Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2011, 08:54 PM   #1
Resh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 204
Unhappy Help: Need lga775 mobo

My Asus P5Q Deluxe just died -- flaky for two weeks, then bios corruption message, failed automated restore, now won't post.

I don't have the $ or desire for a whole new sytem, so I'm looking for recommendations of motherboards to replace it. The replacement needs to work with an Intel Q9450 Core 2 Quad.

Ideally, I'd be able to use the 8GB (4x2GB) of OCZ2P8004GK (5-4-4 @ 2.1V) that I have, but I'm open to getting DDR3 if that's cheaper/best/easier.

Lastly, the thing needs to be available on the market.

I'm no longer into overclocking, but I do game. I just want stability and solidity. Man, I wish I could have my AOpen AX6BC Pro Gold again.

Thanks for any help you can offer.
__________________
A manager's ability to lead has a strong and direct link to the gullability of his staff.
Resh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 09:33 PM   #2
coolpurplefan
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,163
Default

How long did that board last? Did you do any overclocking with it?
coolpurplefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 09:38 PM   #3
Resh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 204
Default

3 years, 3 months. No o/c, just upped voltage for the RAM.
__________________
A manager's ability to lead has a strong and direct link to the gullability of his staff.
Resh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 10:32 PM   #4
coolpurplefan
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,163
Default

http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?...Language=en-us

Quote:
On a new build you should clear the CMOS after connecting the bare basics that you will need for the OS install. You should disable all overclocking and have only one stick of memory installed during OS install also. For best results you will want to go into BIOS and set your memory sub-timings, voltage, and speed manually to stock manufacturer recommendations.

A dead or weak CMOS battery will cause most boards to seem dead or act as though it has a mind of its' own. You cannot test a battery with a multimeter because even a weak battery will test close to spec voltage, so unless you have a battery tester, replace the battery with a new one to see if anything changes.

There's always a posibility that the PSU is incompatible with the video card or the PSU is failing, so borrow another to test with if at all possible.

If you cant get into BIOS then do some testing:
Connect a speaker (like THIS one for example) to the system panel connector so that you can hear the POST beeps.
Disconnect all hardware except main board power connection and the cpu+HSF.
1.)Disconnect the power cord from the PSU and clear the CMOS leaving the battery out and jumper moved for ten minutes (600 seconds). Now try booting with no memory, but with video card installed--- you should get 'no memory detected' beep code, no beeps at all here means the video card may be faulty
2.) try booting with no video, but with a single stick of memory installed in slot B1 (you can try all slots if no beeps, consult your manual for slot options)---you should get 'no VGA detected' beep code, no beeps at all here means that the memory may be faulty or it may have a conflict with the board---try the other memory sticks now to see if any of them produce beeps
3.) try booting with both the single stick of memory and the video card installed-- you should get a single beep indicating a good POST---if so, go into BIOS and set the memory speed, timings, and voltage manually to manufacturer's specs

If you get no beeps during 2 & 3 then I would suspect the memory. If no beeps at all then try booting the board from a tabletop, lying the board on cardboard to protect it---this will test for shorts to the case---repeat the above scenarios. If no beeps or display at all ever then I suspect hardware compatibility, so verify the installed BIOS will support the cpu. A small list of AMI BIOS beep codes can be found HERE. Some AWARD BIOS post beep codes can be found HERE.

If you feel that the BIOS is corrupt, you can also try THIS. Also try naming the file the same as the ".BIN" or ".ROM" file that is in the root directory of the original Asus cd that came with your board. Don't forget that when using a flash drive for BIOS flashing, it should be formatted as fat32.

You can also try a hard reset. Unplug the PSU from the wall receptacle and remove CMOS battery, then press the power button on the case for 10 seconds. Replace battery and power cord and see if anything has changed.

If you power the board with no cpu installed it will reset the board to original factory defaults. Give this a try also.

If all of this testing has failed and you get no POST beeps during any of this then you should call Asus tech support and suggest an RMA. Flashing with AsusUpdate may not be covered by warranty, see THIS.

The board may not post until you clear CMOS, especially after a new build. Clearing CMOS forces the board to scan for connected hardware and update its stored information.


"CMOS holds details of attached hardware while BIOS stores various settings and values that apply to that hardware as well as motherboard settings. If the hardware has changed for any reason, CMOS details will not match the current setup and the BIOS values will no longer apply and will either fail or become unstable. I'd recommend a CMOS reset when installing or changing any hardware that has a BIOS value which covers just about everything short of inserting a neon light."

