Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Power Supplies

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2013, 05:28 AM   #1
johnnysti08
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 69
Default Please help with my psus

Hey guys my first post here. I am a bit concerned as i am planning to buy a Radeon 7770 and i also have a Phenom II X6 1045T that i plan to overclock to 3.5GHZ. The problem is i want to know if my psu can handle it. Its cheap but i really cant afford to buy a new one atm.

600W
5 V Rail: 18 Amps
+12 V1 Rail: 8 Amps
+12 V2 Rail: 14 Amps
+3.3 V Rail: 15 Amps
-5 V Rail: 0.5 Amps
-12 V Rail: 0.8 Amps
+5 V SB Rail: 2 Amps

Alternately i also have this one

575W
+5V 18 Amps
+12V 14 Amps
+3.3 14 Amps
-12V 0.8 Amps
+5VSB, 2 Amps

Which one could run the 7770? I currently have a XFX 9500gt with has been running on the second PSU for 3 years now with no problems whatsoever.
Thanks

Last edited by johnnysti08; 02-17-2013 at 05:31 AM.
johnnysti08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 06:28 AM   #2
mikeymikec
Diamond Member
 
mikeymikec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 4,014
Default

The top PSU is a joke, I'm not sure I would trust it to run anything. The second PSU doesn't look much good either, maybe an integrated graphics basic system for 2-3 years before it blows, IMO. Having said that, I've seen crap-name PSUs run for a lot longer than expected.

You haven't mentioned brand and model names, which mean a lot when determining the capabilities of a PSU. The general word is along the lines that a decent-name 300W PSU can handle what a crap-name 500W might be able to manage in the short term.

The other problem is that crap-name PSU makers will say "this can do x amps on the +12V rail!" when they actually mean "for 5 seconds before it blows". Decent-name PSU makers mean that it really can handle it properly. Having said that, I've never seen a decent-name PSU mention such low figures for the +12V rails before (the Antec HCG-400 says it can do 30A on the 12V rail).

If a PSU dies, more damage can occur to the rest of the system. It is best to buy something decent to begin with and not run the risk.

I used to trust Corsair until they replaced the trusty VX450W with the CX range, I got burnt badly by the CX v1 type PSUs until I switched to Antec HCG PSUs, which I haven't had any problems with yet.

IMO an indicator to use to begin with are the '80 plus' ratings. PSUs with those ratings are supposed to be tested to deliver certain voltages within certain levels of efficiency. IMO, if they've been designed and tested to a higher standard than non-80-plus PSUs, they'll probably be better. After that, keeping an ear to the ground for who actually designed the PSU (e.g. Corsair employs other companies for the designs), Seasonic has the best reputation as far as I'm aware.

Last edited by mikeymikec; 02-17-2013 at 06:30 AM.
mikeymikec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 06:30 AM   #3
contrvlr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 22
Default

600 watts , rails aren't additive but lets break the rules, 22 amps @ 12v
575 watts , single 14a / 12v rail, really ?

No offence, but I'd toss them both
contrvlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 06:54 AM   #4
johnnysti08
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 69
Default

Oh no! I really cant afford a new one now. Well i currently have the 9500gt which needs 18A i think, (im not really sure), for abt 3.5yrs with not 1 problem with the 575W PSU. Do you guys think its absolutely impossible to run the 7770 and overclock my 1045T on it? My friend who knows a lot says i could run it on the 600W psu

Last edited by johnnysti08; 02-17-2013 at 07:59 AM.
johnnysti08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 06:59 AM   #5
mikeymikec
Diamond Member
 
mikeymikec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 4,014
Default

Do what you want to do, seriously. Also bear in mind that the efficiency/capability of PSUs drop over time, it's the reason why weedy PSUs in a lot of big-name desktop PCs die in 3-5 years.
mikeymikec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:01 AM   #6
johnnysti08
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 69
Default

well ok, but its it ok if you can direct me to the cheapest psu that can handle it thanks?
johnnysti08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:12 AM   #7
mikeymikec
Diamond Member
 
mikeymikec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 4,014
Default

I'll let someone else do that as I tend to over-spec rather than try to cut it fine (ie. I play it safe).

Based on my own guess I would probably go for an Antec HCG-520 because you want to over-clock and have a decent graphics card in there. Stable, fast, cheap, pick any two Possibly a higher HCG model than the 520, considering that the Phenom II X6 isn't known for its economy.

I have a Corsair VX450W in mine, which has a Phenom II X6 and a 5770 graphics card, both running at stock speeds.

Last edited by mikeymikec; 02-17-2013 at 07:17 AM.
mikeymikec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:53 AM   #8
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,028
Default

My Phenom II X6 1045T @ stock, and a GTX460 1GB OC card, reach 370-380W at the wall at load, with an Antec EarthWatts 650W PSU. OC the CPU a bit, and it would likely exceed 400W.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 08:26 AM   #9
johnnysti08
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 69
Default

Ok fine, guys BTW my 1045T is 93w TDP and i think ill go with a 7750 for safety

Last edited by johnnysti08; 02-17-2013 at 08:29 AM.
johnnysti08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 08:44 AM   #10
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,310
Default

Run everything at stock for now. The second PSU is rated for 168 watts on the 12v rail and the first one might be around the same(need to know the combined wattage of both rails on the first one).

If you need a cheap quality one in the future and don't mind rebates, then Corsair CX430 regularly go for around 25 dollars after rebate.
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 08:46 AM   #11
mikeymikec
Diamond Member
 
mikeymikec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 4,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnysti08 View Post
Ok fine, guys BTW my 1045T is 93w TDP and i think ill go with a 7750 for safety
It'll use more power if you overclock it.
mikeymikec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 09:49 AM   #12
johnnysti08
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 69
Default

Ok thx alot guys ill be getting the 7750 as i heard it hardly consumes power
johnnysti08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.