Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2013, 06:30 AM   #1
thebestMAX
Diamond Member
 
thebestMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Too Far South, Florida
Posts: 6,784
Default Simple maybe dumb question

This is really bugging me as I work.

When I move my mouse to the right quickly my screen goes back to my desktop, move the mouse again and my work returns.

This only happens randomly, cant see any pattern to it. How can I disable this "feature" if I can.

Windows 7 BTW

Thanks for any help or ideas.
__________________
I'm Simply thebest
Better than all the rest.
Better than anyone
Anyone you've ever met!
thebestMAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 07:56 AM   #2
TheKub
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,756
Default

Are you talking about peek? If you move your cursor to the lower right corner there is a little box that will show your desktop. If you dislike it you can disable it in taskbar properties.
TheKub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 08:09 AM   #3
thebestMAX
Diamond Member
 
thebestMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Too Far South, Florida
Posts: 6,784
Default

Well, I said it could be a dumb question. Duh to me.

Thanks, that could be it! Never knew about it or noticed it before but when it just happened cursor was on that box.

Ive only been using Win7 for a few weeks, can you tell??

Thanks again.
__________________
I'm Simply thebest
Better than all the rest.
Better than anyone
Anyone you've ever met!
thebestMAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 08:14 AM   #4
scragnoff
Member
 
scragnoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 44
Default

Just right-click on the lower-rightmost corner, uncheck "Peek at Destop" to disable and check to re-enable.
scragnoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 08:18 AM   #5
mikeymikec
Diamond Member
 
mikeymikec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 4,054
Default

That feature freaked my wife out as well
mikeymikec is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 08:36 AM   #6
thebestMAX
Diamond Member
 
thebestMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Too Far South, Florida
Posts: 6,784
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scragnoff View Post
Just right-click on the lower-rightmost corner, uncheck "Peek at Destop" to disable and check to re-enable.
Already done, Thanks!

Quote:
That feature freaked my wife out as well
Aero Peek, where did MS get that from??? Where do they get anything from, I guess.

I found it VERY annoying. Put the mouse to the side to use the keyboard and Poof, gone. Amazing how often the cursor must have wound up in the bottom corner. Maybe I just have a strange desk setup.

Heh, Maybe good if you want to hide something from a passerby but a click works just as well. Funny, Ill probably use it a lot now that I know about it.
__________________
I'm Simply thebest
Better than all the rest.
Better than anyone
Anyone you've ever met!
thebestMAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:47 AM   #7
mikeymikec
Diamond Member
 
mikeymikec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 4,054
Default

I can't say I've had a use for it. Isn't it supposed to be the location for the 'show desktop' feature? Not that I used to use that much either.
mikeymikec is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.