Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2013, 08:18 PM   #1
irse
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 186
Default 3 TB HD problem

I bought a 3 TB HD and installed it into my computer but only can use 1.99 TB and 742 GB is unallocated and I can't get it to do anything. Is it a motherboard problem? Motherboard and processor is in my sig. Thanks
__________________
Corsair 600T
2500K w/ Noctua NH-D14
MSI P67A GD65
16 GB G Skill DDR3 1600
MSI GTX 660
128 GB Crucial C300 + 8 other hard drives
irse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 08:35 PM   #2
spinejam
Diamond Member
 
spinejam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lumberton, NC
Posts: 3,408
Default

Is this a data drive or OS drive?

info: http://en.community.dell.com/techcen...wiki/2838.aspx

Go to Disk Management > select 3TB HD > partition as GPT partition
__________________
Heatware
Asus P67 Sabertooth | 2700k @4.8 Ghz | H80 Cooler |
2x4GB Samsung Green 1600 @2133Mhz | Corsair ForceGT 180GB x2 RAID0 | Seagate 3TB |
Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC (1200c 1600m - Hynix) | Samsung SH-S223Q x2 | CoolerMaster HAF-922 | Antec HCG 900W | Shimian QH270-IPSI 2560x1440 Tempered Glass

Last edited by spinejam; 02-10-2013 at 08:44 PM. Reason: link
spinejam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 08:57 PM   #3
irse
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 186
Default

Data drive
__________________
Corsair 600T
2500K w/ Noctua NH-D14
MSI P67A GD65
16 GB G Skill DDR3 1600
MSI GTX 660
128 GB Crucial C300 + 8 other hard drives
irse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 09:28 PM   #4
irse
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spinejam View Post
Is this a data drive or OS drive?

info: http://en.community.dell.com/techcen...wiki/2838.aspx

Go to Disk Management > select 3TB HD > partition as GPT partition
I can't get that to be one of the options.
__________________
Corsair 600T
2500K w/ Noctua NH-D14
MSI P67A GD65
16 GB G Skill DDR3 1600
MSI GTX 660
128 GB Crucial C300 + 8 other hard drives
irse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:46 AM   #5
Elixer
Diamond Member
 
Elixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,689
Default

Either reformat the HD, or just make multiple partitions.
IMO, multiple partitions is much better on a big drive, so you can back everything up much easier / faster.
__________________
The truth is incontrovertible, malice may attack it, ignorance may deride it, but in the end; there it is.

The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter.
Elixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 03:29 AM   #6
Carson Dyle
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elixer View Post
Either reformat the HD, or just make multiple partitions.
IMO, multiple partitions is much better on a big drive, so you can back everything up much easier / faster.
How is it either faster or easier?
Carson Dyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 06:16 AM   #7
dawp
Diamond Member
 
dawp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: here until I move again
Posts: 6,793
Default

do you have the latest bios? there is one dated 2013-01-09 on their site.

http://us.msi.com/product/mb/P67A-GD...tml#/?div=BIOS

also, you might try updating the drivers for the sata controller

http://us.msi.com/product/mb/P67A-GD...r&os=Win8%2064
__________________
We Have Met The Enemy and He Is Us

ASUS p8z77 v, i7 3770k, crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB, XFX HD7970 Black Edition

Last edited by dawp; 02-11-2013 at 06:18 AM.
dawp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:43 AM   #8
irse
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dawp View Post
do you have the latest bios? there is one dated 2013-01-09 on their site.

http://us.msi.com/product/mb/P67A-GD...tml#/?div=BIOS

also, you might try updating the drivers for the sata controller

http://us.msi.com/product/mb/P67A-GD...r&os=Win8%2064
I've got the latest bios and drivers. In disk management, the unallocated partitions is grayed out and I can't even partition it or reformat it.
__________________
Corsair 600T
2500K w/ Noctua NH-D14
MSI P67A GD65
16 GB G Skill DDR3 1600
MSI GTX 660
128 GB Crucial C300 + 8 other hard drives
irse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:08 AM   #9
Insert_Nickname
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irse View Post
I've got the latest bios and drivers. In disk management, the unallocated partitions is grayed out and I can't even partition it or reformat it.
You need to remove ALL partitions before you can convert it...

