaining that its an over rated PSU that let a lot of people down because that line used to be pretty good. Now I guess its mediocre at best.
jimbob200521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 06:13 PM   #14
Rezist
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 620
Default

You should need 3, 6 pic pcie connectors atleast my 4850 required one
__________________
Rig 1 - 3570k @ 4GHz with Hyper 212 Evo - MSi Z77A-G41 - 16gb DDR3 1600
Gigabyte 7950 running a 1GHz - 120gb Samsung 840 - 1TB Seagate
Corsair CX600M - Fractal Design R4
Rig 2 - Athlon II 240 Running @ 3.2 GHz w/stock HSF - Gigabyte 785G-US2H
4 GB DDR2 800 - Powercolor PCS 4850 512MB
500GB Seagate 7200.12 - Corsair 400CX - Antec 300
Rezist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 10:42 AM   #15
jimbob200521
Diamond Member
 
jimbob200521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rezist View Post
You should need 3, 6 pic pcie connectors atleast my 4850 required one
I'll get the model number of the second card tonight but I know for a fact that it does not need a power connector for it, I pulled the card last night to test something and while I didn't think to grab the model number, it didn't have any power leads on it. So, once again for all helping, I only need a total of 2 PCI-E power leads for my main video card, the mystery 2nd card does NOT REQUIRE any power leads.
jimbob200521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.