Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2013, 02:09 PM   #1
Muse
Lifer
 
Muse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Under the rainbow over Berkeley
Posts: 13,962
Default WinXP - Cannot create a file association

This is the weirdest. Never had this problem before. I've used the application for years, installed it today in my new WinXP install. This is a utility that came with my Samsung V3 Digimax digicam called Digimax Viewer. The executable is:

<drive>\Program Files\Samsung Digimax Viewer 2.0\STImgBrowser.exe

The program is installed, the installation placed a shortcut on my desktop, it opens from there OK. I want it to be my default program for opening JPG files. I right click a JPG file and go Open With, check the box that says "Always use the selected program to open this kind of file." I navigate to the executable, and go Open, but it doesn't open the executable, doesn't change the file association.

The STImgBrowser.exe application has a companion program which is opened by clicking a button. That program has editing characteristics, e.g. cropping, enhancing brightness/contrast, red eye, etc. That program is available for association, but the viewing program, STImgBrowser.exe is not. I have uninstalled both the programs and reinstalled several times in accordance with the instructions presented by the installation program, including reboots. I don't know what to try next. The workaround is to open the image viewing program and navigate to a file via the File menu, but I'd like to just be able to double click a JPG and have it opened by the program, like it used to do. Please make a suggestion, thank you.
__________________
Quotations on happiness!

Last edited by Muse; 02-16-2013 at 02:13 PM.
Muse is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 02:41 PM   #2
postmortemIA
Diamond Member
 
postmortemIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 6,206
Default

that program must have interface by accepting argument of <name of file>:
executable <name of file>
and that program simply does not.
__________________
i7-3770, Intel DZ77SL-50K, VisionTek HD 7850, Dell 2707WFP, X25-M, X-Fi * PC Gamer Since 1991 *
postmortemIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 08:27 PM   #3
Iron Woode
Lifer
 
Iron Woode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: London, Ontario Canada
Posts: 20,191
Default

did you try using the file association function under Folder Options?

start button -> control panel -> Folder Options -> click File Types tab

try the file associations there.
__________________
My Rigs

When I was four I gave myself a needle and the whole hospital said I got shot when I was 22 and asian. I drove a black honda. - catchphrase

Compare your lives to mine and then kill yourselves
Iron Woode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 08:58 PM   #4
Muse
Lifer
 
Muse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Under the rainbow over Berkeley
Posts: 13,962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Woode View Post
did you try using the file association function under Folder Options?

start button -> control panel -> Folder Options -> click File Types tab

try the file associations there.
Yes, that doesn't work either. Right now the associated file is the sister utility the image editing program and I want to use the image viewing program as the default launching application. No matter how I try I can't change it. I think it may be a fouled up registry setting. The reason I'm thinking this is this:


I'm going to search for the name of the image editing program and see if I can tweak a registry setting. Thing is, an uninstall/reinstall is not fixing the program. I never had this problem before, I've done the installation quite a few times.


If I change the default program to Windows Picture and Fax Viewer, it changes. If I then go to change it to the STIimagebrowser.exe application it changes the default program to the editing program, "Photosuite III Executable". IOW, I point it to one program but it chooses the sister program instead. I have to think it's a registry setting that went bad. It may be because I didn't install initially from the CD but from a copy of the CD I have on a HD. I guess the installation process it was supposed to go through went awry. I'll search the registry for "Photosuite"

__________________
Quotations on happiness!

Last edited by Muse; 02-16-2013 at 09:05 PM.
Muse is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 09:30 PM   #5
Muse
Lifer
 
Muse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Under the rainbow over Berkeley
Posts: 13,962
Default

If I do an Open With and choose the STIimagebrowser.exe application instead of it opening I'm returned to the Open With dialog offering 1/2 dozen programs or Browse. It's bewildering. I saw nothing in the registry when I searched on "Photosuite"... probably over 200 hits, but nothing that seemed out of line.
__________________
Quotations on happiness!
Muse is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 09:31 PM   #6
Muse
Lifer
 
Muse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Under the rainbow over Berkeley
Posts: 13,962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by postmortemIA View Post
that program must have interface by accepting argument of <name of file>:
executable <name of file>
and that program simply does not.
No, it used to be my default JPG launch program. In fact when the install goes correctly it becomes the default program.
__________________
Quotations on happiness!
Muse is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 10:00 PM   #7
Iron Woode
Lifer
 
Iron Woode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: London, Ontario Canada
Posts: 20,191
Default

is another program taking over that file association?

perhaps its a permissions issue?
__________________
My Rigs

When I was four I gave myself a needle and the whole hospital said I got shot when I was 22 and asian. I drove a black honda. - catchphrase

Compare your lives to mine and then kill yourselves
Iron Woode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:28 PM   #8
postmortemIA
Diamond Member
 
postmortemIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 6,206
Default

why not remove file type from folder options, and start over?
__________________
i7-3770, Intel DZ77SL-50K, VisionTek HD 7850, Dell 2707WFP, X25-M, X-Fi * PC Gamer Since 1991 *
postmortemIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 08:59 PM   #9
Muse
Lifer
 
Muse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Under the rainbow over Berkeley
Posts: 13,962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by postmortemIA View Post
why not remove file type from folder options, and start over?
How do you mean? Every file extension is in the folder options. I tried changing it between different applications for .jpg, it works fine except for the one application I want to use.

Can I remove the .jpg extension and then add it back?
__________________
Quotations on happiness!
Muse is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 10:01 PM   #10
postmortemIA
Diamond Member
 
postmortemIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 6,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muse View Post
How do you mean? Every file extension is in the folder options. I tried changing it between different applications for .jpg, it works fine except for the one application I want to use.

Can I remove the .jpg extension and then add it back?
Yes, that is what is "remove" button for.
__________________
i7-3770, Intel DZ77SL-50K, VisionTek HD 7850, Dell 2707WFP, X25-M, X-Fi * PC Gamer Since 1991 *
postmortemIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.