Clear CMOS:
1.) immediately following a new build, before power is applied
2.) immediately following any hardware change/upgrade
3.) after flashing BIOS
Maybe you can try that.
coolpurplefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 12:53 PM   #5
Resh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 204
Default

Thanks. Yes, I plan to tear it down and do some of those things this weekend, but I'm not hopeful.
__________________
A manager's ability to lead has a strong and direct link to the gullability of his staff.
Resh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 01:03 PM   #6
Ryland
Platinum Member
 
Ryland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,586
Default

check fsft. There are a bunch up there (including the one I have).
__________________
HeatWare 86-0-0
eBay Rating(350-0-1)
GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, Corsair 650 PSU, Intel 2500K, Corsair DDR3 16GB , Samsung and Seagate SATA drives, OCZ Vertex 3, Gigabyte 660
Ryland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 03:06 PM   #7
abekl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 217
Default

Before I can recommend aq replacement I need to know which cpu you have in the board.
abekl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 03:26 PM   #8
Ryland
Platinum Member
 
Ryland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abekl View Post
Before I can recommend aq replacement I need to know which cpu you have in the board.
From OP: Intel Q9450 Core 2 Quad
__________________
HeatWare 86-0-0
eBay Rating(350-0-1)
GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, Corsair 650 PSU, Intel 2500K, Corsair DDR3 16GB , Samsung and Seagate SATA drives, OCZ Vertex 3, Gigabyte 660
Ryland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 03:30 PM   #9
abekl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryland View Post
From OP: Intel Q9450 Core 2 Quad
Duh. It was right in front of me.

If you still like Asus, the choices are Maximus II Formula and P5Q3

Last edited by abekl; 12-06-2011 at 03:34 PM.
abekl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 04:03 PM   #10
pitz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 392
Default

The resale on those Q9450's is pretty darn good; ever consider unloading it for ~$150, and moving on to a modern i5-2500k?

P5Q motherboards seem to be going on eBay for $100-$150. For a net of around $100, you probably could be into a Z68 motherboard + i5-2500k chip + 8gb DDR3 if you shop around.
pitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 09:59 PM   #11
coolpurplefan
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,163
Default

I don't know if this would work but... http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1421792

some people actually cook their motherboards in an over or use a heat gun. ...cool? :/
coolpurplefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 11:33 PM   #12
darckhart
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 440
Default

i still have an abit ip35 pro and ip35e running oc'ed q6600 and e5200. great LGA775 boards those were.
__________________
1. INTEL i7-920 C0 (200x19 @1.275V), Gigabyte EX58-UD4P, Corsair Ballistix Tactical Low Profile 2x 8GB DDR3-1600 (7-7-7-21-1T @1.35V), Catleap 1440p (120 Hz), Sapphire 290X
heat
ebay
darckhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 08:55 AM   #13
Resh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 204
Default

Pitz: My mind is already going there, so I'm checking out whether I'm better off with Z68 or P67 motherboards.

CoolPurpleFan: That's funny and at this point, why not. I'll see if I can find the time this weekend... the heatpipes are staying on unless they come off easily.
__________________
A manager's ability to lead has a strong and direct link to the gullability of his staff.
Resh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 10:25 AM   #14
Zargon
Lifer
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 11,897
Default

I have a g41 mobo fs, posted in FS thread.
__________________
heatware | steam | ebay
Reaumur(Gamer): Silverstone Raven02, Antec HCG900, Z77 Fata1ity/3770K, 16GB DDR3-1833, 2x7950@1Ghz, 27" IPS
Kelvin(3D-HTPC):Q9550 w/H50, P5G41, 4GB DDR2-1066, 5870 w accellero xtreme
Chill(Server): Thuban x6@3.3 wH50 8gb ddr3 4x1.5tb ESXi
Zargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 02:23 PM   #15
Resh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 204
Default

Just to end this. I ended up finding a P5Q Pro used. It died a few days later and the seller RMA'd it for me. It is now in my HTPC as my old HTPC died.
__________________
A manager's ability to lead has a strong and direct link to the gullability of his staff.
Resh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 04:56 PM   #16
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 6,993
Default

Glad it worked out.
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05.
NAS: Foxconn D-70S-P (Celeron 1037U) / 4GB DDR3 / 4x Toshiba DT01ACA200, 1x DT01ACA300, 1x DT01ABA200, / Fractal Node 804.
dave_the_nerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.