Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2013, 11:06 AM   #1
Nintendesert
Diamond Member
 
Nintendesert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: LOLorado.
Posts: 7,761
Default SimCity 5 closed beta 2 this weekend!

For anyone that didn't get to play last time here's another chance. It is again 1 hour so that sucks, but it at least lets you play the game and see if you like it. There are preorders out there for $20 off, preorders are bad usually but at least here you get to experience the game and see if it is worth it.
__________________
TFP4Life!
Nintendesert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:10 AM   #2
lozina
Lifer
 
lozina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 11,211
Default

Does it have any additional content over the previous beta?
lozina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:13 AM   #3
imaheadcase
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lozina View Post
Does it have any additional content over the previous beta?
The introduced longer wait times to join.
imaheadcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:16 AM   #4
lozina
Lifer
 
lozina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 11,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imaheadcase View Post
The introduced longer wait times to join.
Awesome.

I like to see more wait times, server downs and network errors when trying to play a single player game
lozina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:24 AM   #5
Nintendesert
Diamond Member
 
Nintendesert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: LOLorado.
Posts: 7,761
Default

Would it be wrong to post the FAQ?



From reading through it it's a stress test for their servers, a lot of bug fixes, tweaks and optimizations based on previous beta feedback. It's only 24 hours this time too!

I'm going to play now and see how it feels compared to the other build.
__________________
TFP4Life!
Nintendesert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:26 AM   #6
KaOTiK
Lifer
 
KaOTiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 10,884
Default

Weird, I can't launch it. Went to update it and it error'd so I uninstalled it to do a reinstall and it wont let me now, booo!
KaOTiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:32 AM   #7
techie81
Senior Member
 
techie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 309
Default

Pre-ordered but no key yet...
techie81 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:35 AM   #8
lozina
Lifer
 
lozina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 11,211
Default

I had no problems launching the game, no wait or anything.

The tutorial is a lot more fleshed out than I remember it.

After lunch will try a 1 hour sandbox game see what is different
lozina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 12:30 PM   #9
lozina
Lifer
 
lozina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 11,211
Default

Oh nice they show the DEPTH of zones now when you are placing them!
lozina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 01:12 PM   #10
dlock13
Platinum Member
 
dlock13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,488
Default

I had a blast playing it.

I need to get more city managing under my belt because as I was playing, I lost..... about 15 houses due to fires thanks to my backed up roadways.

Traffic + fire =

But other than that, I thought it went really smooth.

I had a problem getting in at first, but a quick close and change of the server, and I was in.

Great game. I'll probably be preordering it very, very soon.
__________________
HeatWare
dlock13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 01:17 PM   #11
KentState
Diamond Member
 
KentState's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 5,653
Default

It seems that a lot of people are having problems playing the beta. Hopefully EA gets their stuff together.
__________________
Asus Maximus VI Hero | Intel - 4770k | Crucial Ballistix Sport 32GB RAM | EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC | Samsung 840 EVO 500GB | Plextor M3 256GB | Samsung 840 250GB x4 | XFX 750W | HP ZR2740W | Windowns 8
Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe | Intel - 3770k | G.Skill 32GB RAM | Vortex 3 120GB | VMWare ESXi 5
MSI GT60 | Intel - 4700MQ | 16GB RAM | NVidia 780M | 128GB SSD | Windows 8
KentState is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:03 PM   #12
lozina
Lifer
 
lozina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 11,211
Default

Havent been able to play since earlier today and I've been trying many times.

It just gets stuck on the city loading screen after I hit Play from the game's main menu. It just endlessly cycles through game tips and those little messages like "Reticulating Splines"

No error message or sign of anything gone wrong. Just endless loading screen

Really sucks
lozina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 08:24 PM   #13
pcslookout
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,469
Default

So far really enjoying the game. A lot of fun. Actually making money as a Mayor in this game now! I put all my graphic details on ultra and high with everything. Runs very smooth.
pcslookout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 08:30 PM   #14
lozina
Lifer
 
lozina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 11,211
Default

The loading screen issue has resolved earlier and I got to play a full hour. Reached 35k pop. I dont really notice any difference in this beta except the zone depth, traffic seems to be higher, and the pop needs seems to have increased (because I needed larger capacity on school, hospital, water, sewage, etc... than I last remembered)

I even had to place a second school cause my first one was maxed out.
lozina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 08:33 PM   #15
Plimogz
Senior Member
 
Plimogz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Off Topic
Posts: 601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lozina View Post
Awesome.

I like to see more wait times, server downs and network errors when trying to play a single player game
Ah yes, PC gaming sure has come a long way since the time when I could be amazed by Doom on a friend's computer, grab the shareware floppies, install them at home and be playing it on my PC by dinnertime.
__________________
2500K/P67A-UD5/HCP-850/2xTF3 7950/4x4GB RipjawsX 1600/120GB Vertex3/1TB Caviar Black/3x2TB Caviar Green ...
Plimogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 08:59 PM   #16
pcslookout
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lozina View Post
The loading screen issue has resolved earlier and I got to play a full hour. Reached 35k pop. I dont really notice any difference in this beta except the zone depth, traffic seems to be higher, and the pop needs seems to have increased (because I needed larger capacity on school, hospital, water, sewage, etc... than I last remembered)

I even had to place a second school cause my first one was maxed out.
Nice.