Right click on disk -> Convert to GPT-disk
Insert_Nickname is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:28 AM   #10
irse
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insert_Nickname View Post
You need to remove ALL partitions before you can convert it...

Right click on disk -> Convert to GPT-disk
Thanks, I'll try that tonight. Backing up all my videos on the drive.
__________________
Corsair 600T
2500K w/ Noctua NH-D14
MSI P67A GD65
16 GB G Skill DDR3 1600
MSI GTX 660
128 GB Crucial C300 + 8 other hard drives
irse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:49 PM   #11
irse
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 186
Default

Worked just fine. Thanks
__________________
Corsair 600T
2500K w/ Noctua NH-D14
MSI P67A GD65
16 GB G Skill DDR3 1600
MSI GTX 660
128 GB Crucial C300 + 8 other hard drives
irse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 05:32 PM   #12
Elixer
Diamond Member
 
Elixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,689
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carson Dyle View Post
How is it either faster or easier?
If you have multiple partitions, it takes much less time to backup the actively used partition, than it does the whole HD.
ie, game partition, data partition, and apps partition, while you wouldn't really care about the games or apps, since you can install those again without too much trouble, the data partition is where you actively use/store things, so it would take much less time to backup that partition than doing the whole drive.
__________________
The truth is incontrovertible, malice may attack it, ignorance may deride it, but in the end; there it is.

The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter.
Elixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 06:09 PM   #13
Carson Dyle
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elixer View Post
If you have multiple partitions, it takes much less time to backup the actively used partition, than it does the whole HD.
ie, game partition, data partition, and apps partition, while you wouldn't really care about the games or apps, since you can install those again without too much trouble, the data partition is where you actively use/store things, so it would take much less time to backup that partition than doing the whole drive.
I still don't understand. Unless you're talking about using imaging to do backups. If you have 1/4 TB of files to backup, whether they're spread across one or five partitions, it should take about the same time.
Carson Dyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:06 PM   #14
Smoblikat
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,799
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elixer View Post
Either reformat the HD, or just make multiple partitions.
IMO, multiple partitions is much better on a big drive, so you can back everything up much easier / faster.
What makes it faster or easier?
__________________
3770K|ASrock Z77 Extreme11|4x8gb DDR3 1600|4xHD6970|1440P 120hz - Buzzard
X6 1055T|ASUS M4A89GTD-EVO USB3|2x4gb Gskill 1600|HD4870X2 + HD48701gb - Virgo
2xXeon L5639|EVGA SR2|6x8gb DDR3|4x2TB
Smoblikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 12:25 AM   #15
Elixer
Diamond Member
 
Elixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,689
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carson Dyle View Post
I still don't understand. Unless you're talking about using imaging to do backups. If you have 1/4 TB of files to backup, whether they're spread across one or five partitions, it should take about the same time.
Yeah, images, should have clarified.
__________________
The truth is incontrovertible, malice may attack it, ignorance may deride it, but in the end; there it is.

The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter.
Elixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 07:55 AM   #16
ch33zw1z
Lifer
 
ch33zw1z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ten Forward
Posts: 13,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elixer View Post
If you have multiple partitions, it takes much less time to backup the actively used partition, than it does the whole HD.
ie, game partition, data partition, and apps partition, while you wouldn't really care about the games or apps, since you can install those again without too much trouble, the data partition is where you actively use/store things, so it would take much less time to backup that partition than doing the whole drive.
How you organize your drives is up to you, moving x amount of data is still moving x amount of data.

The only drives I have with multiple partitions are my boot drives. My data drives are one big partition. I have 2TB and 1.5TB data drives.
__________________
Heatware

ch33zw1z is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.