Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2013, 03:56 PM   #1
Slide83
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Default Discrete Video Card Needed?

I'm building a new PC for web browsing, re-encoding movies for my daughter's ipad, watching movies (1980x1080) & very light gaming.

I've already bought the following:

Processor: I5-3570k
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA z77m-d3h
Ram: 16 GB DDR3 1600
Hard Drive: Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB
Power Supply: Corsair 430W PS
Case: Thermaltake V3
Optical Drive: Lite-On Blu-Ray/DVD

My question is, would there be any benefit to getting a discrete gpu? I'm just concerned with super smooth web scrolling, video streaming and maybe some very light gaming for my daughter. Would the HD 4000 on my processor be all I need?

Thanks!
Slide83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 04:13 PM   #2
OlafSicky
Platinum Member
 
OlafSicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,377
Default

its' all that you need save the money save power.
OlafSicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 04:44 PM   #3
snoylekim
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 103
Default

Yes , you'll be fine with the HD 4000 ..and if daughter gets more into gaming , you can add on a 7770 to support her advance into that .. If the gaming stays very light, more than adequate ..
snoylekim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 05:36 PM   #4
mfenn
Elite Member
Super Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21,178
Default

I'm assuming that "light gaming" means web based games (flash and javascript). In that case, no you don't need a discrete GPU.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 07:20 PM   #5
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
I'm assuming that "light gaming" means web based games (flash and javascript).
Can the OP name the actual games?

Besides gaming (depending on actual games), everything else would be just fine on HD 4000.
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 07:47 PM   #6
Sleepingforest
Platinum Member
 
Sleepingforest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,362
Default

The only thing I can think of is that 16GB if RAM may be a bit much; 8GB is enough for those tasks.
Sleepingforest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 09:26 PM   #7
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina State University
Posts: 13,779
Default

Motherboard probably has more features than what's needed.
B75 based or whatever is cheap.

Doubt you'll over clock, so you can get a 3450.

No need for 16gbs of ram. Downgrade to 8
__________________
Intel i5 4430, MSI B85M-P33, Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x, 6GB ram, Intel 530 128gb SSD, WD 160gb HDD, Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD, Windows 7, NZXT Vulcan, Dell E2414H, ROCCAT Kova+ Max, TG3 BL82
Mid 2014 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4278U 2.6Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 128gb SSD
iPhone 6 16gb CDMA
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 08:57 AM   #8
Insert_Nickname
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snoylekim View Post
Yes , you'll be fine with the HD 4000
The HD2500/3000/4000 also has the added advantage of Quicksync, for video encoding to the Ipad.
Insert_Nickname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 09:11 AM   #9
infoiltrator
Senior Member
 
infoiltrator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 695
Default

You should be fine.
If you like watch for a used video card in marketplace or on sale.
I expect you will eventually need to add an HDD.
Collecting is likely.
__________________
Damn the cost, full build ahead! I wish.
infoiltrator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 09:11 AM   #10
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 26,457
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T_Yamamoto View Post
Doubt you'll over clock, so you can get a 3450.
But the "K" models have the better IGP out of the desktop chips.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 09:17 AM   #11
Insert_Nickname
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
But the "K" models have the better IGP out of the desktop chips.
The alternative is a 3475S, but it only comes in tray and can be difficult to get...
Insert_Nickname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 10:22 AM   #12
Charlie98
Diamond Member
 
Charlie98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 4,101
Default

When I first built my current desktop, I was running the HD3000 IGP on my 2500K and playing Modern Warfare 1 and 2... it did it pretty well if not spectacularly, you should be fine with the HD4000 graphics.

My HTPC is running a G620 with HD1000 graphics, and it streams pretty well (although I expect a visit from the Brown Truck today with a new GPU for it.) At lower resolutions HD1000 would be fine, so the HD4000 is a no-brainer.
__________________
DESK: i5 2500K, ASUS Z68 MIVG-Z, 212+ P/P, M5Pro 256GB, 2TB Seagate, 2x 4GB Samsung RAM, EVGA 760SC ACX, Corsair TX750v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7
HTPC: Pentium G620, Giga B75M-D3H, Agility3 64GB, 2 x 3TB HDD, 2x 2GB Nanya RAM, Diamond HD6450, Corsair CX430v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7, WMC/MB
DESK3: Pentium G3220, Giga H81M-H, 840Pro 256GB, 2x 4GB Team RAM, EVGA 560Ti 448, Corsair CX430M, Fractal Arc Mini, W8.1
Charlie98 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 10:37 AM   #13
Insert_Nickname
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie98 View Post
At lower resolutions HD1000 would be fine, so the HD4000 is a no-brainer.
That's a negative. Even overclocked to 1500MHz with DDR3-1066 7-7-7-20 timings, it completely fails to produce playable frame-rates in any halfway modern game. But its perfectly capable of flashgames.
Insert_Nickname is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.