Do you think you can reach higher than 35k population in an hour ?

What settings do you run Simcity 5 at ?

How do you make all your money?

Also do you run it in Cheetah mode to make money faster ?
pcslookout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:33 PM   #17
Skel
Diamond Member
 
Skel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,152
Default

I didn't have any issues getting in. I was a bit frustrated on how little I was actually able to do in it though. Once I hit a plateau there wasn't anything really left to do other than watch it roll and complain how I needed better roads that weren't available.
__________________
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=766

Xbox tag: Skel Re
Skel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:02 AM   #18
linthat22
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 110
Default

Should I wait for this or get CitiesXL?
linthat22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:56 AM   #19
Wyndru
Diamond Member
 
Wyndru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 7,261
Default

Ugh only 1 day, and it's already over. I keep missing these.
Wyndru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:32 PM   #20
paperfist
Diamond Member
 
paperfist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Central New York
Posts: 3,419
Default

So those that played in the beta, are cities now really, really small compared to SC4? I read a comparison last night and it focused on this aspect pretty heavily. It also said that regional cities that you build aren't even connected.
__________________
SimCity servers got you down? Join the White House petition to institute an industry-wide return policy for video games that rely on remote servers and DRM to function properly.

heatWare
paperfist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:56 PM   #21
Kalmah
Diamond Member
 
Kalmah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,591
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by linthat22 View Post
Should I wait for this or get CitiesXL?
CitiesXL is a good game in my opinion, but it's unplayable. Once your city gets to a decent size it lags. It's single-threaded and runs like absolute horseshit. I like the game though.

This is me running with a 3.2ghz core 2 duo. E8400. Maybe a new processor can handle it but it runs like shit for me.
__________________
Jump on my sword now, evil! For I won't be so gentle!
Kalmah is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 02:15 PM   #22
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 7,089
Default

Got the email as we were visiting my parents this weekend. Still ran pretty well on my parent's machine (should have since i built it, lol); Well, once it finally stopped getting stuck on the server (I guess) and actually loaded the game. Ran fine today though. Comparing it to the older versions, I like it so far. It is great being able to zoom in so closely, and how doing things that should work actually do work (always had issue with water and electricity working in 3000.) Having said that, I worry that this game will be too easy to excel in, which could possibly take away from the strategy of it all, but only the full game release will say if that is a valid concern.
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 03:32 PM   #23
Wyndru
Diamond Member
 
Wyndru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 7,261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ketchup79 View Post
Having said that, I worry that this game will be too easy to excel in, which could possibly take away from the strategy of it all, but only the full game release will say if that is a valid concern.
I haven't played the beta yet, but based on what I've read this is a concern that a lot of SC4 fans have. I'm hoping that it's more involved than what people are saying now. The challenge and micromanagement of a large cities is what the SC franchise has been all about (and regions in 4). The lack of this was the main reason that SCS was a failure right out of the gate (although even tilted mill said it really wasn't a true sim city game).

They have a poll going over on simtropolis if people will buy the game, and it's not looking too good (only ~40% of the voters said they have already bought it or will buy it as is). Granted this is a small survey of people, but everyone has the same reasons for not wanting the game...the always online requirement and limited city sizes.

It looks great visually, but I hope they don't let the eye candy overshadow the functionality and depth of the game.

It's too early to make judgements though, so I'll shut up now

Last edited by Wyndru; 02-17-2013 at 03:51 PM.
Wyndru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 04:57 PM   #24
RockinZ28
Golden Member
 
RockinZ28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,487
Default

Got in on the second beta.

Thought it was quite enjoyable. Did not experience any loading/connection issues etc. whatsoever.

Traffic seemed overblown though for sure. City with like 10k people has traffic backed up the ass on many of the streets using the medium density roadway or whatever it was called. Added a bunch of buses and bus stops and didn't seem to alleviate it much.

But yes, city size is very concerning. I didn't play much of SC4, but a good amount of 2 and 3, and in those I don't think I ever spent enough time to fully cover an entire map with buildings.

I'm a pretty slow builder, just like to sit back and manage small areas at a time, watch stuff develop. But in my third play through of the 1 hour beta, I was able to cover ~66% of a map with stuff. Few hours and I'll easily be out of room.

So that's pretty disappointing if it turns out that's the limit. Won't be able to build a monster metropolis with millions of sims.
RockinZ28 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 08:22 PM   #25
power_hour
Senior Member
 
power_hour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: nowhere important
Posts: 789
Default

Do you need to register your Facebook account to play this? Not sure I want my friends and family knowing I stayed up all night playing SimCity ;-)
power_hour is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dr. pizza, pazzaz, pizza, simcity 5

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.